We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at the hotel at the begining of April 2012 for a week - it was "out of this world". Nothing was too much trouble, staff were extremely helpful. The food was excellent although rather expensive. Fortunatley the weather was very good and the pool area is beautifully kept and staff wonderful. The Maitre D'hotel - Pino Francese is an absolutely charming gentlemen, so welcoming and full of knowledge. A wonderful experience of luxury and relaxation.

If travelling by air and you need transport for the hotel contact Anthony Buonocore at www.amalfitransfer.com - he is a delightful man and offers a first class service and gives you a beautiful journey around the winding roads.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A gorgeous family run hotel with spectacular views. Not modern glamour, but beautiful Italian antique styling. Fabulous breakfast overlooking the ocean, and a short stroll into the village. Helpful staff. Only thing is the onsite restaurant is super expensive. But otherwise a wonderful hotel and would happily stay hear again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We are a young couple looking for a romantic place to stay on Amalfi Coast and found this place to be extremely convenient, comfortable and friendly. I want to first off say we have a car in the area and we needed to look for a place where we don't need to have significant trouble parking and then more trouble walking from where we park to the place we live (and for this, we ruled out many places in Positano, which are crowded and quite annoying needing 100-200 meter uphill/downhill to the hotel - but we speak for ourselves as we literally wanted to walk out of the car and immediately into the hotel room and lie on the bed after a long day out). And we found Amalfi to be a very convenient base, especially because we love food and, Cetara and Atrani (which incidentally have a few restaurants where we had the best meals of the entire trip) are just around the corner. And this hotel is close enough to Amalfi for easy access and far enough to make you feel you are at a quiet corner (they have a free shuttle in any case to take you to Amalfi - literally 1-2 minute away).

In terms of service, it's top notch. The staff is friendly and eager to help and they make you feel very much at home. The bar area with the sofas are lit up at night and there are a couple occasions we came back at 11:30pm, and we ordered some dessert wine and wound down at one of the white sofas reviewing the photos we took from the day. And the bar waiter was kind enough to let me sample different dessert wines, brought over biscuits and then left us alone to enjoy the moment.

Room-wise, we went for a deluxe room (Room 12) facing the sea with a large balcony, and it was just a joy waking up in the morning, opening the balcony door and looking out to the blue sea and directly beneath is the hotel's small garden (which is nice to look at). The room was immaculate and clean, although I would say the furnishing was a bit dated but that doesn't really detract from the experience.

We only had breakfast there, but it was very nice sitting in the terrace, looking out the ocean and eating the delicious breakfast - food quality was pretty good (but of course doesn't compare to the organic breakfast we had at Don Alfonso!). And their home-made pastry was excellent, I am missing those pastries now!

We didn't use the pool as we were there over Easter 2012. We moved to another hotel in Praiano after two nights, but wished we had stayed here for another night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Beautiful historic villa, outlook over the sea, elegance and attention to detail. 4-star restaurant with high class service and good food / wine. The staff were hospitable and friendly and went out of their way to look after us well. I dd not feel any pressure to tip. We had a free upgrade to a suite with a jacuzzi bath and garden. When my wife fell ill with an allergic reaction to the sun one evening, the receptionist (Franco) arranged,collected and delivered the medication she needed, then declined to accept a tip. This was not fawning, it was professionalism + human kindness. It may not be cheap, but it is beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Whenever i am stressed, i close my eyes and think of this place, where heaven meets the earth. We stumbled on the Santa Caterina many years ago, on a long and winding trip down the Amalfi Coast. We had stayed in Sorrento, and although it was beautiful, it was too tourist laden for our tastes and we wanted more of a local feel. It is here that we found it. Although we are now older, and our children are teenagers, each of us, no matter where we go in the world(and we travel alot!) long to come back to this treasure.
From the moment you enter the lobby with its exquisite hand made tile from nearby Vietri Sul Mare, and you look out to the terraces that tumble down to the sea, you become at once overwhelmed and serene. The staff treats this place like the jewel that it is. They are knowledgeable, refined, but not stuffy. They will organize excursions for you from the simple to the complex. Children and families are most welcome here, and we have watched other families grow over the years in their summers here. The feel is casual, but this is most definitely a luxury property.
We have stayed in the more secluded suites, which are exquisite yet not overdone, and when we have other family join us, we have experienced all of the rooms from the standard on up. They are all wonderful, sparkling clean and well cared for by the very sweet housekeeping staff.

Sea view is best, but there are so many terraces and vantage points that you can always have a view-whether in your room or not. The side sea view rooms can be a bit noisy if you are near the road, so i would avoid those.
The hotel is on a busy winding road just outside of Amalfi, but you do not feel connected to the world once you are on the grounds. One can easily get lost walking through the lemon groves or gardens that stretch throughout the property. To get to the pool area, you must descend multiple levels, where you realize that this hotel was literally built into the seaside cliffs. Although the pool is small, the view from poolside is breathtaking and you can take a swim in the sea, or catch a private boat to any destination you wish along the Amalfi Coast.
I wouldn't suggest walking into town as you can easily get a shuttle service from the hotel.
You will need a car to go anywhere else along the Amalfi Coast, and that may be a drawback for some, but we like the location of this hotel anyway.

I usually don't comment about food on these reviews, but the lemon ravioli is the best i have ever had, and if i were to have one last meal...that would be it. The breakfast buffets are amazing-pastry, meats, cheeses, breads-all served beautifully and with a local flavor.
There are so many memories that we have of this place, and quite honestly, i don't want to share everything here because this is the kind of place that you think was made just for you.

Room Tip: Front sea views are magnificent. Avoid rooms that are close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

When the heart rules the head you can see why some of the reviews of the Santa caterina are so good. When you arrive on a glorious day and your bags are taken to your room and you look out over the sparkling mediterranean and down to Amalfi it is easy to let one's emotions run amok.
When the head rules the heart you can see why others have written that the hotel is overpriced, that whilst you get the impression of being fawned over by the staff the purpose behind this is to relieve you of tips and there are some aspects of this that can be a little irritating such as the suspension of the free shuttle around lunch and dinner or in my case the fact that I was not allowed to simply go to my own car to get a magazine as the the hotel had my car keys and the gentleman appeared to see this as an opportunity to make €10 by opening my car door with my own keys. In addition there was an uncomfortable stand off when someone brought me some ice (a service advertised in the room) as this apparently also needed to be reimbursed.
The main point is this - if you are staying here then price is not really something that you should complain about, the Amalfi coast is expensive and the Santa Caterina occupies a fantastic location with great views, that is not in doubt. If you want cheaper there are other places. The issue here is more the question of value and for me, on reflection and when my head later rules my heart this sadly, despite its qualities that others have rightly complimented, is not somewhere that I will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Caterina last June, on our second trip to the Amalfi Coast. We swore this time that we would leave the property (last time, we stayed at Le Sirenuse in Positano, and were so entranced we barely left the premises). Fortunately or unfortunately (depending on perspective), we were so entranced with the Santa Caterina that we found ourselves again in a bit of a hypnotic trance. We barely moved from our room to the pool to the ocean to the restaurant and back again. The rooms are gorgeous and lack no amenity (especially love the Bulgari toiletries - the unique fragrance brings us right back to the Italian coast). The restaurant serves fabulous food and wine, and the staff is second to none. The lounging areas, overlooking the sea, are divine, and the pool is large enough to swim in and a maintained at a perfect temperature. What's not to love?

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room - simply divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.