We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romance in amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna dei Briganti

La Taverna dei Briganti
Via Valle di Pogerola | Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830010
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Taverna dei Briganti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: recipes from the kitchen of the Kingdom of Naples and the Two Siciliescold cuts, cheeses and rusticpasta dishes with homemade meat sauce topped with Neapolitan or Sicilian sauce pork, lacane and chickpeas, soupsgrilled meat and bakedcodvegetableshomemade sweets
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“romance in amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

WE were so surprised to find this gem in Amalfi. It is up above the bustling village of Amalfi and has a beautiful view from the terrace. The owner was so warm and knowledgeable and the pizza chef was amazing. We had a delicious meal there, outside with a beautiful breeze. We toured the inside too which was adorable with it's stone/brick oven, stone fireplace and beautiful wooden beams. It was a wonderful evening, not to be forgotten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jude188892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visitor at nearby hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Absolutely lovely restaurant 10 mins walk from Grand Hotel Excelsior. Good food, excellent service and nice location. We recommend it for a nice, quiet and atmospheric meal during your holiday in Amalfi, really worth visiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maarit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I must start this review by saying there is no way that this review will pay enough accolades to La Taverna die Briganti. The staff were exceptional, the food was superb, and the fact that the owner was willing to open her restaurant to allow my fiancé and I to have our friends and family dine, and enjoy the experience of being on the Amalfi Coast, on a day when the restaurant does not usually open, was exceptional.

The food, ambiance, wine, music, and view all made our visit a very memorable one. This was one of the best meals we had during our visit to the Amalfi Coast and we would suggest you definitely put the restaurant on the top of your list of places to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iTizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home cooked food, heart warming welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

With a stunning view over the ocean, back from the bustle of Amalfi, this is a real haven. Tables on the terrace make a lovely place to enjoy a long lunch. The food is home cooked, high quality and delicious. The owner is a woman with real heart and is working to make sure that her guests are well looked after. We had home made pasta with broccoli, olive oil, garlic and chili which was perfect, delicious, beautiful. For our main course (secondi), we both had the tagliata (steak cooked on the chargrill, to perfection, on a bed of rocket, topped with shaved parmigiano cheese). The wine was wonderful too. Loved it - Grazie!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“wonderful view and delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owners welcome you very warmly, specially Francesca with a great menu that she prepares herself. Good variety, excellent Italian wine. Everything is fresh and prepared on site. We will certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Briganti also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna dei Briganti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing