We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved the staff, the view and the feel of the hotel (although the buffet breakfast was pretty bad - watery eggs, etc). If it weren't for all of that, we would have given a Poor rating to the hotel, because it was so noisy. The maids yell at each other in the hallways and while cleaning the rooms early in the morning, the rooms have tile floors and chairs with no sound protection on their legs, the room doors have no sound protection on them and therefore are loudly slamming constantly, workers outside make a racket early in the morning, etc., etc. Noise alone, from chairs sliding around in occupied rooms above us, cut our sleep time in half and ruined our stay. And we talked with 4 other couples who experienced the same sleepless nights. Management could do so much to fix this. Forget having a peaceful, quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    64
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
82
416
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After the beautiful drive up the mountains arrived to the hotel we were greeted by a friendly face who took our luggage and let us to the front desk. Everyone was friendly they let us to our room got our bags situated for us showed us how to work the whirlpool explained the complementary breakfast and how to work the TV along with the beautiful view of the ocean. We made dinner reservations here and before then we strolled down the beautiful stone path that was lit up by little lanterns and pieces of wood that were carved into the mountain. When we came back we entered the dining room which was filled with candlelight and beautiful flowers. We ate one of the best meals we have had in Italy do not even think about the price it is totally worth every cent. Even at a high and restaurant such as this the waitstaff was fun loving kind and personable. When we arrived back in our room they had set up little mats at our bedside along with slippers a little water and cups by her nightstand. We use the Jacuzzi and got into a robe and slippers while overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The room was beautifully decorated with old vintage furniture interesting books a beautiful bar and wonderful floor tiles. Even the amenities were amazing anything you want here they will give it to you, there's a spa a pool is very helpful concierge and a bar. We slept with the door open so that we could see the moon rippling along the ocean I cannot tell you how much this meant. We have been in Italy for two weeks and this by far has been one of the best stays and locations for a little rustic getaway ever. I highly recommend this hotel it has been one of the best experiences and definitely once-in-a-lifetime.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was the best hotel ever. great service and food. the views to die for. Best breakfast buffet on the planet. cant wait to go back...............................................................................

Room Tip: facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

After arriving a day too early for our reservation at another Amalfi hotel, we were happy to find a room at the Santa Caterina for the night. The first day's experience so was wonderful that we did not bother to return to our original hotel and stayed the entire time at the Santa Caterina. The people, the food, the room, the view-all amazing. Without being snobby, we have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the finest hotels in the US and beyond, they were all wonderful but did not have the "feel" of the Santa Caterina. It is more than a luxury hotel, it was almost a home. This is because they thought of everything before we did and the staff made us feel so welcome. Expensive but it is only money and can never match up to the experience.

Room Tip: They have a room off the beaten path, all alone at the end of a walkway. No other room around. No on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had the most amazing week long honeymoon stay here in March 2013 and it will be a long time before we will forget the hotel, the place, the people and not to mention the food! You genuinely feel like a Hollywood superstar!

If only we could afford to come every year!

Stayed in the Chalet Giulietta & Romeo honeymoon suite which is worth every penny for the sun rise into the bedroom and the views of Amalfi town.

Wish we were there now!!!

Room Tip: Chalet Giulietta & Romeo is possibly one of the most amazing rooms you can rent in Italy! It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon in October 2013 and we only wish we could afford to go back every year! The hotel is beautiful. Classically decorated and immaculately clean, it has the best position at the top of Amalfi, overlooking the sea. It is a short walk to the town (it took us five-ten minutes to walk to town whilst fresh during the day, and about fifteen-twenty minutes walking back up the hill at a leisurely stagger later on in the evening!! It made us feel better about our over-indulgences of food, wine and ice cream during our stay!).

The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful, they even carry your plate back from the breakfast buffet for you! Our room was beautiful. We paid extra to upgrade to a superior room with a small balcony over looking the gardens and the sea. We were greeted with a platter of fruit and cakes, and only disappointed that they cleared away our welcome letter typed on the famous Amalfi paper, as we wanted to keep this as a momentum, but the cleaning staff were very efficient!

Our bathroom was huge, with double sinks and a large jacuzzi bath, we spent an afternoon in there with a bottle of prosecco - decadence!!! I cannot praise the housekeeping staff enough. Even on the days we spent a bit more time in our room relaxing/enjoying the balcony etc, they called to arrange a time to clean the room, when other places would just have left it. They turn down the room most evenings, placing chocolates on the pillow and replenishing the bottled water - although I wouldn't expect anything less in a five star hotel it was still noted and appreciated.

Breakfast was delicious and a great selection of breads, meats, cheese, vegetables, eggs (they have an egg chef! We still regret not ordering an omelette!), pastries. We only wish we had known we could have prosecco with breakfast - we were on our honeymoon after all!

The pool area is lovely and peaceful, and you can opt to swim in the sea or in the lovely sea-water pool. We didn't eat in the café but it did look good.

We ate in the restaurant one night. The position is faultless, and with views from the restaurant terrace overlooking the sea and Amalfi it is so romantic. The menus given to ladies have no prices on - very old fashioned, I liked this touch! It wasn't the best meal we had in Amalfi - that honour has to go to Eolo - but still fine dining.

We had a drink (or two!) in the bar most nights and loved the live music provided by the pianist. The olives we had are the best olives I've ever eaten.

Prices for dinner and drinks are high, and our tab at the end of the week was enormous, especially on top of the bill we'd already paid for B&B, but you get what you pay for, and what we got was an unforgettable week in stunning Amalfi in one of the best hotels we've ever visited and a once-in-a-lifetime honeymoon experience. If we won the lottery we'd be back in a flash!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A wonderful hotel. We spent 16 nights here and would wholeheartedly recommend this beautiful place to anyone looking for a little luxury. Right on the west coast and built into the hills with the most amazing views across the Mediterranean, this hotel has an exclusive feel especially down by the private pool overlooking the sea. The staff here treat you like royalty and the only thing better than the service is the food. It is well worth the money. Please go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth checking the size of your terrace - some are much bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.