We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A former monastery, a fantastic view over the Amalfi coast and Capri, a long elevator from street level up to the hotel, fantastic menues. This hotel is really something else! But it costs, one of the most expensive places I ever visited (and it was off-season).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    106
    32
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
206
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Luna Convento with our two young children, my sister and my parents, who are in their 70s. The staff at the hotel were consistently helpful, provided help with all kinds of details (booking cars for transport, restaurants, etc) and made us feel very welcome. They put all of us on the same floor so we could come and go freely, which the children made the best use of, and we had the right balance of service and comfort. The hotel overlooks the sea and the views are stunning. The food was remarkably good, from evening dinners with wine to an amazingly varied breakfast that satisfied everyone from me (mostly vegan) to my carnivorous husband. As evident from the name, Luna Convento has a long history as a convent and the hotel has modernised without losing the charm of the old architecture and layout of the convent. There is free wireless in the common areas and when it rained we enjoyed being in the hotel without feeling penned in. When the weather was better, we could walk into Amalfi or into neighboring towns. We are grateful to Marjorie Shaw from Insider's Italy for recommending this hotel and I would unhesitatingly recommend it. It was more expensive than I would normally pay for a hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the spirit and magic atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was amazing, just couple of steps far away from the central square. Enjoy the breathtaking view from your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I were recently married in Amalfi, Italy (September 2012) and choose to host our intimate wedding reception and cocktail hour at the Hotel Luna Convento. We had visited Amalfi 4 years prior and just fell in the love with the city and specifically that restaurant. We had to go back! The cocktail hour was hosted in the hotel's cloister and was absolutely breathtaking and magical. It was the perfect beginning to our fun evening. The food and service was amazing and it complemented the already beautiful scenery and historic building. We then moved across the street to the hotel's sarcena tower for dinner. It is an open-air venue with panoramic views of the ocean. Because Amalfi is tucked into a nook surrounded by mountains, you don't get a frontward view of the sunset but it is still a beautiful and romantic setting. The food and service was also perfect! We had about 30 people at the reception and everyone raved about the food and wine. The local wines paired perfectly with our menu and we felt very honored to be able to celebrate in such a beautiful place. We finished the evening with some dancing and the service never faltered -- a small task given our crazy American families!

I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding reception or any other celebration. We did not stay at the hotel but have heard it is amazing. I know dealing with the management with details of our wedding was a breeze so I'm sure the hotel accommodations are the same!

Visit Amalfi. It is a truly magical place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

How much can one ask for in life? Blue sky and the simmering water when the bright sun shine hits the water. I was not hot nor cold, it was just perfectly comfortable with that right mediterranean weather. All of that happen right in front of you when you open the window of your bedroom. I guarantee you will step ouf of that window, walk to the balcony where you can embrace more sun shine and heat in the middle of winter which was a big deal for a Canadian like me. That was my experience when I checked in to the hotel on Dec 30 2013.

The enjoyment did not end there. The next day, I had fun chatting with the friendly staff during breakfast. That evening, I had an unbelievably memorable new year's eve ever with the hotel.

By new year morning of 2013, the staff already know me and know how I like my coffee. If you have not stayed there, I think it's every penny that you pay for. amalfi is not the cheapest place to spend your vacations, but if you have made it there, make every moment

Room Tip: 3rd floor is nice, the highest you are, the farther you are from the busy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were overwhelmed by the friendly, helpful staff at this hotel. They made what was a good choice of place to stay in Amalfi into an exceptional holiday. Cannot praise the experience enough. Coaching in italian (camere vinte sete!) was a highlight of our trip! Many thanks to all, from Pepe at the pool to the great reception staff, the ladies who looked after our room and the ever vigilant porters who retrieved our car from the car park on so many occasions. This review has been a long time coming (August 2012) but is, I hope, worth the wait!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We planned our wedding to be a private event in Amalfi Italy. This is a small village on the cliffs of the Amalfi coast. The Luna is a converted 11th century Cloister or Convent. Our room was directly over the courtyard and was two floors with two separate very large private patios. The views were spectacular. Service was excellent. The only meals we ate at the hotel were breakfasts. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to experience the magic of Amalfi.

Room Tip: Ask for the room directly overlooking the courtyard. If you get it, you have the best room in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.