We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna dei Briganti

La Taverna dei Briganti
Via Valle di Pogerola | Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 335 535 3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: recipes from the kitchen of the Kingdom of Naples and the Two Siciliescold cuts, cheeses and rusticpasta dishes with homemade meat sauce topped with Neapolitan or Sicilian sauce pork, lacane and chickpeas, soupsgrilled meat and bakedcodvegetableshomemade sweets
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at this very special little restaurant. I had contacted the owner ahead to see if she could accommodate different food allergies and she went out of her way to prepare for us. Everything was very fresh and cooked over a wonderful open grill. The views from this restaurant are spectacular. We took a van/cab from the Amalfi port which took about 15 minutes and booked him to return for us. He did not feel he could make it to the restaurants main entrance so we had to walk down over 100 steps to reach the restaurant. The owner said vans come to the main entrance all the time so hopefully future guests will know its ok to proceed there. We ate so much that the walk back up was good for us......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    222
    55
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highest quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I had lunch yesterday. We had walked up from Amalfi and looked forward to a great lunch. This expectation was met by Fedrica. The meal started with a large mixed antipasta with some smoked meats ,cheeses and some grilled vegetables. Her home made pasta with porcini mushrooms was to die for. The Tagliatelle steak reminded me of what steak used to taste like.
Fantastic flavour. Fedrica helped pick a great white wine.. All together a superb meal. Sadly we were the only ones in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience of local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went there on a whim looking for a local restaurant overlooking Amalfi. I was delighted by the friendly and delightful atmosphere. The family dedication to traditional cuisine made for a wonderful experience. I had the house "antipasta dei briganti" which was a meal unto itself, filled with a generous assortment of traditional local antipasta specialties. I was warmly treated like family by the staff. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a great experience off the beaten track!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got to La Taverna dei Briganti purely because one of our party saw the sign on the road and insisted we go there. The rest of the gang wanted to go to somewhere in Amalfi town but were overruled by her persistence for no reason other than that it was something off the beaten path.

And what a great choice it turned out to be. After the initial shock on Federica's face when 8 adults and 6 children walked into her restaurant, she was amazing. Very helpful and very proud of her cooking and of cooking from the region, refusing to serve anything from other regions of Italy! The restaurant is a family run affair with the most amazing food. A fixed menu was 28 euros which includes wine, but there was a la carte as well and when she told us that her portions were large, most of us chose the latter. The Caprese was fantastic and the steak that I had was out of this world. No one complained about anything, including the kids who loved their pizzas. The service was great, a little slow at times only because Federica was taking orders, cooking and serving herself which is what gave the place an air of personalization rarely found elsewhere. She was genuinely concerned about serving us a special meal and it showed.

All ages 12-52 in our party walked out satisfied and wished that we had discovered this place earlier in our trip instead of a day before departure. We would certainly go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
“delicious food and amazingly friendly and welcoming atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From beginning to end, the meal was very special. The staff as friendly and helpful. Federica, th owner, immediately brought us a plate of mixed antipasti (cheeses, salamis, and various other Italian specialties like a caramelized onion stuffed pizza And grilled veggies). She also brought us a lovely chilled Bottle of Greco di Tufo. This was followed by Tagliata, slices of grilled steak on a bed of arugula covered in sheets of parmesan. This was unlike anything I have ever had before and it was spectacular. Dinner was followed by a delicate lemon accented cake and limoncello. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious to match! The price was so reasonable! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Good food and I hope to return soon!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Briganti also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna dei Briganti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna dei Briganti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.