We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already reviewed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Via Castello, 1 | via castello N1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830206
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $42
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Chowder, Pasta, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Already reviewed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A perfect day for us is to take the bus up to Pogerola for lunch in this delightful restaurant then take one of the three walks back to Amalfi. The food is delicious and Gino, Lucia and their family are lovely. Looking forward to Easter next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pasta and focaccia in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The pasta was authentic and fresh- with homemade real gravy! The focaccia was brought to our table right from their brick oven!

This restaurant is a must! They will pick you up at your hotel

Visited October 2013
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a find high in the mountains overlooking Amalfi. The family that runs this restaurant are most welcoming. The chef is very talented. He even runs a cooking class for those who wish to really see how Italian food is made. A must if in the area.

Visited October 2013
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Quiet lunch in Pegerola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a 13 km trek, we made our way to La Carcara because of Trip Advisor reviews. We were the only customers on a Tuesday lunch-time in mid October, and the family stopped their own lunch to make ours. The fresh fish catch of the day was displayed, and I picked from the offerings, enjoying the resulting sea bass perfectly prepared and accompanied by very tasty fresh, roasted vegetables. The eggplant parmesan was a bit disappointing, chewy and not a large portion (as a starter). Wouldn't have given this the #1 in Amalfi, but we didn't give it the full testing of an evening meal.

Visited October 2013
5 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“The sign outside says Pizzeria”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went in to have a Pizza for lunch,,, something nice and simple..
We were welcomed and asked to choose a table and were given a menu.
looking through the menu there were no Pizzas listed so we asked the waitress if we could just have a pizza.
We were told that no we could not have a pizza so we decided to leave...... When I was putting my coat back on the waitress asked the chef and we were told we could have one.
After all the fuss and embarrassment we decided it would be better for us to use another one of the many eating establishments within easy walking distance...

The sign outside says it's a Pizzeria our experience is that it was not easy for us to get a pizza. From other reviews It is obviously a popular restaurant that serves very good food,,,


Visited October 2013
7 Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing