We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at this magnificent hotel last September on my honeymoon, from the moment we arrived our expectations were exceeded. Restaurant awesome with amazing views and food. Private beach and pool (although across the busy road) were fantastic and well worth the dangerous activity of crossing the main road. Would strongly recommend this hotel and hopefully will get back to visit some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    92
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
46
171
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we had a short 3 night 4 day stay here and enjoyed the hotel immensely. The rooms were spacious, elegant yet simple and airy, the reception and bar staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The views from the breakfast terrace were spectacular,,,, the winner had to be the cloister for morning coffee afternoon cup of tea for evening drinks, a more relaxing a peaceful spot I can not think of anyway, an absolute joy. Only minutes away from the cathedral and the beach and the noise and bustle but yet so peaceful and calm. a delightful break

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The night we stayed at the Luna Convento, it had been decided, for reasons that remained unclear, to suspend the normal menu and serve a buffet dinner. Nobody, neither guests nor staff, seemed to have any idea what was happening, or what to expect next. People would decide that, as nothing had come to the table, and as the sideboards were crammed with delicious desserts, the copious antipasti were all we were likely to be getting, and so they would start to help themselves. But in fact delicious things were brought to the table, although nobody could tell us what was coming next. So, at intervals, we enjoyed excellent pasta with herbs, and exquisite fried fish, and then..... all those wonderful desserts. It was a splendid meal, but quite chaotic.

Still beautiful, and standing haughtily apart from the common hurly burly of Amalfi, the Luna Convento dreams of her golden past. So far as the present is concerned, there are signs of weariness and of an unwillingness to make too much of an effort. The restaurant and bar staff are all courteous, efficient and friendly - it was not their fault that the dinner was such a mystery - but reception, management and the accommodation in general all need a bit of an overhaul if this lovely hotel is to be anything more than a one night stop for coach tours.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent six nights at the Hotel Luna Convention, this historic old convent has been very sympathetically made into the most lovely hotel. The view from our room was stunning, looking out across the bay and down to the town of Amalfi. When I say room, we had a large bedroom with a huge en suite bathroom and a sitting room annex. The rooms had curved ceilings with beautiful frescos on them. The restaurant was excellent and provided a really good buffet breakfast and had a good dinner menu. We tended to eat our at night, as we enjoyed trying out the many interesting restaurants in and around the town. The Luna Convento also has a second restaurant across the road on the cliff top at which we had dinner a couple of times and this was also excellent. The hotel is situated perfectly for local walks and is a short bus ride from the hilltop town of Ravello which is magnificent and has many historic places to visit, one of the most interesting being The Villa Cimbrone, which has an interesting history and is breathtaking. It was a favourite place of Greta Garbot, who stayed there several times in the 1930's with her then-lover, the conductor Leopold Stokowski. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Luna Convento and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent accomodation in an historic setting. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room looking across the bay, the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a seasoned traveller and we really could not fault it. A beautiful old convent overlooking Amalfi and looking out over the Med. Our balcony room was perfect for two, plenty of room and very clean.
The restaurant did a great job of making my wife and i have a great time celebrating her birthday, low key but great.
just a short stroll down the hill, taking your life in your hands with the traffic on a VERY narrow road, into Amalfi or wander back the other way into tiny little Atrani for the best meal in a carpark you will ever have.
A big thank you to Mauritzio, the barman for his friendship and willingness to tell us all about the local area and local people, you made amemorable stay fantastic.
M&K Australia

Room Tip: get one of the front balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is really special, I have been staying there every year for the past 20 years. Always charming staff and attention to detail. The views are amazing and dining on the terrace is something else. The pool is lovely and the saracen tower a lovely place to dine in. Rooms are authentic with ceramic tiles made in near by Vietri.

Siting in the courtyard sipping a G and T is fantastic in the balmy evening surrounded by
kumquat and lemon trees.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Only a few minutes walk to the lovely town of Amalfi, excellent position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Luna Convento for 2 nights. The hotel is neat and tidy, with a great Italian ambient feel. We were upgraded and our room was on the top floor, with views from both sides of the room. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is only a 5min walk from the main Amalfi area, 30min bus ride to Ravello. If you catch the bus from Solerno train station, they will drop you at the front of the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful. Wifi only available in the Lounge/Bar area. Full buffet breakfast provided, with a great variety of food. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.