We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Drop of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The trip from the room to the pool is one to stop for. The delta must be 10 stories and it only gets better when you get to the bottom and sit by the pool and the Mediterranean. Bar at the bottom with a wonderful salt water pool are worth the climb or the elevator ride. Rooms are just about as nice as any I've stayed in all of Italy. Service from the wait staff is impeccable. Please don't tell anyone that the waiter let me open my own bottle of wine in the lobby - ops, I might have let the cat out of the bottle just now but they even brought us a few wine glasses and I know they were supposed to.

Thanks for that wonderful gesture!!

The breakfast might also be the best I've had in all the stays with great made to order eggs and a fantastic assortment of other delicious food. The location of the restaurant provides the best views.

The walk to town is about 6 minutes. I wrote 10 in another review and was corrected so I'm trying to give the most accurate description of the proximity to Amalfi. Can always get a shuttle but it is certainly not required.

Fabulous stay and a place i would love to return. I really liked the proximity to the other towns on the Amalfi coast. It seemed 20 minutes in either direction brought you to Revello or Positano but it might actually be slightly longer with traffic. If you stay and enjoy a hike, the path to the next city through Amalfi is fabulous and we marched to the top of the hill to the east and saw the cemetery on top then walked more east for a spectacular view of the next city on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    56
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
356
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked the hotel as a surprise break for my birthday, we travelled on the day of my birthday which made it even more special.
The views as we arrived in Amalfi were stunning and improved as we approached the hotel which is located on the headland overlooking Amalfi.
Our room was stunning with a large walk out terrace with fantastic views of the mediterranean and Amalfi. The hotel staff have a great balance of professionalism, efficiency and familiarity using your name wherever possible etc.
Access to the sea is via 2 lifts, at the bottom you walk out through the rock where you can find the pool and sea.
The use of candles and flowers in the hotel add to the romantic charm especially sitting on the terrace drinking a prosecco or Bellini looking down at the twinkling lights of Amalfi.
The shuttle service into Amalfi is prompt and the timings worked for us, beware of going late morning onwards as cruise ship passengers and excursions start to arrive and as Amalfi is small it is overwhelming. Best to go earli in day and take shuttle back or walk back. We visited the cathedral which you can pay to look around while services not taking place.
I would highly recommend the hotel especially for a romantic classy break, we will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is in our opinion the prime hotel in this area. The Santa Caterina is built on the cliffs on the Amalfi Coast. it was an ancient sea trading city that was wiped out by a Tsunami and the black Plague. Today it is a quaint town with good restaurants and shopping and a nice ocean to see all of the boats and ships you wish you could have. the hotel Santa Caterina is also a fine hotel. The staff is geared to satisfy your needs, wants, and desires. the food is terrific along with the unique rooms. our room was a little bit of a walk along the side of the cliffs. Great views from the room. The room was very comfortable and clean. the location is within walking distance of Amalfi town center. The hotel has a shuttle to take you to town, if you have a hard time walking or are just too tired to walk. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the quietness and beauty of the area.

Room Tip: There no bad rooms. I think most of the rooms have a sea view. The swimming pool is on the ocean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked into Santa Catarina during three weeks in Italy. This was one of our favorites. Everyone in the hotel had the ability to make us feel they were pleased we were there. The room was lovely with a beautiful view over the water. The dining was excellent with a pianist playing during dinner. The bar and lobby were candle lit at night which was just beautiful. We would definitely go back given the opportunity

Room Tip: Spend the money for sea view. It is absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I don't even know where to start with explaining how wonderful our stay at Hotel Santa Caterina was. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated like royalty. Beautiful hotel all the way around. We stayed in a room with a private balcony with spectacular views of the Mediterranean and the town of Amalfi. The food at the restaurant was phenomenal. The complimentary breakfast was probably the best we've ever had at a hotel. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up train travel, tours, shopping suggestions. We had a very memorable stay and without a doubt would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Santa Caterina five different times and can never say enough about this hotel. The staff is beyond belief along with the service; they never forget your preferences from year to year; the location and the view is beyond belief. I cannot chose my favorite room/suite they have always been amazing. I love to wonder around the property and feel like I am the only person in over a 100 years to walk the steps and enjoy the lemon groves that are on the hill side. The restaurant is unbelievable - please go and enjoy a drink beforehand in the lounge with the view. The breakfast is more than you can believe with Prosecco (Italian Champagne) and the best pastries on the planet. I love this place more than any place I have every visted and can never wait to return to heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our balcony afforded us a magnificent view of the village, the Mediterranean, and the most spectacular sunrises we've ever experienced! The staff went above & beyond to make our stay outstanding in every way! The pool area was a favorite with our sons, and the vistas from the exercise facility made our workouts something amazing! I'm so glad we didn't economize on this particular part of our trip!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.