We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine views and charming rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sunshine views and charming rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The view from our room was wonderful. I checked it out very morning and evening.
This was a great choice for our short stay in Amalfi. The rooms are extremely lovely and the Hotel charming. Service was warm, helpful and friendly without ever being too much.The courtyard was my favourite slot for an early evening drink in the warm evening air. The breakfast was typical of an Italian Hotel with lovely coffee and a good choice from the buffet. The history of the hotel is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    107
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
213
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband & I got married in hotel luna Sept 2012. The ceremony was held in the beautiful on site chapel of this fabulous converted monastery with the reception held in tower saracena just a quick step across the road from the hotel. The whole day /stay was just beyond words from the genuine character of the hotel to the mouthwatering food & excellent service. The honeymoon suite atop the tower was indescribable with breathtaking views. We would highly recommend this hotel for those who want a magical experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I spent about a week at the Hotel Luna Convento earlier this month, using it as our home base for exploring the Amalfi Coast. We had a wonderful time there and were warmly, graciously and professionally hosted by the every member of the hotel's staff. We were upgraded to the "Ibsen room," a spacious room with large windows that open out to the Mediterranean; we left them open each night so we could hear the sea breaking against the rocks below. The accommodations were excellent, the breakfasts were expansive, and the staff was attentive. The hotel, a former monastery, has a lovely courtyard and a hidden chapel that dates back to the 12th century. We are grateful for our time at the Luna Convento, and recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as part of a trip with Ultimate Travel . The first night food was delicious and included as the main course a mushroom risotto . Rooms are of a reasonable size and all have a large balcony with a table and chairs with great view of the sea The hotel was a convent and has a central small garden area which was accessed via the old cloisters , thus the hotel has a number of interesting and quirky areas. Breakfast was good quality and included meats , cheeses ,fruit and cakes. WiFi restricted to the public areas. Do not advise a fly drive to this area as roads can be classed as "very interesting" The hotel is only a short walk from Amalfi city centre and in season , which starts in May has a outside swimming pool. Staff are friendly and all speak excellent English

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A former monastery, a fantastic view over the Amalfi coast and Capri, a long elevator from street level up to the hotel, fantastic menues. This hotel is really something else! But it costs, one of the most expensive places I ever visited (and it was off-season).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Luna Convento with our two young children, my sister and my parents, who are in their 70s. The staff at the hotel were consistently helpful, provided help with all kinds of details (booking cars for transport, restaurants, etc) and made us feel very welcome. They put all of us on the same floor so we could come and go freely, which the children made the best use of, and we had the right balance of service and comfort. The hotel overlooks the sea and the views are stunning. The food was remarkably good, from evening dinners with wine to an amazingly varied breakfast that satisfied everyone from me (mostly vegan) to my carnivorous husband. As evident from the name, Luna Convento has a long history as a convent and the hotel has modernised without losing the charm of the old architecture and layout of the convent. There is free wireless in the common areas and when it rained we enjoyed being in the hotel without feeling penned in. When the weather was better, we could walk into Amalfi or into neighboring towns. We are grateful to Marjorie Shaw from Insider's Italy for recommending this hotel and I would unhesitatingly recommend it. It was more expensive than I would normally pay for a hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the spirit and magic atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was amazing, just couple of steps far away from the central square. Enjoy the breathtaking view from your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.