We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience of local cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna dei Briganti

La Taverna dei Briganti
Via Valle di Pogerola | Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 335 535 3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: recipes from the kitchen of the Kingdom of Naples and the Two Siciliescold cuts, cheeses and rusticpasta dishes with homemade meat sauce topped with Neapolitan or Sicilian sauce pork, lacane and chickpeas, soupsgrilled meat and bakedcodvegetableshomemade sweets
Roma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience of local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went there on a whim looking for a local restaurant overlooking Amalfi. I was delighted by the friendly and delightful atmosphere. The family dedication to traditional cuisine made for a wonderful experience. I had the house "antipasta dei briganti" which was a meal unto itself, filled with a generous assortment of traditional local antipasta specialties. I was warmly treated like family by the staff. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    223
    55
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a great experience off the beaten track!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got to La Taverna dei Briganti purely because one of our party saw the sign on the road and insisted we go there. The rest of the gang wanted to go to somewhere in Amalfi town but were overruled by her persistence for no reason other than that it was something off the beaten path.

And what a great choice it turned out to be. After the initial shock on Federica's face when 8 adults and 6 children walked into her restaurant, she was amazing. Very helpful and very proud of her cooking and of cooking from the region, refusing to serve anything from other regions of Italy! The restaurant is a family run affair with the most amazing food. A fixed menu was 28 euros which includes wine, but there was a la carte as well and when she told us that her portions were large, most of us chose the latter. The Caprese was fantastic and the steak that I had was out of this world. No one complained about anything, including the kids who loved their pizzas. The service was great, a little slow at times only because Federica was taking orders, cooking and serving herself which is what gave the place an air of personalization rarely found elsewhere. She was genuinely concerned about serving us a special meal and it showed.

All ages 12-52 in our party walked out satisfied and wished that we had discovered this place earlier in our trip instead of a day before departure. We would certainly go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
“delicious food and amazingly friendly and welcoming atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From beginning to end, the meal was very special. The staff as friendly and helpful. Federica, th owner, immediately brought us a plate of mixed antipasti (cheeses, salamis, and various other Italian specialties like a caramelized onion stuffed pizza And grilled veggies). She also brought us a lovely chilled Bottle of Greco di Tufo. This was followed by Tagliata, slices of grilled steak on a bed of arugula covered in sheets of parmesan. This was unlike anything I have ever had before and it was spectacular. Dinner was followed by a delicate lemon accented cake and limoncello. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious to match! The price was so reasonable! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Good food and I hope to return soon!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very welcome escape from touristy Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved this place, beautiful traditional food in a relaxed atmosphere far enough away from the Amalfi swamp of tourists, but close enough to get to v easily (15 min bus up hill, runs till late) The mixed antipasta starter was incredible. Buy 2 x 2.50 euro tickets from the tabacc' opposite the bus station (right in the centre by coast in Amalfi) - bus will have Pogerola on the front... runs regularly and drops you off on the doorstep. The owner is wonderful. You will love this place if you love meat - the only thing we'll say is the portions were huge so unfortunately we didn't finish everything we ordered!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Excellent Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were given a gift of a meal at this restaurant as part of our honeymoon. After a rather tortuous day of driving around the overly developed Amalfi coast and being sticker shocked at the cost of parking, let alone beach going in this town, we were more than pleased to take the empty road up to Pogerola and find easily accessible parking for La Taverna. The proprietor was more than gracious and provided us with one of the most spectacular meals of our trip. The antipasti misto with wonderful salumi and cheese as well as a fabulous eggplant parmegan and souffle with zucchini. We also liked the pastry filled with cheese and carmelized onion. Our American stomachs would have been happy with that but then we had a great Gnocchi ala Sorrento that wasn't overly sauced or gummy and then we had a great steak cooked on the open pit barbecue and tiramisu! Skip the limoncello and ask for the sweet Sicilian dessert wine, I can't even remember what it was called. A beautiful view down the cliffside to the coast and fantastic interior design! Would have eaten here every night of our trip if we had been staying in Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Briganti also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to La Taverna dei Briganti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna dei Briganti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.