We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent four days in paradise. The hotel staff, the atmosphere and the food and drink are just as amazing as the view! We had a lovely time from the moment we arrived until we parted. The Staff is exceptional! Franco attended to our every desire.

The hotel staff arranged for a private boat for us to tour the area and go to Capri. The captian of the Boat, Angelo was a excellent guide and the boat was clean and a very nice size. We got to see many things from the sea, that we would have otherwsie missed. A sea side lunch with the locals, caught by "the fisherman" was among the highlights. Excellent lunch of fish caught earlier that morning.

Doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    59
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
71
368
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

....Everything about our stay at the Santa Caterina was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, the food is delicious and, as so many other reviewers point out, the staff cannot be beat. They bend over backwards to take care of the guests and make your stay extraordinary.

The setting is stunning - and we loved how we were not right *in* the middle of Amalfi but a five minute walk....Gave better views, more peace and quiet. Perfect place for honeymooners. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a week in this lovely hotel.
It thoroughly deserves the plaudits that it receives.
It is a traditional old Italian building kept in excellent condition but with the addition of modern amenities where they would be expected . The decor is sympathetic to the building and the lobby has beautifully clean, cream chairs-not an easy colour but welcoming, cool, comfortable and not a smudge or blemish to be seen. Indeed the entire hotel is kept at a very high standard of cleanliness.
The rooms with direct sea view are worth the extra expense as some side view rooms do, infact, look over the road as well and this is a busy road!
The ambience , especially at night, is extremely romantic and the vast majority of guests dress for dinner which I know is thought old fashioned by some but we love it and it shows respect for the hotel and other guests and adds something special to the whole experience.
The staff are superb and a major asset to the establishment.They are attentive but not intrusive and make you feel really special . Their manners are impeccable and nothing is too much trouble.
They work long hours but always look emaculate with different uniforms for different meals. You are addressed by name which shows the attention to detail that can make a holiday experience.
We had a parking ticket and when we asked directions to the post office to pay the fee the receptionist insisted that he go on our behalf in his own time. A tip was firmly but graciously declined. On 2 days of appalling rain the guest internet was lost and we needed to sign and send a legal document and were finding it frustratingly difficult. A simple enquiry led to the whole problem being solved by the reception and office staff with little effort from ourselves. We travel extensively and have never come across such genuine dedication to customer care.
Amalfi is a nice little town and easy to explore but you do need to be mobile to climb the steep paths. Do find The Ancient Steps and follow them up to the cemetery but look up the opening times as after all our efforts we reached the top , saw wonderful views but found the cemetery was closed!
The coastal road is driveable but is nightmarish for driver and passenger alike due to the suicidal tendencies of local drivers! All seemingly short trips take ages and after a while you can appreciate while most people do not hire cars and use buses or stay off the coastal road and just visit for the day . Whatever you do if hiring a car -take out full insurance to cover every eventuality as undamaged cars are extremely rarefrom what we saw.
FInally-the food is superb quality with excellent presentation but comes at a price -as you would expect from its Michelin status. To dress for dinner, enjoy a leisurely cocktail on the verandah overlooking Amalfi lit up at night and then to be escorted in for a superb dinner was worth every penny(we did it 4 times)!

Room Tip: full sea view with balcony on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was an absolute pleasure and real 5***** treatment in the most beautiful setting with gardens to match. Highly recommended. The rooms were amazing too with views of the coast. A trip to Capri is a must too whilst your there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I came to the Santa Caterina in July 2012 with my fiance. We had been traveling for over a week when we arrived in Amalfi (Rome, Florence, Tuscany) so we were ready for some rest and relaxation and that is what we got.
I must say that everyone told me that when you come to the Amalfi coast you *have* to stay in Positano and I didn't know if we were missing out on anything. The Santa Caterina turned out to be EXACTLY what we were looking for.
1) THE POOL
The pool area is unlike anything I have ever seen. The hotel is built into the side of an enormous cliff and a glass elevator take you down to the "pool" area which built right into the rocks at the ocean level. They have an area where you can jump right off the rocks into the water. The lunch and dinner restaurants are on different levels of the cliff and both look out over the ocean. It is magical.
2) The SERVICE
This is truly a Five Star hotel. We had booked the lowest level room and were upgraded for free upon checkin to the next level up. We were treated like we had booked the honeymoon suite despite having booked the cheapest room possible. The concierge, Matteo, was incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and places to go out and party on nights we felt like having some drinks and letting loose a bit. The hotel was great at arranging transportation and giving us a wide range of options for places to eat and things to do.
We did end up taking the ferry (I think it was only 8 Euros) to Positano one day which was a great day and well worth the trip for the views from the ferry alone. We walked around all the shops and had lunch at La Cambusa and we walked up to the Sirenuse and asked if we could walk through the lobby and stand on the deck and see the view which they were very nice about letting us do. The view was different and also magical in it's own way but we really wanted to enjoy the ocean and The Santa Caterina was the right choice for us because of this.

I had a massage one day at the spa which was, in my opinion, only okay. The guy who walked out of his massage as I was walking in said it was the best massage he ever had- so it may be a matter of personal taste. I felt like my "deep tissue" massage wasn't hard enough and the masseuse was a little unfriendly/cold. To be fair- I should have told her to use more pressure but I have a hard time speaking up in those situations.

Overall- we were blown away and this hotel far exceeded our expectations.
This is the perfect choice for a romantic trip.
If you are contemplating staying here- go for it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding night but we had our entire wedding at this venue. Wow, wow, wow. From Alfonso, the food & beverage director to Pino, the Maitre'd, through to the waiters and the head chef to the reception team, these guys are simply fantastic. Our wedding had a hundred little details, and nothing was too much for the team here to deliver them to perfection. We had the time of our lives, and each of our guests are to this day still buzzing with how amazing the venue (down by the sea) and the garden (for the ceremony) were. The food is expensive here, but it is taste-bud-tastic! The rooms are spacious, unique, and offer bathrooms that should only be reserved for royal families, with their exquisite Bulgari cosmetic range. If you can afford this luxury, sleep here. If you can't, find the money to at least eat here. Thank you to the HSC team for helping us have the very best of weddings at your most wonderful of hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our family stayed at the beautiful Hotel Santa Caterina the last week of August. Our three girls (10, 9 and 6) loved everything about the hotel. They were very sweet to the girls. Crescenzo, one of the owner, personally made us feel very welcome. Our rooms were spectacular and the restaurants were wonderful. The concierge arranged great side trips or us to tour the gottos of Capri and the ruins of Pompeii. I think anyone with children would love this hotel. It would of course be spectacular for just adults too - very romantic.

Room Tip: The separate garden building was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.