We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Change of Pace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna dei Briganti

La Taverna dei Briganti
Via Valle di Pogerola | Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 335 535 3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 95 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: recipes from the kitchen of the Kingdom of Naples and the Two Siciliescold cuts, cheeses and rusticpasta dishes with homemade meat sauce topped with Neapolitan or Sicilian sauce pork, lacane and chickpeas, soupsgrilled meat and bakedcodvegetableshomemade sweets
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Excellent Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were given a gift of a meal at this restaurant as part of our honeymoon. After a rather tortuous day of driving around the overly developed Amalfi coast and being sticker shocked at the cost of parking, let alone beach going in this town, we were more than pleased to take the empty road up to Pogerola and find easily accessible parking for La Taverna. The proprietor was more than gracious and provided us with one of the most spectacular meals of our trip. The antipasti misto with wonderful salumi and cheese as well as a fabulous eggplant parmegan and souffle with zucchini. We also liked the pastry filled with cheese and carmelized onion. Our American stomachs would have been happy with that but then we had a great Gnocchi ala Sorrento that wasn't overly sauced or gummy and then we had a great steak cooked on the open pit barbecue and tiramisu! Skip the limoncello and ask for the sweet Sicilian dessert wine, I can't even remember what it was called. A beautiful view down the cliffside to the coast and fantastic interior design! Would have eaten here every night of our trip if we had been staying in Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    232
    57
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Incredible hospitality and tasty home cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

On reading about this place we decided to take the bus out of Amalfi and up to Pogerola. The bus trip took about 15 minutes and cost about 2 euros. It was well worth the trip for lunch!
We were a little late but the owner was very welcoming and talked us through the menu. She made us the best pasta I have ever had in italy with local cheeses and sun dried tomatoes. It was made from scratch whilst we were in the restaurant. She also explained about the slow food movement and the local area. The rest of our food and the wine was delicious.
A must visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federica d, Proprietario at La Taverna dei Briganti, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Mark Thanks for the nice review is of help to other travelers. It 'been a pleasure to have you in my tavern, I wait for the next round in the Amalfi Coast. With love Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We called up with a group of 11 and the accommodated us no problem. The owner is a very nice lady and she cooks all of the food. The food was absolutely amazing, and the gnocchi and steak I had were one of the best in my life. If you are in Amalfi its definitely worth the trip up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federica d, Proprietario at La Taverna dei Briganti, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Jhonatan Thanks for the nice review, it was nice to serve you and your feathered friends, thanks to your advertising more likeable Americans are coming to try my steak and gnocchi, thank you! thank you! thank you! a warm greeting to you all and I look to the next round in the Amalfi Coast. with affection Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You have to go there..!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend took the local bus up to polchero(cud be spelt wrong) from amalfi it took 15 minutes to le taverna dei briganti and it was so worth the journey .. I had read reviews about the set meal that she does 4 courses including 250ml house wine so we spoke to the lady owner who was very friendly and helpfull and said she thinks we should just order the 1 set meal and share it as it is quite big..!! It was served to us as if we had ordered 2 they had halved it in the kitchen, we ate a mixed anti pasta , gnocchi with mozzarella and cherry tomatoes then a the main was a traditional dish of rolled meat and garlic and herbs that had been slow cooked in a tomatoe bases sauce served with salad then a home made lemon gateau type cake ... I must say every dish was excellent and the lemon desert was to die for even the house wine wich the lady told me she carefully picks was excellent .. Me and my girlfriend are quite hard please but I will say we couldn't fault anything about this rests
even the fact that it so high up on the mountain and we started on the outside terrace but had to go inside when a serious
storm hit..! Then the bill came
we'd had 1 glass of prosceco and 3 glass of red wine and water and 4 course meal the grand total of 35 euro!! We had sum very good meals on our 4 day break on the amalfi coast but this one was the best and not just that it was the cheapest just the whole experience was excellent !!
Don't miss out on this restaurant if you are in the area!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federica d, Proprietario at La Taverna dei Briganti, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
thanks for the nice review and for the signs that you have given to other travelers, it's been a pleasure to serve a cute couple and nice like you. I wait for the next round in the Amalfi Coast. Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caserta, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location with an extreme sense of the hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Typical Neapolitan cuisine with personal customization by the owner Federica.

She is a very skillful chef and a cultered women, you can easily swap from the nitty gritty of special recipes to the historical tradition of our lovely country...

Don't miss it out whenever hanging around Costiera Amalfitana, just 10 minutes from the centre of Amalfi!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federica d, Proprietario at La Taverna dei Briganti, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks Hector for the nice review and for the indications given to other travelers. I'm waiting for another round in Amalfi coast and for you to try new things. Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Briganti also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna dei Briganti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna dei Briganti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.