We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Santa Caterina five different times and can never say enough about this hotel. The staff is beyond belief along with the service; they never forget your preferences from year to year; the location and the view is beyond belief. I cannot chose my favorite room/suite they have always been amazing. I love to wonder around the property and feel like I am the only person in over a 100 years to walk the steps and enjoy the lemon groves that are on the hill side. The restaurant is unbelievable - please go and enjoy a drink beforehand in the lounge with the view. The breakfast is more than you can believe with Prosecco (Italian Champagne) and the best pastries on the planet. I love this place more than any place I have every visted and can never wait to return to heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our balcony afforded us a magnificent view of the village, the Mediterranean, and the most spectacular sunrises we've ever experienced! The staff went above & beyond to make our stay outstanding in every way! The pool area was a favorite with our sons, and the vistas from the exercise facility made our workouts something amazing! I'm so glad we didn't economize on this particular part of our trip!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You must stay at Santa Caterina at least once in your lifetime. It is like old Hollywood glamour - white painted walls, white slipcovered furniture, waiters in starched white jackets. It just has an air that makes one feel important - like you've stepped into a movie and Cary Grant should be sitting out on the balcony. It's just a feel and setting you don't see any more. Staff that is perfect - just enough, not too much. Manicured gardens with lemon trees everywhere, views of the most beautiful scenery one can imagine. Our room had the whitest walls and headboard I've ever seen with crisp white linen sheets and wonderful Italian tile floors. The pool is reached by elevator and is very private - right on the waters edge. Breakfast was included in our rate and it is a feast - anything you want and seating is on the balcony looking out at the sun rising over the blue ocean. Try to have dinner there at least one night. It is a beautiful treat. It was a pleasure to experience this property. There are nice hotels and there are expensive hotels and every once in awhile there comes along a magical hotel. Thank you Santa Caterina!

Room Tip: If at all possible get a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at Santa Caterina twice, once for our honeymoon and then again for our one year anniversary. Such phenomenal service. Classic unparalleled luxury. A place like this makes you feel like a celebrity but somehow still feels like home. Breakfast is a wonderful spread and is served in the sunroom overlooking the sea as grape vines grow in an around the windows. The restaurants at the hotel are also incredible. Amalfi itself is a truly magical town and we love to stay there. For us, S.Cat is the Jewel in its crown. Santa Caterina will always have a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are incredible. Others are peaceful and garden side. The Romeo an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, Royaume-uni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this gorgeous hotel. Things started well , after a hair raising drive along the Amalfi coast and feeling a bit weary and wondering where I would put the car, the hotel porter calmly took my keys, told me he would park it and get our bags to the room. Good. Then to the check in desk where they seemed to know me already, they assured me they had upgraded our room to a suite and a lady took us down to our room in the slightly remote villa. I was almost but not quite embarrassed at the sumptuousness of the room, and then the lady showed us the balcony, a balcony with 2 loungers, a table chairs and bench and a view of the ocean to dream about. My wife and I were stunned.

Things started well and stayed in the same vein for our 5 days. The staff are delightfully caring, and the whole place oozes charm, beauty , and dare I say it a woman's touch. We met one of the 2 lady owners as she was inspecting a room that was bei g upgraded. I'd say she doesn't miss a thing, she being perhaps the reason the place is still wowing clients , and staff , 100 plus years after the family first took ownership.

Yes it's expensive but one feels perhaps almost privileged to be as it were in the fold.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent the last week end in this gorgeous hotel in the heart of the Amalfi coast. Everything was just perfect... Stunning view, amazing garden and lemon terracings and an exceptional private beach club accessible from the hotel with an elevetor with view. The hotel is a Liberty villa with its original ceramic and forniture. The restaurants and the room service are at a very high standard. Finally the staff is always kind and careful to meet all your requests and need. A special attention to kids has been a positive surprise. I would strongly recommend to family and friends. We were just perplexed by seing the fall of a lemon down the cliff in the beach club. It could be very harmful. It has hit my knee with no serious consequences, but it could be fatal if it would have fallen on someone's head.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I planned our trip to Italy for months. We selected the Santa Caterina for a wide variety of reasons, not the least of which was the wonderful view from the rooms to the Mediterranean Sea.

We arrived at the hotel late after a long plane ride to Rome and car trip to Amalfi. The winding roads, blaring horns and dark of night hid the treasures to be discovered in the daylight hours.
The hotel staff was expecting us as they sent the car. We arrived late and tired. The staff greeted us like family.

Upon arriving at the room we discovered a fruit and cheese platter and a bottle of champagne.
The room was a honeymoon suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea about 30 meters above the water. While we heard the waves on the shore, we did not fully appreciate the spectacular nature of the property and grounds............and the views.

Upon waking up the following morning we discovered breathtaking views of the Mediterranean Sea and a gorgeous sunrise. It was a harbinger of the week of treats ahead of us.

Quite simply, the Santa Caterina exceeded our expectations in every way. Many famous people have stayed there and it is easy to see why. The grounds were impeccable with blooming flowers even in October when we visited. The food and beverage service was phenomenal and the staff was not only professional but warm and hospitable.

We were close enough to walk to the city center in Amalfi and we did so on many days. We also hired a car and visited Positano and other points of interest on the Amalfi Coast. We took the ferry to Capri and then the hydrofoil to Sorrento. From there we took a bus back to the hotel, giving us the full Amalfi Coast experience..........made wonderful by the return to the hotel room and incredible views of the sea.

Not only would we recommend the hotel to any who visit this area, but we plan to return to the Amalfi Coast in the near future and would definitely stay at the Santa Caterina Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.