We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old style italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

On the edge of amalfi and the best hotel there.amalfi is beautiful but full of tat so being way from it all was great.plus great location from which easy to visit Capri positano and ravello.the staff were fabulous,friendly and always helpful.having stayed at villa deste on Como as well I am now educated that Italian hotels have their own style w,which could be described by some as outdated by current tastes but that is to miss the point.this hotel is the essence of an Italian stay stunning viewsandold world service in an immaculately clean hotel with a nice sea edge bea,ch area.I got the impression that the customers return year after year which I would given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    57
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
356
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here back in May/June for part of my pre-wedding trip with my husband and friends. The hotel is extremely disappointing.

We stayed at the largest suite which was 1500USD a night. Totally not worth the money. We wouldn't mind paying for 1500 USD a night if the hotel provide a 5 stars experience and service. Some hotel staffs were nice but we've encountered a few that were very rude. Our suite was large and spacious, but extremely boring with no character. We did not feel cosy at all. Bathroom was decent size but jacuzzi looked old and dirty. I found hair in the bathtub upon check in. I didn't feel comfortable to use the jacuzzi due to its questionable cleanliness. 

The Bar again lacks atmosphere and character. The quality of linens were horrible. It was hurting my skin and I am not even exaggerating. We did not have lunch/dinner at the hotel. I was quite disappointed at the quality of breakfast item and especially the quality of coffee. The food was uninspiring. We were in ITALY for God's sake!! How can you mess up the coffee!!

It's about 15 minutes walk to town, they do not offer convenient schedule for shuttle bus service. We did have a car with us but it is very difficult to find parking in town.

The view was nice, but definitely it's not the best view in amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it is truly Amazing. The service is great, courteous and friendly. The rooms are large and clean. The view is breathtaking. The staff really do go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. If you are planning on staying in Amalfi, definitely stay in this hotel, it is truly an experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My GBF brought me for an unforgettably luxurious break here. Our arrival was unauspicious - it was all I could do to keep from vomiting all over the reception's elegant marble floor after our taxi driver's enthusiastic style of driving around the winding coastal road from Naples. The concierge took one look at my white face and upgraded us to the honeymoon suite. Never before has a honeymoon suite been less used for its intended purpose but hey. What's not to like about a free upgrade to a private suite of rooms with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples, a huge jacuzzi, and free champagne on arrival? And between us and the rest of the hotel, a pathway through a terrace of lemon trees, which in May was full of scented blossom.

The staff continued to spoil us throughout our stay and called us their favourite couple. They seemed not to mind two idiotic 25 year old Brits cantering along their marble floors making horse noises, reading 19 century novels at the breakfast table, or J's screams as he attempted a swim in the Med (apparently he usually only swims in the West Indian sea, the git). This is the sort of hotel in which you only really need to go out for dinner. Otherwise eat in so you can spend the rest of your time lounging on the private beach terrace, reading, sleeping, sunbathing, and swimming. And yes, the sea is about 6 storeys down, but there's a handy lift set into the rock which saves your legs and lungs.

Thanks, O Santa Catarina, for a perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the finest hotel I've ever been to. Not only is it in a magical, beautiful place. It's where the stars stay (literally and figuratively!) This was a once in a lifetime trip. Save your $ it is worth every penny (euro). The food is great. Staff is wonderful. The views are breathtaking. And the hotel itself-lush! The memories/experiences you make here will forever be ingrained in who you are!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I were traveling with our 20 year old niece who wanted ocean proximity. The swimming dock was quite lovely and we enjoyed the sunbathing. We also enjoyed the easy walk or cab to downtown Amalfi.

Both our rooms had "terraces" but the street noise was so loud and intrusive that we did not wind up using them. otherwise the rooms were quite comfortable.

The Concierge service was exceptional.

The hotel has two restaurants - the poolside "casual" place, and the more formal dining room off the main lobby. Both were, in my opinion, extremely overpriced (we're not cheap, but expected better quality and better waiter etiquette/service). The restaurants in Amalfi were quite pleasant and a better value.

One thought I will leave you with - we visited Ravello, up in the hills -- and fell in love with it. It was quiet, artistic, out of the way. If ocean proximity is not your driver, you may want to explore accomodations there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

So enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful hotel with fabulous views and an amazing pool. Above all the most fantastic staff, they really went above and beyond and were so welcoming and friendly. Loved it here and very much hope to return.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.