We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent service .
Nice location...Room was cleaned twice daily too! I would recomend the seaview rooms....
Fantastic restaurant even if it poured for the three days we were there! STRONGLY recommend the best Hotel in Amalfi!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    65
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
89
435
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Caterina for 4 nights this summer and it is fantastic! It is simply stunning. The garden views, the sea view, and the attention to detail throughout the hotel are impeccable. We stayed in a sea side-view room. There was a small balcony with a table and chairs. We still had a lovely view of the sea through the middle of the garden. I absolutely loved the glass elevator down the cliff to the sea!!! The pool and lounge chair area is wonderful. The staff greet you and quickly prepare the chairs and umbrella for you - no worries about enough chairs for all guests. And then there is the ladders to the sea - getting to swim in the sea was such a treat!!! And they provide "noodles" to hang on to if you'd like:-) We ate once at the lunch/pool restaurant and once at the formal restaurant for dinner. Both were delicious and have wonderful wine choices. And the wait stuff are so gracious and professional However, the restaurants are quite expensive, making it a one-time experience for us:-) But the views over the cliff of the lights of Amalfi, while having dinner, are gorgeous! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly - making reservations in Amalfi, answering questions, and giving directions. I certainly hope we get the opportunity to go back to Amalfi and this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is like a dream, clinging to the side of the Amalfi cliffs as if by magic with beautiful gardens that smell like heaven! We stayed here for 3 days last summer and thought we would go back as it was SO relaxing 3 days felt like a week, in a good way!!!! You know things are going to be good when the hotel recognizes you are returning guests before you arrive. We landed in Salerno and needed a car transfer to the hotel. This was efficiently and promptly sorted in emails with the concierge. upon our arrival we were greeted by name as we walked in the door.

We were thrilled to discover that we had the same room as last year with a bit seperate from the main hotel and thus quieter. If you have read any of my other posts, you know that I am OBSESSED with hotel toiletries, or lack of them. Never fear, here they have wonderful Bulgari toiletries which smell great. Conditioner, bath salts for the jacuzzi bath and wonderful lotion. Rooms have iPod docks, Flat Screen TV, and a selection of DVD's that we never felt the need to see, such is the beauty of this place.

The pool/sea front is more spacious than appears at first glance. The staff who run it are efficient and helpful. We arrived our first morning before 8 and they were still gracious and professional.

My biggest thanks go to Franco the Head Concierge who is a true treasure! From restaurant reservations to plans for a special dinner at the hotel, he is amazing. It is a true art to be as gracious and professional as he is; making all guests feel like at home and welcome. No request is too much trouble.

The staff in the restaurants are super professional and they just do not make them like this anymore!!!! WOW. It is like watching a very carefully choreographed ballet. They are there but not obtrusive. Refilling wine and water glasses refolding napkins from guests who have stepped away for a minute, this place just hums along in perfect key!

We can't wait to go back!!!! I did not rate the spa as we pretty much just stayed by the sea and read and swam. A perfect 3 days!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms next to the hotel room 47 or 46 are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I are just back from a week at this lovely hotel where we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed a week at the Santa Caterina and a week at the Palazzo Sasso in Ravello. The Santa Caterina is a lovely hotel with beautiful views of the coast and the town of Amalfi. The hotel's gardens are just lovely and very popular for weddings! The staff are just great, very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was very good. It is only a 10 minute walk to Amalfi which is a super, vibrant town with plenty of restaurants and shops. Boat trips to various places can be booked in Amalfi. I would thoroughly recommend the Santa Caterina and the Palazzo Sasso (i placed a review of this hotel too).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,021 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Santa Caterina is an incredibly charming and romantic hotel located on the top of a cliff, with a view of the Mediterranean.

The hotel is a 10-minute walk from town, which means that you get a bit more privacy, compared to the hotels in town.

The hotel does not have its own beach, but don’t worry, because they have made their very own “platform” over the cliffs, which you can get directly to by taking the hotel elevator. From the platform, you can swim in their salt water pool or swim directly into the ocean. Obviously, there is also a lunch restaurant in connection with the platform as well as a fitness centre, so you have everything you need within reach.

They only minor drawback of the hotel is their spa facilities, which are rather limited, with very small changing rooms, even though the treatments are just fine. However, this minor drawback is not enough to reduce the overall grade, as the view, atmosphere, experience, food and service are almost magical.

The hotel restaurant is not a Michelin star restaurant, but the food and service still deserves 5 stars, so all in all, I can highly recommend Hotel Santa Caterina.

There are more expensive hotels on the Amalfi coast that are also 5-star hotels, but with regard to ”value for money”, Hotel Santa Caterina is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mt wife and our youngest son (16) had one of the most delightful weeks as guests here. Also one of the most expensive at 1,000 euros a day but it was such heaven, would go again at the drop of a hat. The Lovely food, the fantastic views, the walk down through the lemon grove hanging on the cliff face, the snorkeling, the pampering, what heaven. Joy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were very tired , needed a break.....we had the best time and best 3 nights...the VIEW, the staff , the sea was fantastic...we will go back for sure...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.