We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon and instantly loved its charm and history. We had our room upgraded to a suite and had an amazing balcony. The views stunning. We looked forward to having a glass of cool wine in the cloisters before dinner every day and enjoyed the meal whilst watching the sun set behind the mountains.
Great location for exploring the coast. The hotel is located on a main coastal road.
Downside? Well the sudden thunderstorm that interupted our breakfast on the balcony! But hey, it was in the middle of the summer!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercupsanddaisys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kendal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I was lucky enough to be taken to the Luna Convento for my 30th birthday. Everything was perfect. My husband had requested a sea view room and we could lie in bed in the morning, staring out into the blue...breakfast was spot on, really fresh fruits, pastries, breads, meats and freshly cooked eggs. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was better than anywhere else on the coast that we had eaten, beautiful freshly caught seafood, prawns, mussels, clams, fantastic pasta, fresh fish and beautiful meats. As it was a birthday trip the hotel had put a bottle of prosecco in our room which was a nice surprise. The lovely waiters Gigi and Francesco made sure that all our needs were catered for. The decor was exactly what I was looking for, something a little different to all the boring chain hotels! As an old convent there are plenty of narrow, winding corridors and some gorgeous old artefacts dotted around to distract you from the amazing view! The hotel is centred around a courtyard complete with well and lemon trees. The scent of honeysuckle as we had evening drinks was one I won't forget in a hurry. As we visited early in the season the hotel was very quiet which might be off putting for some people, but we were happy to relax without making polite conversation. The hotel is a very short walk down a small hill into Amalfi town and is just a bus ride from positano and a ferry ride to Capri. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbandRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Fantastic view of the see and Amalfi from the terrace. Very kind staff working in a marvelous architecture with exciting little details and remains of the old convent. Highly recommended for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirellaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My husband and i recently stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon, and it is truly amazing.

There are too many things to mention, but here are a few:
The service was fantastic, we were never bothered by the cleaners knocking on our door like in other hotels, they always came when we were out. The reception staff were very friendly, but our favourite was Giovanni, the head waiter, he was so very helpful, nothing was a bother, and the food was always 5 star. My favourite part of the hotel is the courtyard, where we sat enjoying the peace and quiet every evening with a glass or two of Proseco, we also spent a lot of time chatting to the little turtles who live in the well!
The pool is also worth a visit, even though it is across a main road and down some steep steps, it is worth it once you get there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loops79blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in late October 2009, having never been to Amalfi before. From the outside, the hotel looked a little tired but the interior was clean and very well maintained. Every room has a sea view and there was a peaceful, cloistered courtyard area, which would be a suntrap in summer. The swimming pool was closed and there was a slight 'end of season' feel to the hotel but the staff were very obliging and ready to help. We stayed half-board and, overall, the meals and range of menus were more than adequate. The hotel was 5 minutes walk (down a quite busy road) to Amalfi, which we found to be an ideal centre for transport links. Having tossed up between Amalfi and Sorrento, we're glad we chose the former. One tip - beware the coach tours to Pompeii and elsewhere. We took one to Pompeii / Vesuvius. After only 2 hours in Pompeii, we had to depart to the guide's favoured restaurant and then a Cameo workshops (not mentioned in the preamble), prior to Vesuvius (where hypothermia started to set in).
In conclusion, would we go again to Amalfi and this hotel - yes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We first holidayed at the Hotel Luna in the Summer of 2004 when our daughter was 9 and we have returned every Summer since to play homage to this lovely hotel and it's fabulous staff. We now feel that we are treated as family and the staff are always genuinely pleased that we have returned. What makes this hotel so special is the family run establishment with a stable staff who treat their work as an honour. The location of the hotel is hard to beat with those mesmerizing Amalfi views from every balcony. The dinner view as Amalfi lights up is truly magical. We always go for the half board as the food and service is always varied and immaculate. Peppe who looks after every visitor at the pool and can arrange just about any service to make your trip to the Amalfi coast special, is priceless. Our daughter swam in the Blue Grotto for her 14th birthday- very special.
Of course this is a 12th century establishment, so tourists expecting pristine paint jobs and no character should stay away with their eagle eyes for being picky. So what if the air conditioner goes off when you walk on to the balcony, or there's a bit off stucco coming off the bell tower, the ambience of this ex convent stays in your heart long after you leave. The rooms, the staff and the location all have character and isn't that just brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

If u stay in Amalfi, it is worth going there: great situation, with a great view. The old building is charming, the rooms have a wonderful view, the swimming pool and the private beach are amazing. A real pleasure, not really expensive ( 200 euros, if u pay cash)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing