We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Beauty, Defined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Timeless Beauty, Defined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel for a few nights last May. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and perfectly situated on the rocky Amalfi Coast. The pool was nicely situated right on the ocean. I enjoyed being able to hop in the ocean for a swim whenever I wanted.

Restaurant Santa Caterina was exquisite. The food was first class and the wine list was one of the best I've ever seen. The service was, without a doubt, the finest we experienced in Italy.

We didn't spring for one of the upgraded rooms. I would say that the normal rooms are fairly small for the price, but given the beauty of the grounds and the view from the balcony, we hardly noticed.

It felt, to me, the perfect location for a honeymoon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    57
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
357
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent hotel in all aspects. Staff are outstanding. Location is stunning. Food is excellent. Staff went out of their way to really help make the trip enjoyable. We stayed in mid-March, so slightly out of season for many local hotels and restaurants, but the big plus was the ability to get around on the narrow roads. Will definitely be heading back

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been traveling to Amalfi for five years during Ferragosto (during one of Italy's biggest holidays where there are always fireworks at night that could be seen from the hotel's bar) (also the hotel staff make the day/night festive by having a special dinner and singer every year) and will go back this year again. Every time my family and I visit we always stay in Hotel Santa Caterina! The views, staff, accommodations, are of the highest qualities one can ever imagine. The views from every angle is breath taking, and one can make a hallmark card out of each view. The staff is SUPER friendly, knowledgeable in every question asked, they will go beyond their way to accommodate one's requests, and super fun/sweet to talk to. The accommodations that are provided by the hotel is wonderful too, the rooms are super clean (washed and scrubbed every day), anything one needs as if they are home can be found in the hotel (an actual hair dryer & real wooden hangers). Th funniest part of the hotel that it has the best wi-fi I've seen around all of Europe. This year I'll be coming back for the 6th consecutive year and will definitely stay in Santa Caterina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed four or five days at Santa Caterina, just before Easter week and the start of the main season in the area.

The hotel is spotless and clearly very well managed. What I particularly enjoyed was the lack of pretension and the way that the owners have empowered the staff to take the initiative on behalf of guests.

I thought that the staff were genuinely nice people, who worked hard to help guests enjoy one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

By our standards, the hotel is relatively expensive, but it was well worth saving for, especially as hotel prices in the area are high anyway. Standards at this hotel are very high indeed and we left keen to return one day.

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford to stay here, then please do, Santa Caterina is a credit to Italian hospitality.

Just a few random points:

Amalfi is a good touring base. We travelled from Rome to Salerno by train (2 hours on the Freschia Rosso express) then a 35 minute boat ride from Salerno to Amalfi. Services are frequent and reliable.

The only criticism of the room was that there really should be a smaller / less bright bedside light for reading without disturbing your partner.

Don't feel that you have to order the more 'fine dining' items on the menu. I had a lasagne, which may not seem like a luxury dish... but it is the way they do it at Santa C. A revelation!

It's perfectly possible to walk up from Amalfi, if you're reasonably fit.

It was also feasible to get to Pompeii via pubic transport. Bus to Sorrento and rail to Pompeii Scavi - or you can add in Herculaneum and Vesuvius for a very long but worthwhile day. We ended the day at Pompeii and it was largely deserted by 6 - 7pm. Unless the weather is perfect, Vesuvius is not wildly exciting and is perhaps best missed out in favour of more time at Pompeii.

Nearby Ravello has charm and there is a marked trail from Ravello to Amalfi via Pontone, lots of steps on a one hour walk through lemon groves and terraced gardens. Keep an eye on the festivals and events in Ravello as they have a good range.

The Amalfi lemons are huge, fragrant and unwaxed. You can carry a few home (there's a box of lemons in reception) and ours survived the journey to the UK nicely.

Room Tip: I would say a sea view is essential at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Santa Caterina

Hotel Santa Caterina is a beautiful hotel with stunning view of the water and mountains. The hotel is immaculate. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. I loved to sit in the bar area and large lobby area that had comfortable sitting areas. The beach club has magnificent views of the mountains and water and a heated pool. My wife had a massage in the spa and loved it. Breakfast and dinner in the main dining room was delicious and the service was very good.

We loved the serene and peaceful feeling of this hotel. It was a welcome change from the busy feeling of Sorrento. The hotel is a 1 km walk or 5 minute hotel shuttle ride to the town of Amalfi, which is quaint and filled with good shops and restaurants.

Our Superior room had a balcony overlooking the water - which we loved. It was immaculately clean and comfortable.

Overall I highly recommend a 1 or 2 nite stay in Amalfi and in Santa Caterina.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Every detail in this hotel is so unique, made with love and artistic flair.
The staff is very warm and always there for you, genuinely wanting to help.
It is indeed the best hotel on the planet, everything is so magical in there. Your room is checked twice during the day and they bring chocolates as a good night.
At the swimming area, they would give you towels, refreshing water with lemon, and the water in the swimming pool is sea water with chlorine (it wasn't allowed to swim in the sea at the time we stayed there, so a swimming pool was a nice alternative).
The view in the gym is so breathtaking.
If you plan to go to Amalfi, this is definitely the best choice ever.
Or if you just plan to go somewhere awesome, this is it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room number 22. Awesome sea view and enormous balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is what movies are made of. Our room was incredible and we had to walk through arbors filled with lemons so big that you could pick them along the way. Amenities were the best in the world. The views of the Mediterranean Sea were breathtaking. This hotel is like living in a dream that you never want to wake up from. Amazing and NOT TO BE MISSED.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.