We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I visited the Amalfi Coast while touring Italy on our honeymoon in June 2013. Santa Caterina is absolutely breathtaking The views, the service and meals are a treat you will always remember. I felt like a princess. They cater to your every need as soon as you walk in.
If you ever have a opportunity to stay there, you will not be disappointed,

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in May 2013 at the Santa Caterina in one of their finest rooms. It was the nicest experience in travel that t I have ever had. My husband and I and family have travelled extensively to every continent - backpacking (when I was young) and high end (when I could afford!).

The Santa Caterina delivered at the beginning when the we arrived and the bellman greeted with me a kiss on hand - thought I was at heaven's gate! It was perfect the entire week- amazing views, perhaps most breathtaking ever, kindly, caring service, fabulous dining, piano bar where you can make great friends without speaking each language, and romance for days!! It is THE BEST and I hope to return there sooner than later. The town of Amalfi is wonderful as is Ravello and Capri- it was a surprising and wonderful experience! We will be back to the Amalfi coast and to the incredibly precious Santa Caterina.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Santa Caterina in May, 2013. We got a spectacular room with a ocean view. We had a great time. The staff is great and extremely pleasant. The breakfast is superb. The facilities are very good. Our room had a bathtub with a great view. Also, the prices are better than in Ravello and other cities in Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed one week and loved it. This is the only hotel with sea access and a swim in the Med is a must!
The rooms were elegantly decorated. Enjoyed both the superior room and also the junior suite. I would recommend the superipor room unless you need lots of space. The views are amazing and the balconies let you enjoy them fully. Sunrise in the morning and the moon glow at night are really spectacular.
The service is first class and the food for breakfast, lunch and dinner is truly outstanding.
The location is perfect. Its a short 10 min stroll into Amalfi which has buses and ferries available to let you explore the Amalfi Coast. I would highly recommend a visit to Ravello for lunch at one of the villas, and doing the 'walk of the gods' from Agerola to Positano (budget on 4 hrs) which has breathtaking views and taking the ferry back to Amalfi after a delicious lunch at Chez Black.
We would come back in a heartbeat and, even though its not cheap, would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are excellent and have large balconies especially directly above the restaurant. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel . The breakfast was included and it was great. The staff was amazing and was more than willing to help us with recommendations for restaurants and sight seeing.

The location of the hotel is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The trip from the room to the pool is one to stop for. The delta must be 10 stories and it only gets better when you get to the bottom and sit by the pool and the Mediterranean. Bar at the bottom with a wonderful salt water pool are worth the climb or the elevator ride. Rooms are just about as nice as any I've stayed in all of Italy. Service from the wait staff is impeccable. Please don't tell anyone that the waiter let me open my own bottle of wine in the lobby - ops, I might have let the cat out of the bottle just now but they even brought us a few wine glasses and I know they were supposed to.

Thanks for that wonderful gesture!!

The breakfast might also be the best I've had in all the stays with great made to order eggs and a fantastic assortment of other delicious food. The location of the restaurant provides the best views.

The walk to town is about 6 minutes. I wrote 10 in another review and was corrected so I'm trying to give the most accurate description of the proximity to Amalfi. Can always get a shuttle but it is certainly not required.

Fabulous stay and a place i would love to return. I really liked the proximity to the other towns on the Amalfi coast. It seemed 20 minutes in either direction brought you to Revello or Positano but it might actually be slightly longer with traffic. If you stay and enjoy a hike, the path to the next city through Amalfi is fabulous and we marched to the top of the hill to the east and saw the cemetery on top then walked more east for a spectacular view of the next city on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked the hotel as a surprise break for my birthday, we travelled on the day of my birthday which made it even more special.
The views as we arrived in Amalfi were stunning and improved as we approached the hotel which is located on the headland overlooking Amalfi.
Our room was stunning with a large walk out terrace with fantastic views of the mediterranean and Amalfi. The hotel staff have a great balance of professionalism, efficiency and familiarity using your name wherever possible etc.
Access to the sea is via 2 lifts, at the bottom you walk out through the rock where you can find the pool and sea.
The use of candles and flowers in the hotel add to the romantic charm especially sitting on the terrace drinking a prosecco or Bellini looking down at the twinkling lights of Amalfi.
The shuttle service into Amalfi is prompt and the timings worked for us, beware of going late morning onwards as cruise ship passengers and excursions start to arrive and as Amalfi is small it is overwhelming. Best to go earli in day and take shuttle back or walk back. We visited the cathedral which you can pay to look around while services not taking place.
I would highly recommend the hotel especially for a romantic classy break, we will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.