We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiete little restaurant in a busy town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria San Giuseppe

Trattoria San Giuseppe
4, Via Ruggiero II, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 872640
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
UK SW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very quiete little restaurant in a busy town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pretty god food and value her under the statue of St Giuseppe! Anchovies were great, fish risotto was good, vongole was average. Charming service and worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Wood fired pizza oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Do not ask me how to get to this place. We stumbled across it, because my wife wanted wood oven cooked pizza. However, you should ask someone. Walking from the sea, it is on the left side, up some steps. It is worth the hunt.

We sat outside on the street (no cars) and had a very enjoyable lunch. Like Trattoria dei Cartari, we felt we were eating away from the tourist area. Of course, you're not, but you can believe anything if the food is good.

My 5 stars does not mean you should expect an El Bulli experience, it is just my judgement compared to similar establishments in the area. Good food, quaint location, friendly service. What else do you need?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were trying to get into Da Gemma and dealing with a little bit of the 'you're asking for a table, tonight in July...here" kind of attitude that was clearly not going to work out, so on the way out I asked one of the bus-boys, "so where do you go to eat?" He said Guiseppe's and pointed us into a small alley that seemed to lead no-where; eventually it opened into a little nice space that looked more Santorini than Amalfi. The staff were great, the food was wonderful and the prices were a pleasant surprise. Great garlic zucchini, tasty garlic bread, unique gnocchi, wonderful pizza's and good table wine. The next night we landed a coveted reservation at one of the fancy spots, but instead we happily decided to just go eat with the locals again at Giuseppe's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet back-alley restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This restaurant has a nice and quiet location, away from the business of the square. The prices are fair, and the food is good. I would not hesitate to eat here again next time I visit Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is hidden in the medieval part of town. Enjoyed excellent neopolitan style pizza and good pasta dishes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Trattoria San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria San Giuseppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.