We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We felt blessed to be staying at such a wonderful property. It's an ancient convent with tons of history but the best part has to be the views and the location. Most (if not all) of the rooms and the restaurants have sweeping views of the Amalfi Coast. Absolutely breathtaking. The pool has the best views I've ever seen. The property is located within a couple minute walk to the town center, which is charming and welcoming. Breakfast (which is included) was very good. Lots to choose from. The staff (bartender Maurizio, front desk hostess Antonella, pool attendant Peppe, among others) were extremely efficient and friendly. We were very sad to leave the place but are looking forward to our return visit to this very special place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
175
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Luna Convento as part of a two centre holiday to Sorrento and Amalfi. The hotel has restful atmosphere centred around the beautiful cloister area where you can sit and enjoy a drink. There are stunning sea views from the restaurant and the rooms. Our room was unusual in that it was split level with a sitting area downstairs and bedroom upstairs. It was charming but I don't think best use was made of the space. The sitting area was not really very inviting - quite sparsely furnished and the bedroom area lacked any kind of dressing table/area or even a mirror which meant we had to share the bathroom to get ready. This was a superior room but I felt it lacked some comforts for a four star hotel. I didn't feel the extra cost over a standard room was justified. There were no bathrobes provided.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was delicious but the restaurant was quiet and finished early. The bar also closed early (although the obliging porter will get you a drink) but by 930-10pm there was no one in sight and the bar shut. We had a wonderful meal in the little tower restaurant opposite overlooking the sea where the lovely host Gaietano made us very welcome and stayed open late for after dinner drinks.
The pool area is across a busy road and you do have to be careful when crossing as the view is restricted. You climb down several stairs to a tiered pool and jetty area. It is a beautiful spot and you can use steps to drop into the sea for a swim too. It was windy and a little exposed on the day we visited. More exhilerating than relaxing.
The hotel arranged tickets for a concert in Ravello for us but I didn't feel they gave us very much information to enhance our stay. There were some photocopied maps available. There was no information pack about the hotel or Amalfi and the surrounding area.
In summary the Luna Convento is a beautiful hotel with a peaceful atmosphere. We felt it was good value for money and would stay again. With a little injection of comfort and service it could be truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Specify if you don't want stairs in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for a week in July 2010 and returned again in July 2011. The hotel is a five minute walk from the beautiful town of Amalfi itself, with pretty cobbled streets and enticing boutique shops. Once inside the hotel, you appreciate the true history and character of the building, particularly the Cloister which is a lovely place to sit with a glass of home-made lemonade and admire the architecture of the converted convent. Mario, the bartender, will mix any drink that you can imagine and entertain you at the same time. The rooms are not so special but attractive, clean and made up for by the sea view from every window in the hotel. Breakfasts were simply continental with a few hot options and served on the roof terrace restaurant, high up, overlooking the sea, stunning; what a way to start the day. Evening meals were of the typical and traditional Italian style and quality; delicious, surprisingly quick and plenty to choose from, all freshly cooked to order. The pool and sea are accessed by crossing the road and descending a few flights of steps, not an issue in the slightest. The pool was very clean with steps down into the sea and rocks of varying heights to jump off into the blue water; a great way to spend a few hours. Beppe, the pool attendant, was a joy to meet. He kept us supplied with towels, drinks, snorkels and anything else that we asked for. He also arranged for us to hire a powerboat for the day, for around £150 plus fuel, one of the best days we have spent as a family, cruising the ocean and crashing over the waves at thirty knots was great fun. I would definitely recommend hiring a boat, you can explore the islands and coastline, anchoring anywhere you like for a quick dip. On a quiet afternoon, Beppe took me diving for ‘Pulpa’ (small octopus). After we didn’t find any, we returned to the pool later to find he had managed to catch one after I had gone which he proceeded to prepare with lemon juice for us to try. Let’s just say that delicacies can sometimes be disappointing!! In any case, he certainly deserves a good tip at the end of your stay. It is important to bear in mind that Amalfi has no sandy beaches which saves you getting covered in sand and you can swim for miles. We visited the Isle of Capri and took the chairlift to Anacapri, recommended for its view alone but you may also enjoy an open topped taxi ride around the island. Hopefully next time we will visit the Isle of Ischia for a spa treatment or two. I would say that a week in Amalfi isn’t long enough to appreciate everything about it, definitely consider extending your holiday to ten days unless you are planning to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Staying at this hotel was the highlight of our trip to Italy. The beautifully restored rooms, the stunning courtyard and the excellent service combine to make this one of the most special hotels of the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Everyone at the hotel was extremely hospitable , especially our multi-linguistic waiter. Our room with sea-view (wonderful to hear the waves at night) and balcony was well kept and very clean. The breakfast was generous and well-sorted with good service. We did eat dinner once at the hotel and were quite satisfied with the quality of food and the friendliness of our very experienced waiter. This charming hotel has one drawback being located at the curve of a well-traveled street; however, the hotel is very close to the waterfront making for a great view ......it´s worth it ,though a bit expensive...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really loved the character and history of this hotel.
Fantastic location- really a special place- the rooms were lovely.
Also the food was delicious in the hotel restuarant- we recommend the fish!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel on line due to the character portrayed on their website. We have not been disappointed it is truly a gem amongst mediocrity? The staff are friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with, free wi-fi was an added bonus.

The sites are truly amazing and the rooms are more than expected. Large in size, great views over the bay ad ocean, who could want for more? Only wish we had more time here and a balcony, but maybe we should have asked for one.

Would definitely stay again, food is outstanding.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.