We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Amalfi Private Tours

Simply Amalfi Private Tours
Via Maestra dei Villaggi, 78, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 346 0315739
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 20 activities in Amalfi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Simply Amalfi is an Amalfi-based company that provides touring and private car and driver services for the Amalfi Coast and its surrounding areas. With a large fleet of Mercedes sedans, minivans and minibuses, and experienced English-speaking drivers, we provide classic and insider's tours and transfer services for those travelers looking for professional yet personalized attention during their stay on the Amalfi Coast.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We did the Amalfi tour with Salvatore in January. It was very well organised and we especially enjoyed the attention to detail in organising our tour. Salvatore is a good laugh and made everything possible to make our trip as pleasant as possible. Definitely recommended!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Touring the Amalfi Coast made eas(ier)!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were in Italy with a very short window at the end of August 2013. I found SImply Amalfi online and initially contacted them about a car transfer from Rome to Sorrento. Emailing back and forth, Katherine arranged for the transfer, the return, with a side trip on the way to Pompeii to tour the site. They even found us a great guide, Frederico, for the tour of Pompeii, and Salvatore our driver made sure we had a lunch break before the very walking-intensive tour. He also understood about bathroom breaks. We had such short time lines this company really was a lifesaver - prompt, helpful and reliable. Salvatore and our kids talked football and economics - he was just a great guy who took such good care of us. By the way - in terms of cost remember transfers of any kind cost money - there were four of us, and this was about twice the cost of the two trains which would not have gotten us to Pompeii, and which would have taken us four times as long. Worth every euro.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Salvatore, a real treat for our Amalphi visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our cruise boat was unable to dock at Sorrento so we hires Amazing Amalfi to pick us up at Naples and take us along the coast Not only was the cost reasonable but Salvatore's personality made the trip! We sang to Bocchelli and dines at his friends restaurant in Amalfi. What a beautiful and breathtaking experience. Our whole group highly recommends Amalfi Coast!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not just a Tour Company !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Simply Amalfi is simply the best !! We had the good fortune to choose Simply Amalfi for a tour on an earlier trip...it was wonderful....so when we came back for another visit we contacted Katharine to arrange transfers to and from Naples. Fabio picked us up at the airport to transport us to our rental in Praiano. On the way he called to let them know we were on the way....the landlord, upset, declared we were too early. Without missing a beat...Fabio offered us a lunch stop in order to make our arrival later...no problem. The restaurant was wonderful....the best of our trip...they welcomed us like family. Another driver might have left us on the street with our bags to sort things out with the landlord ! Our return to Naples was also smooth....and bonus was that we were met by Salvatore ! We hope to return to Italy and I wouldn't consider any other company. I also must mention that the driving of Salvatore and Fabio was SAFE....these guys know the roads and are careful, safe drivers.We were completely at ease at all times. I can't say the same about the ride to the airport in Rome that we received from another company.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the Perfect Choice for a Private Amalfi Coast Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This past July, I decided to hire a private driver for our tour of the Amalfi Coast. I did quite a bit of research and decided on Simply Amalfi tours for our trip. In particular, I was drawn to the company by its excellent recommendations on TripAdvisor.

I was impressed by the responsiveness and thoroughness of the company’s American co-owner Katharine Johnson. Our interaction began with a series of email exchanges to outline our options. Katharine was great in providing some very detailed sample itineraries that could be customized to our personal interests. She was extremely helpful and patient throughout the entire planning process and responded to my email inquiries very quickly. I ended up hiring Simply Amalfi for the following elements of our trip:

• Private Car Transfer from Naples Airport to Sorrento
• Day Long Private Car Tour of the Amalfi Coast
• Private Car Transfer from Sorrento to Positano
• Private Car Transfer from Positano to Naples Train Station

After landing in Naples, Salvatore “Junior,” the nephew of Katharine and Simply Amalfi’s other co-owner Salvatore Mocerino, was waiting for us at the airport. Salvatore helped us with our luggage and we boarded a comfortable and spacious mini-van for our private car transfer to Sorrento. I had indicated in my earlier communication to Katharine that I was very interested in seeing some “great views” on our trip. Therefore, it was nice that Salvatore picked up on this and volunteered to stop off for a couple of “photo ops” on the way to our hotel.

The next morning, Salvatore was right on time to pick us up for our private car tour of the Amalfi Coast. Our first stop was a pretty overlook where we were able to catch some great views of the island of Capri and the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.

The drive continued and we were treated to some spectacular coastal views. Salvatore was great at pointing out the key sights along the way such as a rock formation that looked like the head of the Italian general and politician Giuseppe Garibaldi and the private island that once belonged to ballet great Rudolph Nureyev. After passing a sign spray-painted onto to the cliffs that encouragingly said that “You Will Never Walk Alone” we soon came up on Positano.

Just outside of Positano we were treated to our first taste of a lemon granita. This treat featured real bits of lemon and was so sweet and cold and refreshing on the very hot day that we were touring. The beauty of Positano was simply surreal and this preview made me feel really happy that we’d be making the town our base of operations for the rest of our stay on the Amalfi Coast.

After leaving Positano, we passed a grotto that featured a model of the town in miniature and a quick view of the site of the Emerald Grotto. We continued on to the town of Amalfi where Salvatore helped us get our bearings and pointed out the Cathedral of San Andrea situated in the town center and brought us to a local restaurant, La Taverna di Masaniello, for lunch. The restaurant is highly rated by TripAdvisor and we treated ourselves to a great meal of pasta with olives (alla puttanesca) and eggplant (alla siciliana). We then had some free time in Amalfi to explore the town on our own and get in a bit of shopping as well as a stop for some gelato! We reconnected with Salvatore at our designated meeting point in the town square and bid farewell to Amalfi as we continued our drive.

Although, we enjoyed our stop in Amalfi, it was a pleasure to get back out on the road to enjoy the countryside. Salvatore drove us through the scenic Valley of the Dragon up to a secluded hill town called Scala. What was distinctive about this stop was the noticeable LACK of tourists. We had had this scenic overlook all to ourselves … except for a solitary municipal worker who was on his smoke break as we took in the views.

The last stop on our private tour was Ravello which is known as the “City of Music.” The town is quiet and elegant and I could see spending a few days here on a future trip in order attend its famous Summer Music Festival. Some of the concerts take place at this beautiful venue overlooking the ocean on the grounds of the Villa Rufulo.

What’s great about hiring a private driver is that throughout the day we were on “our time.” Salvatore made sure to communicate that we could personalize our experience to our own preferences. We had the freedom to stop and linger whenever and wherever we wanted. Having Salvatore with us was like having a good friend take us out for the day.

Throughout our trip, Salvatore was enthusiastic and professional. Even after the “formal” part of tour was completed, Salvatore remained engaged and personable. For example, once we ran out of “touristy” subjects to cover, we launched into a great discussion of Italian pop music (e.g., Did you know that there is a famous Italian cover version of Crowded House’s song Don’t Dream It’s Over?). Even stuck in rush hour traffic on the way back to Sorrento the time seemed to fly by.

On our last day, Salvatore was also our driver for our private car transfer from Positano to the Naples train station. Professional to the very end, Salvatore helped us with our luggage and guided us to the train platform.

I was extremely please by the service we received from Simply Amalfi. Working with this company took the worry out of the travel logistics involved in touring the Amalfi Coast. I wouldn’t hesitate to call on Simply Amalfi to manage my transportation needs on any future trips to the Amalfi Coast. For example, I could see using the company to organize a trip revolving around the Ravello Music Festival or perhaps for a day outing to go swimming at the Emerald Grotto. In addition, Katharine would also be able to organize transportation and a private guide for an outing that would include a visit to the Pompeii archeological site followed by a tour of the local wine country. In order to make the most of your experience, my advice would be to opt for a full day tour (or perhaps a series of full day tours). It’s best not to try to cram too much into a few hours since being too “rushed” will likely detract from your experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Amalfi Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Simply Amalfi Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Amalfi Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.