We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already reviewed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Via Castello, 1 | via castello N1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Already reviewed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A perfect day for us is to take the bus up to Pogerola for lunch in this delightful restaurant then take one of the three walks back to Amalfi. The food is delicious and Gino, Lucia and their family are lovely. Looking forward to Easter next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    38
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pasta and focaccia in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The pasta was authentic and fresh- with homemade real gravy! The focaccia was brought to our table right from their brick oven!

This restaurant is a must! They will pick you up at your hotel

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a find high in the mountains overlooking Amalfi. The family that runs this restaurant are most welcoming. The chef is very talented. He even runs a cooking class for those who wish to really see how Italian food is made. A must if in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Quiet lunch in Pegerola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a 13 km trek, we made our way to La Carcara because of Trip Advisor reviews. We were the only customers on a Tuesday lunch-time in mid October, and the family stopped their own lunch to make ours. The fresh fish catch of the day was displayed, and I picked from the offerings, enjoying the resulting sea bass perfectly prepared and accompanied by very tasty fresh, roasted vegetables. The eggplant parmesan was a bit disappointing, chewy and not a large portion (as a starter). Wouldn't have given this the #1 in Amalfi, but we didn't give it the full testing of an evening meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“The sign outside says Pizzeria”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went in to have a Pizza for lunch,,, something nice and simple..
We were welcomed and asked to choose a table and were given a menu.
looking through the menu there were no Pizzas listed so we asked the waitress if we could just have a pizza.
We were told that no we could not have a pizza so we decided to leave...... When I was putting my coat back on the waitress asked the chef and we were told we could have one.
After all the fuss and embarrassment we decided it would be better for us to use another one of the many eating establishments within easy walking distance...

The sign outside says it's a Pizzeria our experience is that it was not easy for us to get a pizza. From other reviews It is obviously a popular restaurant that serves very good food,,,

l

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carcara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.