We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Delft
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Unique hotel since it is located at an old convent. Location is excellent, only 5 minutes walking to Amalfi. Rooms are very nice, clean and have excellent view over the sea. Very nice and helpful staff.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    95
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
50
182
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My family and I took two rooms in late November as part of our visit to see our youngest, who is studying in Rome. We got a good rate for two rooms (Euro 480) which included a (fair, not great) continental breakfast. The views, ocean sounds, and location to the village of Amalfi are all superb. The room were clean and fresh, and the service quite good. The hotel restaurant was closed as was the facility across the road (which includes a bar, steps down to the water and a pool), and at first we were disappointed in that. But there were wonderful restaurants open in Amalfi (Lido Azzura, and Da Gemma, to name two) and it was pleasant to stroll the town without being swamped by tourists. N.B. there is some traffic noise in the morning, since the hotel sits at the apex of a point, and the traffic must maneuver around tthe sharp curve on a narrow road, so there are sounds of engines and horns, but the sounds of the ocean waves crashing against the bluffs directly under our windows throughout the night in my mind more than compensated. We took the train to Salerno and negotiated with a cabbie at the train station to take us to the hotel for the metered fare, which turned out to be about Euro 70 (which was far better than the transfer offered by the hotel at Euro 120). Going back we did the same thing with a local cabbie we liked, although the (supposedly) differing tariff rates caused the meter to read Euro 87 for the trip back to Salerno. Still better than the hotel's deal. Don't miss a trip to Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and if you're a walker there are paths galore up into the hills and to adjacent villages. Shop around for gelati cones; the prices varied from 1.50 to 3.50 on the same block. There is a wonderful pottery shop on the right of the main street. I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — off season closings, limited internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

What a fabulous hotel. Beautiful position in one of the most scenic areas of Italy, with excellent staff, great food and top service. After checking in we were astonished when shown to our room and finding it to be spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the town, the marina, the beach and of course the most fantastic view up the coast towards Positano. The bathroom had a fully opening window onto the balcony - you could step through if you wished - and (pardon me) sitting on the toilet gave you exactly the same view down the coastline. Wow !! Best toilet I have ever used. Our tariff included breakfast but when we checked in we were advised that it also included dinner. We dined in every night and loved the food. Breakfast was also great with a wide range from which to choose including eggs cooked to order. This was a memorable experience and one that we thoroughly recommend to anyone proposing a visit to the Amalfi Coast. Do not miss an opportunity to stay at this hotel.
.

  • Liked — Our room was great & the views were fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

Right on the coast - small swimming pool on other side of main road - could in theory swim in sea, but no beach just a jetty to climb down from, used sometimes by boats, so we didn't attempt.

Hotel itself is an old convent, with cloisters and an enclosed courtyard. Room above average, wifi available not in room (walls too thick I suspect) but ok in the cloisters area. Good restaurant.

  • Liked — location and public areas
  • Disliked — small pool a steep climb down
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Luna Convento in October 2007 for 4 nights while we were on our honeymoon. It is a beautiful building with a lot of character and history, but also modern, clean and in an excellent location. When you open the shutters, there is an absolutely beautiful view of the sea. It is a very short walk to the center of town. The staff were very helpful, and recommended a wonderful bus excursion to Ravello. Except when we asked a few times to see the chapel-it was always locked. The food was excellent. We have very fond memories of our stay in Amalfi at Luna Convento and would definately recommend a stay there to anyone!!!! It was a wonderful experience!!

  • Liked — location-beautiful sea views, short walk to town; delicious food; cultural/historical detail of hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel. The location and view are amazing. We mentioned it was our honeymoon and they were nice enough to upgrade our room. The view of the ocean was spectacular. Yes, the hotel could use some updating. But we found the overall hotel experience to be nice. Friendly staff. We booked directly and got a reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My wife and I had four very enjoyable days at the Luna Convento in Sept 2008. From the moment we arrived we found friendly and efficient staff, especially in the dining room. The food was so good that we ate in every evening, something that we normally would not do. The location was ideal, with wonderful views from our terrace and the dining room, and only a short walk into Amalfi. The pool was accessed across the road, and down a lot of steps.

But apart from that, we have nothing but praise for the Luna Convento. And the Amalfi coast is certainly one of the most beautiful areas we have visited (in all six continents!)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.