We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“December to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a trip that I never will forget. Amalfi Coast is a must see and this hotel was such a unique experience. The window opens up right to the see it looks like a movie setting! Clean and comfortable. A site to be seen most definitely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
175
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This may be the most unique property I've ever stayed at. It's hard to believe that an 800 year old building that clings to the Amalfi Coast can provide such wonderful accommodations. A central courtyard added some 'green' to the space. The public areas had some outstanding examples of inlaid woodwork. I was also fascinated with the gothic arched ceilings.

Our room was bright and pretty with a one of a kind painted ceiling, gorgeous tile flooring and a stunning view of the sea. We loved sleeping with the window open to hear the waves crashing. Heaven! The room was clean, up-to-date, the bed comfortable. The included breakfast was outstanding... and with the perfect view of Amalfi, it was nothing short of stunning! The only downside: WiFi only available in the public areas and a bit slow. Overall, Hotel Luna gets an enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

3 nights in this beautiful hotel; the setting is incredible, perched on the edge of the main road up from Amalfi. It's an iconic building; as befits a property of this stature, the service is a touch formal and the hotel really has a fantastic authenticity about it. Beautiful public areas, great balcony view from the restaurant down to Amalfi. The staff were extremely helpful, and made some excellent recommendations for dining - Da Gemma, Copa D'Orso and La Taverna Dei Briganti. Room 24 is excellent, split on 2 levels, with a stunning terrace looking down across the sea on both sides of the bay and down onto the town. It's also huge. Chauffeur parking is a plus. And while the pool looks beautiful from a distance, it's clearly seen better days. Lack of wifi in the room is a bit limiting; but overall a stunning location. Take it for what it is, and you'll be thrilled.

Room Tip: Room 24 is worth taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a 3 night stay at the Luna Convento for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful and Charming hotel. It has wonderful views, a beautiful courtyard and the staff was very nice. If there was any drawback, it was the room we received upon check-in. Room 41 (and 42 will have the same problem) is located directly under the dining room, and at 6am when the staff starts setting up for breakfast, the dragging of tables on the floor makes a lot of noise and woke us up. If you are staying for more than one night, I would suggest avoiding these rooms. If you are staying for a single night, chances are you'll be up early and the noise probably won't be an issue. The good news is, the rooms both have fantastic views from their balconies. When I approached the staff with my issue, they were very gracious and moved our bags for us while we were out enjoying the sights of Amalfi. A stay at the Hotel Luna will not be disappointing

Room Tip: see comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Especially if you are driving this hotel is fantastic. Just leave your car in the small pull in access, get the lift to the reception (in a wonderful cloister) and hand over the key. The parking costs (€20 per day) but given how scary the roads are, having someone park (when there is no free parking), bring your car round when you need it and deal with your bags after a long day is worth it.The hotel is very well kept, the rooms have an amazing sea and coastal view (as does the breakfast balcony). The most wonderul thing for us was the private access to the sea across the road. Forget having a pool (although there is one), taking a ladder into the Med at 8.30 before a varied and tasty breakfast was priceless. The staff were also all dedicated to providing us with any information we might need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimmhk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

just stayed here on a walking holiday...the Luna Conventa has lovely staff, a good breakfast buffet but its location on the busy road is a little noisy, and there is a dangerous walk to either the tunnel that takes you to the town or the road that goes down there...the room I stayed in was comfortable but bare...the Ibsen suite it was called and some of the furniture isa little worn, and the bathroom could be better...overall though , its a four out of five.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel delivers on all fronts. From the amazing location, to the oceanview rooms and the amazing breakfast, it has everything a couple could ask for and more.

We got engaged here in August 2012. I booked this trip and had e-mailed the hotel in advance to advise them I was going to propose while there. They upgraded our room for free to a superior ocean-view room. The room had amazing ocean-views and you could see the city of Amalfi from the balcony.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety for every taste. Had both warm and cold foods. The balcony of the restaurant is perched over the ocean and also delivers an amazing view.

Rooms are basic and clean, typical Italian style. No complaints. Internet only available in the courtyard was a downside.

The courtyard is beautiful to hang out in before going out into town or to check your e-mail!

The pool is just a few steps down from the hotel and overlooks the ocean with access to the ocean also if you prefer to swim in the ocean. Both excellent choices!

The hotel is right off the main street. We took the bus in from Milan which was challenging but an adventure. We asked the driver several times to let us off at the hotel, but the language barrier was too big! We got out twice a t the wrong spot but in the end found it!

We rented a motorboat for the day for 50 euros (+ gas which was close to 50 EUR also), probably the best thing we did all week! We drove the boat all over the coastline, stopping in several places and swimming in some small coves! Highly recommended, esp since neither of us had driven a boat before (it's easy!)

Don't hesitate to book!!! THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL IN AMALFI!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.