We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Via Castello, 1 | via castello N1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830206
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Posto carino per coppiette e gruppi di amici. In estate terrazzo all'aperto.Forno a legno per la pizza
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SO friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lucia, Gino and Fabio are so friendly. Popped in for a look. No problem - even gave us coffees with no charge. Then when for a meal - excellent and lovely views.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    73
    23
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homemade quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent quality food, made themselves and with a local touch with Italian love for what they serve. We went there on the last night in Amalfi and wish we had gone earlier. I'm Italian and have grown up with Italian food and these guys made it just right!

Recommend eating there or even take away, it's cheap, top quality and very hospitable !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is probably one of the best Italian meals I have ever had! We visited this restaurant while in Amalfie for a week. The food was excellent and so was the service. Having dinner at Lucia's place was like being with family. The fresh fish of the day and pasta were always exceptional. Let's not mention the awesome pizza or Lucia's famous Limoncello that she makes herself with the lemons from her garden.

Great Service, Great food....wonderful people. A definite must in Amalfie!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best fish ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this restaurant during our honeymoon. Very reasonably priced, great service and really tasty! The waiter bought a plate of fish out, caught fresh that morning, and asked us which we would prefer. It was the best fish I have ever tasted! The waiter was extremely friendly and very helpful. I would recommend visiting this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

La Carcara is the best restaurant Amalfi (Pogerola) has to offer. My husband and I ate there two nights in a row because we loved the food, atmosphere, and perhaps most importantly, the staff. Our first night, we checked-in to our hotel at 11:30 pm – and we were starving! One of the staff told us to sit tight, and he would call La Carcara and have someone pick us up. Within 10 minutes, one of the restaurant staff were at our hotel and drove us 5 minutes up the road to the restaurant. We were greeted by Lucia – one of the most wonderful people you’ll ever meet! She and her husband own the restaurant. They do a fantastic job at making each guest feel special, and take pride in the meals they cook for you. The food is simple, fresh, and delicious. We enjoyed (fresh caught) fish both nights – amazing! The very next day, we were back at the restaurant (once again… very late) and we were greeted with a very warm welcome by Lucia and her husband. Not only did they remember us, but they took the time to help us pick the perfect meal, and have a lovely conversation. Overall, we would highly recommend this restaurant. From the actual town of Amalfi, it is a 15 minute drive. From our hotel (Excelsior Grand) it was a 5 minute drive a little further up the mountain. The atmosphere is wonderful – warm, rustic, and genuine Italian. The food is delicious and not pretentious. And the staff – they make they experience really special. Thank you Lucia for beautiful meals and for being a part of our Wedding Anniversary!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carcara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.