We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly one of our favorite hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Possibly one of our favorite hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service and staff deserve a 10 out of 10. We stayed here late March / early April of 2013 and found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure that we felt special and comfortable. Beautiful property! I can only imagine how much fun it would be to stay here in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our 4 family members shared dinner in the main dining room. Two shared a meal. These two became violently ill 4 hours after eating. One ended up in the local hospital. The hotel manager sent hotel agents to the hospital for damage control....spending time in the room with our family member without permission, with the doctor, in the hall....it was like a scene from the Godfather. We were charged for the dinner that made us sick and the hotel accepted no responsibility. They claimed it was the flu. We were very uncomfortable and were happy to leave when we were finally well enough to do so.

This is a beautiful hotel, and town....but I will never go back. My advice is stay away... its not worth it. If you run into any trouble the hotel manager will not help you. As an outsider, you are own. They will look out for themselves only.

Room Tip: pick another town,,,,in fact just stay north where you will be taken care of if things go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

One of the more beautiful, wonderful, luxurious places we have ever stayed. Will absolutely return at some point. Everything is top notch - the location, the staff, the room, the pool, the food, the setting. Its a short walk to Amalfi (or an even shorter ride on the shuttle they provide hourly). The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous view of the town and sea. The hotel is situated up on the cliff with its own private elevators to take you down to the pool deck which is adjacent to the sea. Most unusual and a fun way to go to the beach ! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Lunch and dinner were even better. Wine selection is excellent and the sommelier quite knowledgeable. All of the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and wanted to make sure that your stay was as good as possible. A favorite !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Santa Caterina has the best location on the Amalfi coast and is just 10 minutes walk from the village.
The hotel is well appointed with a first class attentive staff. A lift brings you down to the pool/ sea area where there is an excellent restaurant - pizzas, pastas, fish, to provide a most enjoyable lunch. The pool staff are attentive and very good with children.
Breakfast in the morning overlooking the bay is excellent.
However it is a very expensive hotel and you would do well to check carefully the room rate before booking. A couple of criticisms - dinner in the evening is disappointing for a hotel of this standard. It is expensive and the cooking could be much lighter and more refined. There are however several good restaurants in the village. The Internet connection can be non existent but the signal can always be picked up in reception. Driving in the area is not to be recommended. The roads are narrow and twisty and can be an absolute nightmare,however the hotel will readily organise transport. All in all a stay at this hotel is to be recommended - it will leave you refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five loved this hotel and cannot wait to return. Beautiful location, wonderful pool area, and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Italy. Absolutely delightful in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel with a great view but It didn't answer my expectations though, especially food wise. Breakfast is average. Most of the cocktails are bad.
Rooms are really clean and comfy but WiFi is too slow with a poor connection. Private beach and pool area is amazing and very easy to access with elevators but it is closed at 6:30!! That means you can't swim or lie on the pool side after 6:30 which is really ridiculous. I don't know if the other hotels which have private beaches have the same policy but I know that the public beaches are open till late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and i spent a week at Santa Caterina with our two children (8 and 10), and it was an incredible week! We met many other guests there who have been coming back year-after-year, and I can see why. The location is incredible, but most importantly, the entire staff is so friendly and genuinely interested in making sure that our experience was special. Our kids still remember showing up for breakfast one morning and the breakfast team knowing their names and giving them a prime seat overlooking the ocean. Thank you to the management and the rest of the team there for an incredible week. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.