We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with great view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Via Castello, 1 | via castello N1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 830206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $13 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Chowder, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Melbourne
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food with great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found this restaurant accidently because we liked the view on the terrace. The hand made pasta is very different from other fresh pasta we tried before. I choosed white source which is original and the flavour of clam and mussel is perfect with the pasta. Not too salty at all by the way. My wife's fish of the day is well grilled and quite juicy. Fish in many restaurant could be grilled too dry. With EU$12 this is the best fish we ever tried in an Italian restaurant. Fried anchovy and fish meat with potato are also tasty. 660ml beer is only 3.50 which is 2.50 in supermarket. Friendly service and happy chef made us the day. The young man even rode his scooter to the store to get us a local map when he saw us so interested in their town and taking a lot of photos. It worth the 15 mins bus to this quiet town if you are a little sick of the noise. Maybe next time I will think about stay in this town instead of Amalfi beach. It's a shame this nice restaurant is quiet because it's far from Amalfi and some everage restaurant with bad service in Amalfi can make more money only becasue of the location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    93
    29
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We walked to the restaurant from out hotel Villa Relais, it was well worth the effort. The view was stunning,service excellent, and the food remarkable. We had intended having pizza but when we noticed pork with porcini mushrooms in white sauce, that was the choice made. We had wine and water, bruschetta on the house and limoncello complimentary afterwards. The price was very reasonable at 34 Euro, and had we been staying in the area would have returned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tried at last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have walked past this restaurant many times over the years but thought it was closed at lunch time. Lucia, Gino and their family are lovely, and the food is delicious, managed a few lunches. The views from the dining terrace towards Ravello, Scala and Pontone wonderful. This restaurant is not in Amalfi but the lovely village of Pogerola, there is an hourly bus service from Amalfi but if at all fit you can walk both ways, there are 3 main paths you can choose from all with totally different views. Looking forward to returning in September.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ate here twice because we enjoyed both the food and the owner/servicer. I want to go back very soon for more! Recommend the shrimp skewer with smoked mozarella.
Thank you Lucia for two wonderful meals and a great time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went for a late lunch with about 14 people or so. Amazing service and even better food. Homemade pasta with mussels, freshest sea bass I have ever tasted, and exquisite pizza. Plenty of complimentary lemoncello. I walked out very satisfied. Worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carcara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.