We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous local cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abside

L'Abside
Piazza Dei Dogi 31, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089873586
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $36 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Mixed sea-food platter with limoncello and tiramisu to finish. Don't know whether it was amatuerish choice but we enjoyed thoroughly. The sea-food was fresh and very well presented. The place is located a bit inside on Piazza dei Dogi. Its easy to find, but away from crowds. The service was equally excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    187
    76
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location, sat outside under heaters, great service, great menu with good selection. Served my favourite spaghetti vongole perfectly. The panna cotta is to die for. Wow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were doing a quick tour of Amalfi and wanted to dine someplace away from the crowds with inside seating as the night was cool and one of my traveling companions had failed to bring a jacket or sweater. We hesitated before L'Abside but a diner sitting in an alcove overlooking the terrace called out to us and assured us that we would have a lovely meal - and we did! One of us had the lasagne which the young woman waiting on our table told us was the best pasta available that evening - made by Mama! My friend described it as ethereal - lasagne?? But yes! Antipasti, seafood, pasta, and the house wine - both red and white - quite lovely. There is seating outside and a divine little table for two in a floor to ceiling window alcove overlooking the terrace (where the friendly couple from Germany had beckoned us to enter earlier!) This was the second time in as many days that we stumbled into a restaurant that rewarded our Euros...I think God looks after fools and little children and sometimes, if you are lucky, tourists in Italy. But if I were you, I would heed the advice of other reviewers and book in advance - we were just lucky to get a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, amazingly friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had two great dinners at L'Abside on the recommendation of friends who had been to Amalfi just before us. The food is classic, hearty Italian cooking and the staff are so friendly. The manager Giovanni was incredibly friendly. It is a family run place and it you can feel it from the warmth and generosity of all the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely family food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Best food we have had since leaving home 5 weeks ago.
Lovely Johanna served us both times ( only in Amalfi 2 nights ) went to this Restaurant both nights.
My husband had Lasagne on Johanna's recommendation home made by Johanna's mama, we we're introduced personally as she was on her way to the kitchen. ( what a lovely touch )
Recommend mamas Lemon cake .... Wonderful.
Thank you so much for your great hospitality ....hope to return.

Much Love
Sharon Stone xxx

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Abside also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to L'Abside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added L'Abside to your Saves list