We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Pacific, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Impeccable in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Santa Caterina is a beautiful hotel located in Amalfi. It has a free shuttle to town if you don't want to take the short walk. The rooms are amazing - beautiful high ceilings, lovely decor, 110 volts for my flat iron and chocolates on the pillow at night. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was excellent - pricey, but well worth it. The staff were very helpful and made our stay fantastic. I would love to stay here again, it's an oasis of calm and the views are magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

As part of a 3 week celebration of my husband's 50th birthday, Amalfi was the 3rd destination of our trip. We arrived here after 3 days in Venice and 4 days in Rome looking forward to relaxing after 7 days of walking and touring. After a lovely drive from Salerno train station, we were welcomed to Santa Caterina and to what would be one of our best hotel experiences ever. The views are amazing - morning, noon, sunset, nighttime - every hour casts a different light on the coastline. We loved our room, but loved our chaise lounges at the oceanside even more! Sergio and his colleagues greeted us daily with fresh towels, cool drinks and oh, those green olives are just heavenly. A few steps down for a refreshing dip in the emerald blue sea - yet another amazing view floating in the ocean and looking up at this gorgeous property built so gracefully into the cliffs.

We would tear ourselves away to climb a few steps up to the seaside restaurant where Daneli and Guiseppe would be waiting in their crisp day jackets and perfect ties yet again to help us decide - fish, pasta, pizza? Then back to the chaise... life is rough. Very very rough.

We did manage to venture out to Pompeii for one day which was incredible. Genaro was excellent at arranging our outing and Filippo our driver (Amalfi Car Services) was a highlight of our trip. He went out of his way to ensure we had the perfect day including a fabulous lunch high above Positano at La Tagliata. After a quick (and one gorgeous tabletop purchase later) stop at a great ceramic shop, Filippo delivered us back to our beloved Santa Caterina just in time for a late afternoon oceanside nap in our lounges...I can't remember his name (he worked with Sergio) but he also looked after us at the pool and spent a few minutes with my husband explaining how they catch octopus, etc for the hotel right there at the seaside. One detail I noticed - my husband and I enjoy Grey Goose & Tonic - I noticed late in the day - even after they had packed up the poolside bar - there was a lone bottle of Grey Goose left on the bar - "just in case"....very nice.

After a nap and refreshing shower, it was down to the terrace for a glass of champagne before dinner. Alfredo graciously and efficiently took care of us - more olives and more pistachios.... as I said, life is rough. We could have sat here all night, but my beloved Guiseppe awaited. Now dressed in his formal evening tuxedo he, Daneli and the rest of the team were ready to indulge us yet again. The romantic table for two with that view...that unforgettable view. Delicious cuisine paired with the perfect Italian wine!

As a lifelong hotelier I can honestly say this hotel has one of the best teams I have experienced. They are gracious, efficient and genuinely seem to enjoy their careers. They gracefully accommodate all of our touristy "ways" with charm. My husband also noted the staff we never saw - how the gardens were perfectly manicured but you never saw the gardeners - housekeeping always magically knew when to clean our room - the doormen always welcomed us "home" the few times we went out. Well done - many many thanks for all that you do and especially for the memories that will truly last a lifetime! We will be back!! Mille Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I returned to to the Santa Caterina after an absence of 20 years to celebrate our twenty fifth wedding aniversary, and it was as every bit as good as we remembered, indeed better. Service, food, surroundings, room, location were all absolutely superb. It is not cheap, but then pure luxury never is. Many of the staff from twenty years ago are still there which in itself is testimony to a happy environment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Love this hotel, the rooms, the view, the pool, the food. But more than anything the impeccable service. If you want luxury in the heart of the Amalfi Coast look no further.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Seven glorious nights at this five star hotel on the beautiful Amalfi Coast. Top notch service (especially the wait staff). Great pool, swimming the Med, great food and accomodations. We're used to fine service and Santa Catarina is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed in The Hotel Santa Caterina for four days. The hotel is utterly wonderful - the views spectacular, the food at the restaurants wonderful, the rooms utterly lovely. But, hands down, what made this the experience of a lifetime was the service. My husband and I have traveled extensively - both work and pleasure. Never in 30 years have I experienced the attention to detail and open caring that we experienced here. From the minute we drove (yes, we drove!) up ... they ran out to our car, were helping us gather everything out of the car.... every possible nicety. It continued the entire time we were there. They were super polite, kind and always doing everything possible to accommodate us. When we left, they brought me out a fresh paper and bottles of water to take on our trip back. They could teach every 5 star hotel in America how to do it right. We plan on returning. :-)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good! Each is 'tucked away' and not near an elevator. All feel privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Fantastic hotel, one of the best I have ever stayed in, granted the rates are a bit pricey but totally worth it and the staff and scenery and service more than compensate for that.

Room Tip: Looking out to the coast , beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.