We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Caterina is waiting for me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Santa Caterina is waiting for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I heard of this hotel and called to book a room. From the get go Valeria assisted us with our reservation.
The pool area on the sea is beautiful with amazing views of the town of Amalfi.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff is amazing. The waiters, the pool attendants and Consierge staff are amazing.
The beautiful buffet breakfast overlooking the sea is a great start to every day.
Dinner to Bruno's piano playing is delight.
If you go there say hi to Gerrano at the front desk for us.
Alwarz

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    65
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
441
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

"Promise me we will come back" those were the words my wife said to me the morning we were backing up to leave this amazing hotel. We stayed for three nights and brought our teenage sons along to experience the Amalfi coast. Everyone fell in love with this hotel -- the staff, the service, the property but really it is the essence of the place that makes it so special -- everything comes together wonderfully.

The views are amazing, the water and swimming deck is magical....drinks on your patio or in the lobby are romantic and lovely. It is clean and modern with a wonderful old world charm. Constantly in the top places to stay in Italy, I get it, it really is that special.

I would recommend this over any hotel I have ever stayed at. We already are making plans to go back next year.

Room Tip: The sea side rooms offer spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very nice, clean and polite staff with amazing buffet breakfast! The hotel is located in a gorgeous part of the Amalfian Coast, with the best views of the water and very near the city centre of Amalfi, without being in the middle of the noisy old city centre.

Room Tip: if you can afford sea views, its great. We had partial sea views and part street and it was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We celebrated my 25th birthday on the Amalfi coast and I chose this hotel and it was the most memorable holiday so far. The hotel is superb set in the cliff with gardens,a private pool club, 2 restaurants and the staff were a delight.
For the 1st night we got the honeymoon suite that is outside the main building on it own. Is a chalet on 2 levels wit a private pool/jacuzzi, a balcony and a terrace where we had brunch. The aces is by elevator and then the stairs take you to a delightful lemon tree garden so it's very private. It is pricey but well worth it we were disappointed we only booked for 1 night.

The rest of the holiday we stayed in a deluxe room also outside the main building with a nice terrace and view.

It's very close to the city centre you can walk, have a short cab ride or wait for the hotel shuttle that operates every hour or so.

The concierge will always try and help they organised our trips to Pompei, Salerno by car with a private chauffeur and our day trip to Capri with a nice yacht.

Food there is delicious we ate in the hotel most of the time that week. Fish and seafood always fresh, the mozzarella is made locally, and they grown their on vegetables!!!

Overall it was fantastic I definitely recommend it I would go back anytime.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel and pricey. You are paying for the service and the beautiful location. The concierge takes care of all your needs and knows everyone in town, the house keeping employees were kind as were the doormen. The poolside lounge area next to the Mediterranean was beautiful. They have a small fitness center which was never crowded. The lobby sitting areas are breezy and quaint. The only thing I didn't really like were the beds but I found ALL the beds in Italy to be much harder than what we are used to in the US. Also the pillows are very soft. You will need several if your a side sleeper! Posting some lovely photos as well.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel Sante Caterina is one of the best hotels in which I have had the pleasure to stay. The service is unparalleled. Everything, form the views, the rooms, the linens, and the service are 5 star. The hotel is situated upon a large property that runs along the cliffs of the coast. I felt as if I was in a beautiful Italian villa with gardens and walkways bursting with blooming flowers and fragrant lemon trees. All of the linens in the rooms are pressed, even the hand towels in the beautifully tiled bathrooms. The only thing that might present a problem would be if a visitor was handicapped or wheelchair bound. There are many steps to navigate from one level to another. But, this presented no problem for us. I would go there again and again. It would be a great base to explore the entire Amalfi coast. Or, just stay and relax at their beautiful pool and swim on the ocean.

Room Tip: Just make sure that your room has a view. It appears that all of the rooms do have a balcony that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right from the word go the quality of this hotel was evident. Mateo at reception was professional, showed us around and recommended great restaurants in town. The room offered fantastic views and we immediately relaxed on the verandah. The frequent (free) shuttle to and from town is very convenient. Staff remembered our names and really made every effort to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is a sprawling property. We stayed in room 77, well away from reception and enjoyed great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 41 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.