We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After staying here for several days, I am convinced that this is the best hotel in the world. The service was absolutely impeccable, everyone remembered our names, our room, when we like to wake up, when we'll be out and when we'll return. Everything was done to our schedule and our preferences without us ever asking it! The location is divine, the room and food were luxurious, the pool and seaside platform make for an incredible Mediterranean experience. I rarely sleep well in hotel beds but the bed and pillows were so comfortable that I slept like a baby, especially after a long flight from the States. The continental breakfast buffet was the best I've ever had, with dozens of choices of meats, cheeses, and pastries, and the coffee was so good that we sought it out after coming home and are still buying. The dinners were cozy, delicious, and full of stunning nighttime views. I was completely relaxed, rejuvenated, and utterly happy with my stay. Some tips: arrive for breakfast early to get the best seats with the least direct sun. Make reservations for dinner early. Make sure to snack because the poolside bar closes earlier. Take advantage of the hourly shuttles into Amalfi. Don't bother bringing back take out because there aren't mini-fridges in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    56
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
356
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service and staff deserve a 10 out of 10. We stayed here late March / early April of 2013 and found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure that we felt special and comfortable. Beautiful property! I can only imagine how much fun it would be to stay here in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our 4 family members shared dinner in the main dining room. Two shared a meal. These two became violently ill 4 hours after eating. One ended up in the local hospital. The hotel manager sent hotel agents to the hospital for damage control....spending time in the room with our family member without permission, with the doctor, in the hall....it was like a scene from the Godfather. We were charged for the dinner that made us sick and the hotel accepted no responsibility. They claimed it was the flu. We were very uncomfortable and were happy to leave when we were finally well enough to do so.

This is a beautiful hotel, and town....but I will never go back. My advice is stay away... its not worth it. If you run into any trouble the hotel manager will not help you. As an outsider, you are own. They will look out for themselves only.

Room Tip: pick another town,,,,in fact just stay north where you will be taken care of if things go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

One of the more beautiful, wonderful, luxurious places we have ever stayed. Will absolutely return at some point. Everything is top notch - the location, the staff, the room, the pool, the food, the setting. Its a short walk to Amalfi (or an even shorter ride on the shuttle they provide hourly). The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous view of the town and sea. The hotel is situated up on the cliff with its own private elevators to take you down to the pool deck which is adjacent to the sea. Most unusual and a fun way to go to the beach ! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Lunch and dinner were even better. Wine selection is excellent and the sommelier quite knowledgeable. All of the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and wanted to make sure that your stay was as good as possible. A favorite !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Santa Caterina has the best location on the Amalfi coast and is just 10 minutes walk from the village.
The hotel is well appointed with a first class attentive staff. A lift brings you down to the pool/ sea area where there is an excellent restaurant - pizzas, pastas, fish, to provide a most enjoyable lunch. The pool staff are attentive and very good with children.
Breakfast in the morning overlooking the bay is excellent.
However it is a very expensive hotel and you would do well to check carefully the room rate before booking. A couple of criticisms - dinner in the evening is disappointing for a hotel of this standard. It is expensive and the cooking could be much lighter and more refined. There are however several good restaurants in the village. The Internet connection can be non existent but the signal can always be picked up in reception. Driving in the area is not to be recommended. The roads are narrow and twisty and can be an absolute nightmare,however the hotel will readily organise transport. All in all a stay at this hotel is to be recommended - it will leave you refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five loved this hotel and cannot wait to return. Beautiful location, wonderful pool area, and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Italy. Absolutely delightful in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel with a great view but It didn't answer my expectations though, especially food wise. Breakfast is average. Most of the cocktails are bad.
Rooms are really clean and comfy but WiFi is too slow with a poor connection. Private beach and pool area is amazing and very easy to access with elevators but it is closed at 6:30!! That means you can't swim or lie on the pool side after 6:30 which is really ridiculous. I don't know if the other hotels which have private beaches have the same policy but I know that the public beaches are open till late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.