We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It. Great honeymoon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved It. Great honeymoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I were treated to this luxury hotel as a gift for our wedding. Boy do I wish I had more money, because I would go back in a heartbeat. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed there for a couple days and the concierges all knew our names. The buffet breakfast was phenomenal-- kept us full all day! The view was amazing -- we missed it immediately when we left. We also enjoyed the private beach area. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but heard it is delicious. So we probably can't afford to go back anytime soon, but we will definitely try to once we earn some money :).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    62
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
75
392
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We recently stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel in Amalfi, Italy and simply put, there are not enough superlatives to describe the experience. The staff took service to a level that we found to be unparalleled. The hotel is a family owned business and the employees act as though they are part of that family. It was common to find personnel who had worked there 15, 20, 30 and more years. The hotel restaurant featured dinners that made us look forward to returning the next evening for another culinary feast. If something was not on the menu, they were very amenable to preparing a meal to our wishes. For example, a day in advance, we requested tiramisu for dessert the next evening, and they were happy to grant my request. It was the best tiramisu we’ve ever had! Bruno, who played the piano during dinner, made two of our nights in the hotel restaurant absolutely unforgettable, as he played American and Italian songs with great talent and interpretation. The waiters also made every meal a special event and were friendly without interfering into the private feel of the dinner.

The hotel décor was elegant, and the painted ceramic tiles in the lobby were breath-taking. Lemon trees were blossoming during our stay, and their fragrance added to the ambiance. The rooms are clean and well decorated. The suite in which we stayed the final four nights was private, modern, and a welcome retreat from our busy lives. The large square Jacuzzi tub built into the floor of the suite was amazing.

Two additional comments for prospective guests – if you miss the hotel shuttle service, the 1 km cab ride from Amalfi to the hotel is 10 Euros. Secondly, bring your clothes pressed or bring clothes that travel well, because we were told the hotel cannot provide an iron due to an Italian fire code. To have two shirts and one pair of pants ironed costs 28 Euros.

Finally, because our wedding took place in the hotel garden, we must add that the hotel staff truly went the extra mile in ensuring that every detail of our wedding plan was executed to perfection. It was an amazing, magical stay at the Hotel Santa Catarina! We look forward to going back someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights between 1st May - 7th May. We had booked a partial sea view/garden view room. When we arrived we were showed to our room which was initially disappointing. It did have a parital sea view but the garden view was not what I would call a garden. It was overlooking some very untidy lemon groves. The road was also very close by and you could hear traffic constantly. The other disappointing factor was the restaurant was above this room (room number 66) so during our first night we hardly slept a wink between the traffic noise and the noise from the restuarant. Finally the heating is not indpendent in the main hotel and was still on so it was scoarching hot which meant we had to have the window open which compounded the noise.

The next morning I spoke to the concierge Genaro and explained the situation. He could not be more helpful. He upgraded the room to a full sea view room suite (room 74) for the duration of our stay and that completely changed the holiday for us.

The view was spectacular - the room was exquisite and extremely tranquil. We only had birdsong to interrupt our sleep.

The only very small negative to this room was that the bed was clearly 2 beds that had been pushed as one which meant that there was a bit of a crack in the middle. HOwever, I think I am being extremely picky on that front.

I would say that if you are intending on staying at this hotel then it's probably worth booking a more expensive room if you can, as the cheaper rooms don't really compare and to be honest had we stayed in the initial room we were given it would have altered our experience altogether.

That said, if we had paid the rack rate for the larger room which I think was to the tune of 550Euro -650 EUros a night then we would have felt hard done by.

This is a problem with hotels in the region I feel, they do not represent very good value for money. Although the views and the service were spectuacular and if you were staying in the region it is by far and away the best hotel there. To qualify this statement we did a rekke of Hotel Caruso/Il San Pietro/La Sireunse etc and hands down Santa Caterina won. For our initial rate of 297 Euros a night I think we were expecting a more luxurious experience. We are well seasoned travellers and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and the room we were initially given does not tally up with the rate that we paid.

That said, we were extremaly happy and satisfied with the service we received from this hotel and I would not heistate to recommend it. Breakfast was a real treat too!
All the other staff were extremely friendly and obliging. All the front of house staff were truly experts in providing excellent customer services. There was a conference in the hotel for a couple of days which meant that the business centre was out of use. My husband needed to check his work e-amil and we hadn't bought our laptop with us, and the lady on reception offered us her own personal laptop just as another example of the sort of kind and out of their way gestures that staff are willing to offer.

The gym although small has the most spectacular view of the ocean. The pool is a sea water pool. Its a on the small size and doesn't get any sun from abotu 4.00 pm but the deck is right on the ocean and which makes sunbathing a unique experience.

If you are transferring from Naples airport it is possible to get cheaper fares. We paid 90 Euros in the end and they are readily available online. Giovanni [-] ask for his driver Michael who was just the most delightful person you wil ever meet. He gives you a tour of the Naples bay area while you are in the car. Utterly charming.

Overall I would give this hotel a 4/5 rating. I deducted a point really for the value for money bit otherwise it really is the best hotel in the region.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: rooms 66-69 are a no no 74 is lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were on a two weeks vacation in Italy driving through tourist destinations from Sicily to Rome ,and we have no doubt Santa Caterina in Amalfi is the best hotel we have stayed in out of some 9 hotels on our trip. Excellent personal service in all areas,excellent facilities.Just read reviews of guests who were there. A must stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview,and early bird special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I just spent three nights at this fantastic hotel by the sea. We had a junior suite, which was gorgeous: enormous with a nice sofa on one side and coffee table, huge bathroom, huge terrace with chairs, table, lounge chairs, ... can you ask for more? In Amalfi I'd not choose any other hotel, especially for the sea access and the nice restaurant Al Mare, where we had our Easter lunch - pizza included!!! We also had the chance to have two treatments at the small Spa, where you can find nice staff and lots of treatments available. The shuttle service to Amalfi every half hour is very useful, even if the village is so close, but the road is full of traffic and Italian drivers are sometimer really crazy!!! Franco, the concierge, is great and full of advice for his guest as well as any other member of the bar, restaurant, pool and beach staff.
One very small negative point: the food was good, but not excellent. Every dish we tasted was well prepared and nicely presented and portions were big, but I think that this level of hotels can offer a better food quality - see Palazzo Sasso or San Pietro. Do not hesitate to choose this hotel for your next trip to Amalfi.

Room Tip: Book a room with full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful and the views are fantastic. The room we had was large and very comfortable. The pool area is dramatic. The service is top-notch no matter what your needs are. The hotel restaurant is very good but a little expensive. You cannot beat the service that you will receive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I were married in the hotel gardens with the ocean in the back ground. We did not have to lift a finger while we were there. The staff was wonderful and the building and grounds were marvelous. There is so much to do and see in the nearby towns too. I wish we could have stayed much longer and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: book an ocean view room and stay awhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.