We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Amalfi Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic Amalfi Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After much searching, we settled on this hotel based on some solid reviews, reasonably informative hotel website and the fact that its location is very handy.

What a good choice!!!

We stayed three nights and watching the moon rise over the Meditteranean on the first night was nothing short of a thrill. Our little balcony was perfect for absorbing the boats, the moon and some of the coast. The next day we took off on a day cruise out to Capri meaning we were gone for most of the day. We got back to the hotel at around dinner time, asked for the key and were told there was a small problem with our room.

Long story short, there had been a small flood and our room couldn't be sorted out in time for our return. The hotel manager offered us refreshments in the courtyard (which we thoroughly enjoyed) and then suggested that they wouldn't be able to get the room ready for us quickly enough. He asked if we minded going into a room with a 'nice view' without a balcony. To make up for the inconvenience, we were offered a night in their restaurant 'on the house'. Ok. Let's do that.

We were taken up some stairs and into a lift to the top floor. Our room ended up being at the end of the hall and when we were shown inside, we were rather surprised. Two big bathrooms, a large bedroom area opening onto a large living area next to a large dining area. Then a button was pressed and two large shutters opened to reveal a balcony that was larger than our previous room (so much for 'no balcony'). The view took in the sea and Amalfi! The best view on the entire coast - I'm certain!!!

What potentially could have been a holiday disaster was gracefully handled by a skilled staff and generous manager. We were speechless and we cannot thank everyone at Luna Convento enough for their incredible hospitality.

When you choose this hotel, make sure you spend some time at the pool and enjoy the hospitality of the pool manager! Amalfi is gorgeous but it really helps to have a brilliant place to stay. We obviously recommend this one!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    97
    30
    17
    14
See reviews for
51
187
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I recently got married at Hotel Luna Convento, 30th April 2011 and I cant praise this hotel enough. We visited the hotel 2 times before the wedding but I knew after the first visit that this was the only venue for me. Andrea the manager looked after everything for us. The staff were so friendly and came out on the morning of the wedding to give us a cheer! We stayed in the villa attached to Luna which gave us privacy, the villa has all the same luxuries as the hotel and the night before we had a pizza night for all our guests with the hotel chef making pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven on our private terrace.
Being Irish, I thought it would be a lot of hassle getting married abroad but thanks to Andrea and a local wedding planner called Raf, we had the most special wedding in this romantic setting. We brought 44 guests with us. The beauty of Amalfi is that it is so easy to meet up with everyone as people drift towards the central duomo, it is perfect for all age groups and it is a great base to do day trips from such as Capri, Sorrento, Pompeii, Vesuvius.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Just like in the pictures, genuine details. Service attentive enough and acceptable food. Good choice to stop by and continue visiting the italian "costa amalfitana".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived and were astounded by the beauty of the hotel.
Service-Perfect
Food-Perfect
Ambiance-perfect
10 out of 10 for this Hotel and its Location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

A hotel living on past glory. The bedroom was ok but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly for some time. The food was poor quality!

Room Tip: We had to get the shower re-cleaned before we would use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel was perfect. Location was great, easy access to center of Amalfi and buses. The private swimming pool and ocean swim deck were beautiful and great fun for the boys. Hopefully, we'll return and would definitely stay at the Luna Convento again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Upon seing the hotel our first reaction was- "let's change the reservation and leave"- but when we actually left the hotel we were sorry we couldn't stay longer; I guess this says it all: Luna Convento is past its glory days and needs renovations dearly, but it's surroundings, unbeatable location (gorgeous views from the restaurant and our room's terrace), direct access to water (an expensive endevour on amalfi coast), friendly staff and historic charm make it all worthwhile. It's a pitty the hotel is not in better shape, because it has great potential; the paint was chipping off the pool, the pool chairs were stained, the furniture dated, we didn't see many guests (July should be peak season); with some investment this property could be like one of those pousadas in portugal or paradores in spain: a great historic hotel. hopefully it will change, or else they'll lose the luster completely!

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.