We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Via Castello, 1 | via castello N1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this restaurant during our honeymoon. Very reasonably priced, great service and really tasty! The waiter bought a plate of fish out, caught fresh that morning, and asked us which we would prefer. It was the best fish I have ever tasted! The waiter was extremely friendly and very helpful. I would recommend visiting this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

La Carcara is the best restaurant Amalfi (Pogerola) has to offer. My husband and I ate there two nights in a row because we loved the food, atmosphere, and perhaps most importantly, the staff. Our first night, we checked-in to our hotel at 11:30 pm – and we were starving! One of the staff told us to sit tight, and he would call La Carcara and have someone pick us up. Within 10 minutes, one of the restaurant staff were at our hotel and drove us 5 minutes up the road to the restaurant. We were greeted by Lucia – one of the most wonderful people you’ll ever meet! She and her husband own the restaurant. They do a fantastic job at making each guest feel special, and take pride in the meals they cook for you. The food is simple, fresh, and delicious. We enjoyed (fresh caught) fish both nights – amazing! The very next day, we were back at the restaurant (once again… very late) and we were greeted with a very warm welcome by Lucia and her husband. Not only did they remember us, but they took the time to help us pick the perfect meal, and have a lovely conversation. Overall, we would highly recommend this restaurant. From the actual town of Amalfi, it is a 15 minute drive. From our hotel (Excelsior Grand) it was a 5 minute drive a little further up the mountain. The atmosphere is wonderful – warm, rustic, and genuine Italian. The food is delicious and not pretentious. And the staff – they make they experience really special. Thank you Lucia for beautiful meals and for being a part of our Wedding Anniversary!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneXploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pogerola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Make no mistake. The awful green light in the entrance is very misleading. Once you find the restaurant, ask for a table on the top floor. Whatever you order it will be very good. Super friendly and quality food all the way. Went there two days in a row, and longed back on the thrid days when I went to another restaurant with tasteless food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found this restaurant accidently because we liked the view on the terrace. The hand made pasta is very different from other fresh pasta we tried before. I choosed white source which is original and the flavour of clam and mussel is perfect with the pasta. Not too salty at all by the way. My wife's fish of the day is well grilled and quite juicy. Fish in many restaurant could be grilled too dry. With EU$12 this is the best fish we ever tried in an Italian restaurant. Fried anchovy and fish meat with potato are also tasty. 660ml beer is only 3.50 which is 2.50 in supermarket. Friendly service and happy chef made us the day. The young man even rode his scooter to the store to get us a local map when he saw us so interested in their town and taking a lot of photos. It worth the 15 mins bus to this quiet town if you are a little sick of the noise. Maybe next time I will think about stay in this town instead of Amalfi beach. It's a shame this nice restaurant is quiet because it's far from Amalfi and some everage restaurant with bad service in Amalfi can make more money only becasue of the location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We walked to the restaurant from out hotel Villa Relais, it was well worth the effort. The view was stunning,service excellent, and the food remarkable. We had intended having pizza but when we noticed pork with porcini mushrooms in white sauce, that was the choice made. We had wine and water, bruschetta on the house and limoncello complimentary afterwards. The price was very reasonable at 34 Euro, and had we been staying in the area would have returned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing