We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very nice, clean and polite staff with amazing buffet breakfast! The hotel is located in a gorgeous part of the Amalfian Coast, with the best views of the water and very near the city centre of Amalfi, without being in the middle of the noisy old city centre.

Room Tip: if you can afford sea views, its great. We had partial sea views and part street and it was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    62
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
75
393
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We celebrated my 25th birthday on the Amalfi coast and I chose this hotel and it was the most memorable holiday so far. The hotel is superb set in the cliff with gardens,a private pool club, 2 restaurants and the staff were a delight.
For the 1st night we got the honeymoon suite that is outside the main building on it own. Is a chalet on 2 levels wit a private pool/jacuzzi, a balcony and a terrace where we had brunch. The aces is by elevator and then the stairs take you to a delightful lemon tree garden so it's very private. It is pricey but well worth it we were disappointed we only booked for 1 night.

The rest of the holiday we stayed in a deluxe room also outside the main building with a nice terrace and view.

It's very close to the city centre you can walk, have a short cab ride or wait for the hotel shuttle that operates every hour or so.

The concierge will always try and help they organised our trips to Pompei, Salerno by car with a private chauffeur and our day trip to Capri with a nice yacht.

Food there is delicious we ate in the hotel most of the time that week. Fish and seafood always fresh, the mozzarella is made locally, and they grown their on vegetables!!!

Overall it was fantastic I definitely recommend it I would go back anytime.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel and pricey. You are paying for the service and the beautiful location. The concierge takes care of all your needs and knows everyone in town, the house keeping employees were kind as were the doormen. The poolside lounge area next to the Mediterranean was beautiful. They have a small fitness center which was never crowded. The lobby sitting areas are breezy and quaint. The only thing I didn't really like were the beds but I found ALL the beds in Italy to be much harder than what we are used to in the US. Also the pillows are very soft. You will need several if your a side sleeper! Posting some lovely photos as well.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel Sante Caterina is one of the best hotels in which I have had the pleasure to stay. The service is unparalleled. Everything, form the views, the rooms, the linens, and the service are 5 star. The hotel is situated upon a large property that runs along the cliffs of the coast. I felt as if I was in a beautiful Italian villa with gardens and walkways bursting with blooming flowers and fragrant lemon trees. All of the linens in the rooms are pressed, even the hand towels in the beautifully tiled bathrooms. The only thing that might present a problem would be if a visitor was handicapped or wheelchair bound. There are many steps to navigate from one level to another. But, this presented no problem for us. I would go there again and again. It would be a great base to explore the entire Amalfi coast. Or, just stay and relax at their beautiful pool and swim on the ocean.

Room Tip: Just make sure that your room has a view. It appears that all of the rooms do have a balcony that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right from the word go the quality of this hotel was evident. Mateo at reception was professional, showed us around and recommended great restaurants in town. The room offered fantastic views and we immediately relaxed on the verandah. The frequent (free) shuttle to and from town is very convenient. Staff remembered our names and really made every effort to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is a sprawling property. We stayed in room 77, well away from reception and enjoyed great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After a two week tour through Italy, Santa Caterina was a happy ending to our honeymoon. The service was amazing, and the gardens with bourganvilla and lemon groves were spectacular. The breakfast was unforgettable and the seafood was the finest I have ever had. Our room had a huge balcony that overlooked the town of Amalfi as well as the Mediterrenean - truly breathtaking. To get to the pool, you take a glass elevator down about 10 floors - and from the pool area you can jump directly into the sea, a rare find on the coast. We became friends with other hotel guests and chipped in to rent a boat to Capri and Positano for the day- A MUST! The concierge also organized a dinner for us at a local restaurant, Al Pesce D'Oro where our humorous waiter came to pick us up at the hotel. The experience was very fun, and the food was delicious at a great value. We also had a nice dinner with great views at Eolo, but the food at the hotel was definitely the best. At the hotel you can also expect a celebrity sighting - anyone from Hilary Clinton to Brangelina, as many seem to head here instead of the more touristy areas like Positano and Capri. The town of Amalfi was meh, but it didn't matter. I could have stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the SCH for 6 nights in late june. Upon arrival we were treated like family. The staff couldn't be more welcoming and accommodating. Our room had two terraces, lovely bathroom with two sinks, and beautiful linens. The breakfast had everything one could ask for, but the terrace setting really makes any meal especially lovely. Dinners were equally special. If the menu didn't offer what I was in the mood for, the head waiter immediately suggested something else. All the food is really quite good, though pricey. There'e much to see and do in Amalfi, but try to get to the pool for an afternoon. There's nothing quite like!
In all, I highly recommend the SCH. It's really one of the loveliest hotels we've been to in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.