We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite luxury in an Italian paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exquisite luxury in an Italian paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at Santa Caterina twice, once for our honeymoon and then again for our one year anniversary. Such phenomenal service. Classic unparalleled luxury. A place like this makes you feel like a celebrity but somehow still feels like home. Breakfast is a wonderful spread and is served in the sunroom overlooking the sea as grape vines grow in an around the windows. The restaurants at the hotel are also incredible. Amalfi itself is a truly magical town and we love to stay there. For us, S.Cat is the Jewel in its crown. Santa Caterina will always have a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are incredible. Others are peaceful and garden side. The Romeo an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    62
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
72
384
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, Royaume-uni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this gorgeous hotel. Things started well , after a hair raising drive along the Amalfi coast and feeling a bit weary and wondering where I would put the car, the hotel porter calmly took my keys, told me he would park it and get our bags to the room. Good. Then to the check in desk where they seemed to know me already, they assured me they had upgraded our room to a suite and a lady took us down to our room in the slightly remote villa. I was almost but not quite embarrassed at the sumptuousness of the room, and then the lady showed us the balcony, a balcony with 2 loungers, a table chairs and bench and a view of the ocean to dream about. My wife and I were stunned.

Things started well and stayed in the same vein for our 5 days. The staff are delightfully caring, and the whole place oozes charm, beauty , and dare I say it a woman's touch. We met one of the 2 lady owners as she was inspecting a room that was bei g upgraded. I'd say she doesn't miss a thing, she being perhaps the reason the place is still wowing clients , and staff , 100 plus years after the family first took ownership.

Yes it's expensive but one feels perhaps almost privileged to be as it were in the fold.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent the last week end in this gorgeous hotel in the heart of the Amalfi coast. Everything was just perfect... Stunning view, amazing garden and lemon terracings and an exceptional private beach club accessible from the hotel with an elevetor with view. The hotel is a Liberty villa with its original ceramic and forniture. The restaurants and the room service are at a very high standard. Finally the staff is always kind and careful to meet all your requests and need. A special attention to kids has been a positive surprise. I would strongly recommend to family and friends. We were just perplexed by seing the fall of a lemon down the cliff in the beach club. It could be very harmful. It has hit my knee with no serious consequences, but it could be fatal if it would have fallen on someone's head.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I planned our trip to Italy for months. We selected the Santa Caterina for a wide variety of reasons, not the least of which was the wonderful view from the rooms to the Mediterranean Sea.

We arrived at the hotel late after a long plane ride to Rome and car trip to Amalfi. The winding roads, blaring horns and dark of night hid the treasures to be discovered in the daylight hours.
The hotel staff was expecting us as they sent the car. We arrived late and tired. The staff greeted us like family.

Upon arriving at the room we discovered a fruit and cheese platter and a bottle of champagne.
The room was a honeymoon suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea about 30 meters above the water. While we heard the waves on the shore, we did not fully appreciate the spectacular nature of the property and grounds............and the views.

Upon waking up the following morning we discovered breathtaking views of the Mediterranean Sea and a gorgeous sunrise. It was a harbinger of the week of treats ahead of us.

Quite simply, the Santa Caterina exceeded our expectations in every way. Many famous people have stayed there and it is easy to see why. The grounds were impeccable with blooming flowers even in October when we visited. The food and beverage service was phenomenal and the staff was not only professional but warm and hospitable.

We were close enough to walk to the city center in Amalfi and we did so on many days. We also hired a car and visited Positano and other points of interest on the Amalfi Coast. We took the ferry to Capri and then the hydrofoil to Sorrento. From there we took a bus back to the hotel, giving us the full Amalfi Coast experience..........made wonderful by the return to the hotel room and incredible views of the sea.

Not only would we recommend the hotel to any who visit this area, but we plan to return to the Amalfi Coast in the near future and would definitely stay at the Santa Caterina Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at the Santa Caterina several times before but this was the first time we were a little disappointed. This is why the very good and not excellent rating.
We always had a seaview room in the main building and this time we had one in a building on the side. Room was large but lower causing a musty smell and balcony was just a metal terrace with not really a full seaview. Could live with that but the wedding going on right in front of our room caused us not to be able to get back to our room. When we did get back to our room we could not sit on the balcony as it was right on top of the ceremony!
We did complain and was changed the next day to another room in the main building. Which was nice but with the constant increase in room prices the room does not justify the cost.
This is a beautiful hotel with great service--everyone has a smile and most do know you name which is a nice touch.
Yes, restaurant is expensive but the food, service and view is fantastic. People working at the pool can't do enough for you.
Very clean but can't say the rough sheets and flat pillows are comfortable.
All said and done I just hope they don't get greedy with the prices because we do love this hotel and hope to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with a great view of the Amalfi coast. Hotel is beautiful and has old world charm. Best concierge! They were helpful before we arrived and very organized with all of our excursion information available when we arrived.The doorman was my favorite, as he had a wonderful happy personality. Our room had an ocean view, but seemed small and the chairs on the balcony were uncomfortable. However, everything in the room and bathroom worked, and easily accessible outlets available. Easy shuttle ride to Amalfi for shopping, lunch or dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

With the exception of a few small issues, this must be pretty close to the perfect romantic and special visit. First, I heartily endorse staying in the Amalfi area when on the coast. It is central to Ravello or even Salerno, but close enough to easily get to Positano and Sorrento, and even Pompeii. Second, the HSC has as good service as I have ever seen. The entire front staff knew us by name as soon as we checked in, and the remainder of the staff quickly addressed us by name thereafter. They responded to every request with a smile and a solution. Third, the grounds and the views are just breath-taking.

What could be better? The internet connection is variable, and in this day and age they need to address that. The shuttle to Amalfi operates in the morning and early afternoon, but I would have gone to the village more often, especially at night, with easier access. You can walk or take a 10 euro taxi, but that is a barrier. Finally, they need to pay a bit of attention to where the public areas, with their beautifully tiled floors, are over bedrooms, as any footfalls reverberate in the wee hours.

Again, these are small issues. This place is close to heaven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.