We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Beautiful and a WOW location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Detroit Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic, Beautiful and a WOW location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This may be the most unique property I've ever stayed at. It's hard to believe that an 800 year old building that clings to the Amalfi Coast can provide such wonderful accommodations. A central courtyard added some 'green' to the space. The public areas had some outstanding examples of inlaid woodwork. I was also fascinated with the gothic arched ceilings.

Our room was bright and pretty with a one of a kind painted ceiling, gorgeous tile flooring and a stunning view of the sea. We loved sleeping with the window open to hear the waves crashing. Heaven! The room was clean, up-to-date, the bed comfortable. The included breakfast was outstanding... and with the perfect view of Amalfi, it was nothing short of stunning! The only downside: WiFi only available in the public areas and a bit slow. Overall, Hotel Luna gets an enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    105
    32
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
203
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

3 nights in this beautiful hotel; the setting is incredible, perched on the edge of the main road up from Amalfi. It's an iconic building; as befits a property of this stature, the service is a touch formal and the hotel really has a fantastic authenticity about it. Beautiful public areas, great balcony view from the restaurant down to Amalfi. The staff were extremely helpful, and made some excellent recommendations for dining - Da Gemma, Copa D'Orso and La Taverna Dei Briganti. Room 24 is excellent, split on 2 levels, with a stunning terrace looking down across the sea on both sides of the bay and down onto the town. It's also huge. Chauffeur parking is a plus. And while the pool looks beautiful from a distance, it's clearly seen better days. Lack of wifi in the room is a bit limiting; but overall a stunning location. Take it for what it is, and you'll be thrilled.

Room Tip: Room 24 is worth taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a 3 night stay at the Luna Convento for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful and Charming hotel. It has wonderful views, a beautiful courtyard and the staff was very nice. If there was any drawback, it was the room we received upon check-in. Room 41 (and 42 will have the same problem) is located directly under the dining room, and at 6am when the staff starts setting up for breakfast, the dragging of tables on the floor makes a lot of noise and woke us up. If you are staying for more than one night, I would suggest avoiding these rooms. If you are staying for a single night, chances are you'll be up early and the noise probably won't be an issue. The good news is, the rooms both have fantastic views from their balconies. When I approached the staff with my issue, they were very gracious and moved our bags for us while we were out enjoying the sights of Amalfi. A stay at the Hotel Luna will not be disappointing

Room Tip: see comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Especially if you are driving this hotel is fantastic. Just leave your car in the small pull in access, get the lift to the reception (in a wonderful cloister) and hand over the key. The parking costs (€20 per day) but given how scary the roads are, having someone park (when there is no free parking), bring your car round when you need it and deal with your bags after a long day is worth it.The hotel is very well kept, the rooms have an amazing sea and coastal view (as does the breakfast balcony). The most wonderul thing for us was the private access to the sea across the road. Forget having a pool (although there is one), taking a ladder into the Med at 8.30 before a varied and tasty breakfast was priceless. The staff were also all dedicated to providing us with any information we might need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimmhk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

just stayed here on a walking holiday...the Luna Conventa has lovely staff, a good breakfast buffet but its location on the busy road is a little noisy, and there is a dangerous walk to either the tunnel that takes you to the town or the road that goes down there...the room I stayed in was comfortable but bare...the Ibsen suite it was called and some of the furniture isa little worn, and the bathroom could be better...overall though , its a four out of five.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel delivers on all fronts. From the amazing location, to the oceanview rooms and the amazing breakfast, it has everything a couple could ask for and more.

We got engaged here in August 2012. I booked this trip and had e-mailed the hotel in advance to advise them I was going to propose while there. They upgraded our room for free to a superior ocean-view room. The room had amazing ocean-views and you could see the city of Amalfi from the balcony.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety for every taste. Had both warm and cold foods. The balcony of the restaurant is perched over the ocean and also delivers an amazing view.

Rooms are basic and clean, typical Italian style. No complaints. Internet only available in the courtyard was a downside.

The courtyard is beautiful to hang out in before going out into town or to check your e-mail!

The pool is just a few steps down from the hotel and overlooks the ocean with access to the ocean also if you prefer to swim in the ocean. Both excellent choices!

The hotel is right off the main street. We took the bus in from Milan which was challenging but an adventure. We asked the driver several times to let us off at the hotel, but the language barrier was too big! We got out twice a t the wrong spot but in the end found it!

We rented a motorboat for the day for 50 euros (+ gas which was close to 50 EUR also), probably the best thing we did all week! We drove the boat all over the coastline, stopping in several places and swimming in some small coves! Highly recommended, esp since neither of us had driven a boat before (it's easy!)

Don't hesitate to book!!! THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL IN AMALFI!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in Rome and Amalfi this year. Our tour operator, Perillo Tours, arranged for us to stay at this former convent for 4 nights in early October 2013. I read and absorbed almost every posted trip advisor review before our arrival. We were both excited to be staying at the Luna Convento. This is a very small 40+ room hotel as close to the ocean edge you can get. The hotel entrance is a very small non descript door and small hallway leading to two small elevators taking you to the 2nd floor reception desk, restaurant and courtyard (cloister). We were warmly greeted by Aldo who, because we were part of a 30 person tour group, asked us to make ourselves comfortable in the cloister while waiting for the entire group to assemble. Once all assembled, our keys were passed out and we were each escorted to our rooms.
About the rooms. Due to the construction originally as a convent in the 12th century and converted to a hotel in 1920's, the hotel does not resemble your normal boring square box we are all used to. The rooms all face the ocean with the most breath taking view of the town of Amalfi to the west and the Amalfi coast to the east where you will see Ravello and Salerno. You will read in other reviews about rooms that amazed and rooms that were probably used to send bad nuns to be punished. We only heard of one couple who were not happy with their room. I, on the other hand, wanted to make sure we had a balcony room to enjoy sitting and taking in the view. I tried to make sure our room had a balcony by attempting to upgrade through Perillo but they said that they pay a flat discounted rate only for standard rooms. If I wanted to upgrade, I should speak directly with the hotel staff upon arrival. Instead, I sent a short email to the hotel asking if it was possible to pay additional money to guarantee a room with a balcony. I didn't expect a reply but was pleasantly surprised by a response from Aldo the next day. In the email, he explained that it would not be possible to upgrade since the hotel was booked full for the week. He did assure me that they would make every effort to accomodate us with a desirable room. I was appreciative of the reply and hoped for the best.
The best is what we received. We were booked into room 39. My wife and I have traveled extensively for the past 30 years and have stayed in some impressive rooms and have rented beautiful houses and condos but this room was by far the most awsome room in the hotel. Not only did we get our balcony but also 2 terraces, one on the first level and another on the second level. Each were tiled with hand painted blue tiles overlooking the Amalfi coast with a 240 degree panorama view. The downstairs terrace that could accomodate at least 30 people had a simple table and chairs but the upstairs terrace had two comfortable padded chairs in a small room attached and looking out to the outside portion seperated by a motorized storm screen and huge sliding glass door. There we found two lounge chairs. Our bedroom had two levels with jacuzzi bath/shower, desk and chair which sat next to a floor to ceiling double door window. It simply was amazing. We almost felt embarrased at our good fortune vs. the other rooms our tour group got but we got over that quickly.
I also read about the questionable air conditioning systems at the hotel. I believe every room had its own electric non window air conditioning system that kept our room very cool. I did not hear of any complaints from others in our group. Only one couple complained about their room and were quickly escorted to another room.
The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet each morning. It has a huge variety of fruits, breads, meats, cheeses and cereals that should meet everyones morning needs as well as some of the best espresso you can find anywhere. The restaurant in the hotel where it is served has an expansive open view of Amalfi one could not put a price on. The staff was always attentive and cheerful.
They have a small bar off of the restaurant with a very comfortable sitting area or you could take your drinks out to the open cloister/courtyard. Once again, I can not say enough about every staff member from the bellhops, desk clerks, restauant staff and cleaning staff. Everyone goes out of their way to greet you in the traditional Italian greetings.
There is a restaurant across the road in the tower. Six of us decided to try the restaurant since we had been touring Positano and Sorrento all day and did not want to venture into Amalfi. I was looking forward to a nice dinner with friends. The food was delicious but it appeared that the service was less than excellent. There were not more than 12 people in the room which, by the way, was a beautiful open space also with the most awsome view of the coast. As I said, the staff was out of sorts that night. I will not go into detail but the delivery did not match the quality of the food or venue.
40 steps or so below the restaurant is the hotel pool. We did not visit until just before sunset one night but it looked inviting with a very small private beach area and stone platform to enter and exit the ocean. I am sure it would have been great to use but it was starting to get cooler that time of year. From the clarity of the water, snorkelers would be wise to take their gear with them.
On the second last night of our stay, we decided to invite some people to our terrace for wine. I purchased a couple of bottles of the local wine from the bar downstairs and they were happy to deliver them along with glasses and snacks to our room. It was wonderful sitting there, drinking wine and watching the sun go down in the west. After an hour we all decided to go into Amalfi and try one of the suggested local restaurants. Upon leaving, my wife slipped on the corner of the bed spread touching the laminated portion of the floor, falling backward and hitting the corner of the entrance to the bathroom. The front desk was informed that my wife had injured herself and that we needed to go to an emergency room for an xray. By the time we arrived, a bellhop and car were waiting for us to take us to the emergent care facilitiy just a mile east of the hotel. He waited for us while she was xrayed and found to have a broken humerus. Upon our return, we were informed that a car and driver/interpretor would be at our service the next morning to take us to the hospital outside Salerno. Once we got to our room, the night manager called and said, despite the restaurant being closed, would we like some food and beverages sent up on the hotel since we missed our dinner. The desk then helped us contact Perillo tours and Travel Guard via phone as well as offer up their fax so we could get the proper insurance paperwork for our visit to the hospital the next day.
The next morning we found a late model Mercedes driven by Christiane who turned out to be the brother of the night clerk waiting for us at the hotel entrance.He turned out to be worth his weight in gold. He stayed with us every minute of the 5 hour process interpreting for us all the way. My wife held it together until we parted as she hugged him goodbye. That night we also recieved room service on the hotel and rested as comfortably as possible until we had to leave for the airport.
I included this story because under normal circumstances a good hotel should be able to accomodate your normal needs. It is when something goes wrong that a truly good hotel and staff rises to the occasion and goes out of their way to make the situation as pleasant as possible. This hotel and all of their staff earned an A+. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, food, and most of all its accomodating and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.