We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highpoint of our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Amalfi Private Tours

Simply Amalfi Private Tours
Via Maestra dei Villaggi, 78, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 346 0315739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Activities in Amalfi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Simply Amalfi is an Amalfi-based company that provides touring and private car and driver services for the Amalfi Coast and its surrounding areas. With a large fleet of Mercedes sedans, minivans and minibuses, and experienced English-speaking drivers, we provide classic and insider's tours and transfer services for those travelers looking for professional yet personalized attention during their stay on the Amalfi Coast.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
sonoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Highpoint of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our travel agent found Simply Amalfi for four of us traveling together, and what a find! The driver, charmer, opera singer, Salvatore, picked us up at our cruise ship and drove us through the gorgeous mountains, through Positano, Sorrento and Capri, and on to the Amalfi coast where we were blessed with the most stunning views I have ever seen. Salvatore played and sang opera on the radio of his minivan, as he guided us along. We had a fantastic lunch at a family run tratorria high above Amalfi in a hamlet where there were no tourists. He returned us gently to the port after about six hours.
We never wanted to leave.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amalfi & Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just got back from our Med cruise and I wanted to say what a wonderful time we had with Simply Amalfi and Simply Firenze. Katharine could not have been easier to deal with prior to our arrival. All emails were responded to within in 24 hours, usually within much less time. Salvatore, her husband was our host for Amalfi. He invited us back to his home for lunch which was just incredible. We felt very honored. The view he has from his home is amazing - I would never go inside if I lived there! A few days later, Katharine picked us up in Livorno and drove us to Lucca in the morning and then on to Montemagno, a small Tuscan village, home to Heather and Ian. Heather and Ian welcomed us into their home and served us lunch. They are expats making their home in Italy - they have 250 olive trees on their property which they were getting ready to harvest in the next few days. They also managed to get us just pressed olive oil from their neighbor...it was excellent and so different from what were were expecting. How many tours can provide that??? The view they have from their house is just as incredible as Salvatore's - you can actually see the leaning Tower of Pisa in the distance. If you are looking to really savor and experience a destination rather than quickly seeing it, please consider using this company - you won't be disappointed. In fact, I believe when you look back at your trip, these are the experiences that you will remember and leave you wanting to go back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous - Five stars plus!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We selected Simply Amalfi based on their Trip Advisor reviews. It seemed the tour operator best suited to provide us with our one day private tour of the Amalfi Coast.

After I contacted Simply Amalfi by email (and several others), Katherine got back to us immediately. It was particularly comforting to know that, being from California orginally, there would be no misunderstandings with her during our email correspondance. There were'nt any and she always got back to me within 24 hours, whenever I emailed her - including to explore various options about how we would spend our day, where the tour would start/end and where we would have lunch.

Because I was planning the trip 6 months ahead of time for the 4 of us, I was able to request that Salvatore would be our driver/tour guide. How lucky we were that he was able to do this!

We met him at the Naples train station at around 10:00 am and immediately we knew we were going to have a wondeful time. He has such a welcoming, sunny personality. HIs Mercedes van was most comfortable and it is one of fondest memories of Italy to think of Salvatore using his horn to inform other drivers that he was coming through!!! He is also very knowledgeable of the Amalfi Coast and loves music. It seemed that more than a few people knew him and waved to say hello as we sailed past to the sound of music, sometimes with a friendly blast of his horn.

We drove along the coast in the sunshine, stopping occasionally at good places for us to admire the beautiful views and listening to Salvatore's commentary of these places. the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, etc. They are all quite magnificant to see.

For lunch, we had discussed with Katherine various restaurants that we might consider. In the end, because it was a Sunday, Salvatore instead offered to take us to his home at the top of a hill with a beautiful view overlooking the Mediterranean. We felt so honored. So on our way we picked up food and wine for dinner (as well as delivering shopping to others that live near Salvatore en route).

Salvatore is an excellent cook. It was one of the best meals (5+ courses) we had on our visit to Italy and the 4 of us still talk about the meal and the hospitality that Salvatore showed us that day.

Soon, however, our day was ended and Salvatore drove us safely back through the inland hill side villages to the train station at Naples around 6:30 pm.

All in all, we had a fabulous day, and would very happily recommend Simply Amalfi and Salvatore to others. Certainly, if we ever visit the Amalfi Coast again (Salvatore says that you need to stay at least 4 days to see it properly), we will plan to again include a tour with Simply Amalfi during our visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best Amalfi Coast vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from our Amalfi Coast vacation. We used SimplyAmalfi as our guide and transportation on 6 of the 9 days in Italy. Everything went exactly as planned. Never missed a beat. Katharine arranged our daily tours and provided the guides and transportation to our locations. SimplyAmalfi does not arrange planes, trains, or hotels, but will make suggestions. After touring Rome and Pompei, we used Sorrento as our base camp with daily trips to Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Ravello, and Agerola. For the last 3 days of our vacation we relocated to a hotel on the cliffs in Ravello overlooking the sea.

Not depending on public transportation makes a vacation/tour much more enjoyable and efficent. This was truly door to door service.

The highlight of our trip was a genealogy search for our family roots in Agerola. Katharine took us to a family restaurant in Agerola and introduced us to the owners. They provided us the most wonderful lunch of local delicacies. We were invited to the townhall where many of the residents assisted in pulling local records to determine if any of our relatives still live in Agerola. None of this would have been possible without Katharine and her connections to the local people.

This was a very different vacation with Katharine and Salvatore---almost like meeting relatives in Italy and having them show you their home and town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On a Mediterranean cruise with husband and friends, we had the joy of a drive on the Amalfi coast with Salvatore! He picked us up as our ship docked in Naples and off we went singing opera through the many curves on the road, stopping to view all of the beautiful sites along the way. Salvatore made our visit personal and wonderful as he shared his great love of this area with us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Amalfi Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Simply Amalfi Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Amalfi Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.