We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Perfect in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I traveled to the Amalfi coast in December for a holiday, and we definitely made the right decision in staying at the Hotel Luna Convento. Our room was superior - two terraces, one that looked upon the village of Amalfi - all views of the sea from every window. The service was superb, as was the food. The staff were absolutely awesome!!! Everything about the hotel was wonderful, and we were even able to tour the property that remarkably dates back to the 13th century. Few resort venues combine such rich cultural history, pristine geography, and breathtaking topography as does the Luna Convento. If you are looking for something different yet up-scale, you should strongly consider this unique hotel. We are planning our next return visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    106
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
209
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The quaint Hotel Luna Convento was the ideal location for our Amalfi Coast holiday. It is situated on a bluff overlooking the sea, and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. Our room (#31) as very spacious and clean, and the colorful tile in the bathroom added lots of character to the white-washed walls of the bedroom.

We arrived by SITA bus after our first leg of travel by train from Rome to Salerno. We didn't know there was a bus stop at the hotel entrance, and even if we had known, we may not have signaled the driver in time to stop. So, we had to walk back up the hill from the central bus stop with our luggage a hundred yards or so on the extremely narrow seaside street---not a huge problem for us. It was very convenient to catch the SITA to/from Positano and Ravello once we had a bus schedule.

The desk manager helped us register for a guided tour of Pompeii, and the next morning a chartered bus picked us up at the hotel entrance and dropped us off at the same spot that evening. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept us on path for an efficient walk through the highlights of the expansive ruins.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and offered a nice variety of fruits, meats, and pastries, but the best part was the view of the sunlight dancing on the Tyrrhenian Sea . We did not have dinner at the restaurant nor did we see anyone in the cozy bar lounge, but there were drinks served in the afternoon in the cloister courtyard.

The only downside was the street noise-- "beep beep" from the buses, cars, and motorcycles approaching the sharp curve that followed the line of the cliff. However, I would still recommend Luna Convento over any hotel in the Amalfi center. There would be less "beep beep", but more foot traffic and the buzz of tourists.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Luna Convento, and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We went to Hotel Luna out of season so it was pretty quiet and lifeless in the lounge and restaurant but the location is excellent. Views are outstanding even from the cheapest room - we had 3 windows looking straight out onto the tower and the sea, with Amalfi laid out to the right. Room & bathroom were spacious and really attractive. Breakfast was good - a wide ranging buffet.
This isn't a hotel setting out to be the best on service. Requests at reception were met with perfunctory responses, and no real attempt to go beyond the very specific request or to *offer* help or advice, or to be particularly welcoming or warm. There seemed to be staff endlessly sweeping odd bits of corridor - yet no-one around when we wanted a drink in the bar.
To note: the photos of the swimming pool are pretty cleverly taken! It's small, not much seating around it and down a load of steps opposite the main entrance. We went late October, so it was too chilly and windy to sit down there - might be nicely refreshing in full summer of course.
Agree with the previous reviewer - it's a nice place which is definitely not at its best in late season (in fact Amalfi as a whole pretty much shut down on November 1st, and it was cold and stormy too - go in summer!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. This hotel is delightful, we were charmed by everything from our room (what a view!) to the wonderful courtyard which is perfect for a pre-dinner Prosecco or a morning coffee. Even the bathroom had an amazing view. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were very attentive. Other reviews have mentioned the road but we didn't find it a problem. Wherever you stay in Amalfi you have to deal with the roads. The location of this hotel is perfect, a short enjoyable walk (10 minutes maximum at a slow pace) and the views are amazing. We visited a few other hotels during our visit and we agreed that none of them had the charm or the personal touch of the Luna Convento. You're missing a treat if you don't go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Gorgeous hotel, but in October they do that annoying thing of still receiving guests while closing down the hotel in stages around you. Positives: all the architectural beauty and mood you'd expect from a converted convent, but without the austerity or the attitude. Good facilities, good breakfast, gorgeous cloisters, no ghosts. Negatives: laundry service down. Bar closed, 'because we have no bartender' (as in, the bar is closed because the bar is closed). Overall: great place to stay, in season.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs, fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The hotel staff had an attitude. We had to greet them in the morning with a half hearted response in the dining room. The room was musty smelling with one window that had a view but lots of traffic below. The bathroom was very dated and dirty.

The location is very dangerous, noisy with no safe way to get into town. I really felt scared for my life every time we left the hotel to cross over to get into town.

Amalfi is very pretty but I suggest you stay in Positano. I would have never chosen this hotel if I was making the travel arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had the standard room which was full of charm and had a spectacular view overlooking the private terrace & pool. The breakfast offered had a great selection of food and you dined overlooking an unbeatable view of the coast. The bathrooms were spacious and accommodating as well as the bed for comfort. We were so impressed with this hotel as part of our first impression we cannot wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.