We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the most perfect place in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps the most perfect place in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the beautiful drive on the second visit to this perfect place was wonderful
Location amazing , the Amalfi Coast is one of the worlds best
The hotel - where to start
Small where personnel attention is there throughout
Everywhere prestine White
Service incredible
Food perhaps some of the best I've ever had
Take the red bus if you dare to wonderful possitano and ravello
I will return again , infact if I could afford it is move in
Try it you will return I promise

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

My husband and I only stayed 3 days 2 nights at this hotel and it was not enough! This hotel was amazing and truly classic. We stayed in a room facing the beach and garden. Do not expect a fancy hotel - this hotel is set in its ways and it's that way because their ways work. The room had an open bathroom setting with exposed stone - the hotel was built on the side of a cliff - unreal. The hotel provides van service into town. Though the van only runs until about 6 pm. The food at the hotel was great and the service was incredible. The staff was extremely attentive. Loved them. The beach was insane - the lounge chairs were really comfortable and were situated throughout their property to allow their guests who prefer sun (as myself!) to get the maximum amount of sun exposure and those who prefer to be out of the sun's way have a space for them too. Their drinks were great. Yes everything is pricey at this hotel but it is quite the experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Santa Caterina is a truly beautiful hotel. The hotel's gardens and beach club give it a lot of character, and the hotel's staff are friendly and helpful as you would expect from a 5 star. If we had come in the summer, we might have enjoyed the hotel more. However, I would say that we've had more fun elsewhere, mostly due to the fact that the hotel, like the region, has been a tourist trap for years and years. The hotel (and region) is nice, but they do their best to extort every last euro out of you.

The in-room services (breakfast, minibar) were particularly high compared to other 4-5 star hotels we've stayed. It was disappointing because breakfast on our balcony would have been ideal. We don't really have any major complaints - everything was really nice, but we definitely left feeling like we paid a lot for what we got. I'd recommend the hotel if you're staying in the area, but I wouldn't really recommend the area if you catch my drift...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 94 at the Santa Caterina Hotel for our anniversary for four nights and it was simply amazing. Although unassuming from the outside, the staff and facilities are first rate. From the moment we pulled up, to the folks at the front desk and everyone we encountered - it was clear that they were there for one thing only - our happiness.

We were greeted in our room with fresh flowers, local fruit and wine.

The location is breathtaking with a view of Amalfi and well beyond. Our room was perched on a cliff overlooking the water with a private balcony and a private yard, both set out with lounge chairs. We had a separate sitting area, jacuzzi room, bathroom and bedroom. It was both remote yet completely accessible to both the main building and the pool, which, by the way, was also located on a spectacular portion of the property.

The hotel is about three minutes by car to the main area of Amalfi (the hotel runs shuttles) where you can pick up a boat to Positano and/or Capri for an easy day trip or just for lunch.

We were both awed by this property - and we've stayed at plenty of five star locations around the world - but there was something special about the "old world" nature of both the buildings as well as how we were treated by the staff. We're already trying to figure out when we can get back for another visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, splurge and ask for room 94 - it's one of a kind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 nights at Santa Caterina and could not fault a single thing. The setting is beautiful, the grounds are immaculately maintained. Our balcony overlooked the sea with side views to Amalfi harbour and our room was exquisite with fresh flowers and fruit/cakes on arrival. Every member of staff is friendly and attentive, everywhere is spotlessly clean, and the breakfast even included a gluten free selection which was excellent as I'm a Coeliac. On our last night we ate in the Ristorante Mare - and guess what? It was fantastic!! Everything about Hotel Santa Caterina is superb!.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Santa Caterina is a fabulous hotel. It is beautiful on all levels. The setting is gorgeous, the staff is terrific and the food is excellent. Amalfi is a perfect location from which to see the whole coast. We enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I traveled to Amalfi this past summer and the Santa Caterina Hotel was absolutely incredible. The rooms are beautiful and uniquely decorated with beautiful tiled floors. The view from one side of our room was of the sea, and the view from the other window was a hillside of lemon trees. A highlight is the waterfront and pool area - you can tan and hang out at the bar, or jump right into the sea for a swim. All around, the food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and accomodating. The hotel is also very close to Amalfi and shuttles run between the town and the hotel frequently. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.