We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I Have Stayed In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I Have Stayed In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is pricey, but you are treated like royalty. This place is the example of great service meets paradise. The staff is so welcoming and kind, not pretentious as some hotels of this caliber can sometimes feel. When we walked in our room it was a Honeymoon dream come true only to be topped by the bathroom then topped by the view from our balcony. The food was excellent for all meals, the views from all areas are just gorgeous. The staff is amazing, the pool area was fantastic and the gym was small but had some decent equipment. If I could live in this hotel, I would. We preferred the city Pasitano to Amalfi but this hotel was the best in our Honeymoon and the best I have ever stayed at to date. It is great for adults and people who want a truly romantic experience.

Room Tip: Get to the pool area early to get a good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

one of my favorite place's in the world great family run 5 star gem the staff and hotel among the best cannot wait to get back perfect setting with great care for there customers, put in your bucket list you won't be sorry , this is truley a leading hotel of the world , great place to stay to do day trips along the amalfi coast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel Santa Caterina was the best hotel experience I've ever had. The service, spa, restaurants, room accommodations, actual location of the hotel- everything was just superb. I've traveled to several countries in Europe and this is the only place I would return to in an instant!

Room Tip: The villa is especially nice with a private patio- quiet and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Amalfi Coast is stunning to start with and then bolt a 5 star hotel to the cliff and the result is that every view is like a postcard. The hotel is just outside of town so guests feel like they are in a more isolated resort rather than surrounded by tourists. The hotel is spread between a number of buildings across the cliff face that are connected by outdoor walkways. It can be a bit of a walk to some of the more distant rooms but we didn't mind the isolation.

Service is top notch. A terrific breakfast buffet is included and the waiters will gladly let you fill your plates but then intercept you to carry it back to your table for you. They don't take no for an answer. My wife and I had a contest to see who could bolt back to our table without a waiters assistance. We were rarely successful.

This hotel is anything but cheap but of all the pricey places we stayed during our two weeks in Italy, this was the one place where there was no doubt the money was well spent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a treat. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everyone at Hotel Santa Catarina was wonderful. In fact, they were terrific even before we arrived. In preparing for our trip, I emailed the hotel on multiple occasions, asking for their help with everything from restaurant recommendations to making arangements for a car service to pick us up in Naples and drive us to the hotel.

Once we were there, they helped us arrange for a private boat tour which was wonderful and included a stop for lunch at a place you can only get to by boat (not included in the price btw). In addition, they have a shuttle that goes to town, which is great because the cost of a taxi is 10 Euro. As an example of their level of service, even though the shuttle doesn't operate after 6:30 pm. when we asked for a taxi to bring us to town for dinner, they had the shuttle take us.

The hotel itself is gorgeous and immaculate. Our room was always spotless. The main lobby area is beautifully decorated and comfortable. We found ourselves hanging out there more than at other hotels because it was so inviting and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful and there is always someone tending to them.

The food was very good. We had breakfast every day, two lunches and one dinner. Highly recommend the folded pizza (calzone) with sauteed endive. Delicious!

I can't say enough about this hotel, which is really nice for a change. Every single person on their staff was genuinely nice, many knowing our name after the first day or so. Yes, it's expensive, but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful days at the Santa Caterina. Staff were a delight, rooms to die for and fantastic location! No ask was too great for this hotel! We will 100% be returning! One of the best hotels we have ever experienced ( we have stayed in a number of 5 stars)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was by far the best hotel experience of our 2 week europe trip. The staff was fabulous and eager to help us in any which way possible. Not to mention the room was excellent and view from the common areas of the hotel is just fantastic. Food was wonderful, especially the breakfast - they had a lot of variety as compared to other hotels around italy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.