We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views; not so hot on the welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location and views; not so hot on the welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We went to Hotel Luna out of season so it was pretty quiet and lifeless in the lounge and restaurant but the location is excellent. Views are outstanding even from the cheapest room - we had 3 windows looking straight out onto the tower and the sea, with Amalfi laid out to the right. Room & bathroom were spacious and really attractive. Breakfast was good - a wide ranging buffet.
This isn't a hotel setting out to be the best on service. Requests at reception were met with perfunctory responses, and no real attempt to go beyond the very specific request or to *offer* help or advice, or to be particularly welcoming or warm. There seemed to be staff endlessly sweeping odd bits of corridor - yet no-one around when we wanted a drink in the bar.
To note: the photos of the swimming pool are pretty cleverly taken! It's small, not much seating around it and down a load of steps opposite the main entrance. We went late October, so it was too chilly and windy to sit down there - might be nicely refreshing in full summer of course.
Agree with the previous reviewer - it's a nice place which is definitely not at its best in late season (in fact Amalfi as a whole pretty much shut down on November 1st, and it was cold and stormy too - go in summer!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    124
    39
    20
    14
See reviews for
64
253
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. This hotel is delightful, we were charmed by everything from our room (what a view!) to the wonderful courtyard which is perfect for a pre-dinner Prosecco or a morning coffee. Even the bathroom had an amazing view. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were very attentive. Other reviews have mentioned the road but we didn't find it a problem. Wherever you stay in Amalfi you have to deal with the roads. The location of this hotel is perfect, a short enjoyable walk (10 minutes maximum at a slow pace) and the views are amazing. We visited a few other hotels during our visit and we agreed that none of them had the charm or the personal touch of the Luna Convento. You're missing a treat if you don't go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Gorgeous hotel, but in October they do that annoying thing of still receiving guests while closing down the hotel in stages around you. Positives: all the architectural beauty and mood you'd expect from a converted convent, but without the austerity or the attitude. Good facilities, good breakfast, gorgeous cloisters, no ghosts. Negatives: laundry service down. Bar closed, 'because we have no bartender' (as in, the bar is closed because the bar is closed). Overall: great place to stay, in season.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The hotel staff had an attitude. We had to greet them in the morning with a half hearted response in the dining room. The room was musty smelling with one window that had a view but lots of traffic below. The bathroom was very dated and dirty.

The location is very dangerous, noisy with no safe way to get into town. I really felt scared for my life every time we left the hotel to cross over to get into town.

Amalfi is very pretty but I suggest you stay in Positano. I would have never chosen this hotel if I was making the travel arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had the standard room which was full of charm and had a spectacular view overlooking the private terrace & pool. The breakfast offered had a great selection of food and you dined overlooking an unbeatable view of the coast. The bathrooms were spacious and accommodating as well as the bed for comfort. We were so impressed with this hotel as part of our first impression we cannot wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Wonderfully helpful staff (esp. Pepe the life guard). The pool was stunning, the courtyard was quaint, and the rooms were distinctive. Would completely return to both the town and Luna Convento.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for one week in Room 1 which was tiny but had a beautiful balcony overlooking the coast towards Maiori. The bathroom was unusually tiled but the fittings seemed new. Breakfast was served on terrace overlooking Amalfi, food choices good but not enough variety for 7 days and the OJ could be improved. Only had one evening meal at the hotel but it was disappointing. However, this is a very pretty hotel with lots of nooks and crankies, twists and turns, corridors and stairs, a delightful place. Pool area lovely if a little cramped on busy days but well looked after by S Peppe. A few minutes walk along the road to the town with lots of restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#21 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.