We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abside

L'Abside
Piazza Dei Dogi 31, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089873586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $36 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montecastrilli, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food at this restaurant was better than average but it was the friendliness of the staff that made it special, particularly as in many of the restaurants in Amalfi the staff were indifferent. We went there for dinner three times and enjoyed it each time

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    103
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Friendly service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose this place in a hurry (a combination of jet-lag, a hungry child, and wanting to get away from the Cathedral crowds) and I think that if we'd had more time to peruse restaurants that we would have gone elsewhere. Positives: our waitress was very friendly and spoke excellent English. But, with one exception, the food was all quite bland. The caprese salad had tomatoes that were not quite ripe and the traditional Campanian pasta with prawns and chickpeas contained an abundance of chickpeas but it was like playing "Where's Wally?" to find a prawn! The dish that was the standout was the whole sea bass. That fish was fresh and cooked to perfection.

This restaurant also provided my first encounter with Amalfi mosquitoes - we had to go and buy repellant mid-meal. Of course, that's not the restaurant's fault but as a word of warning: if you are planning on eating outside in Amalfi take bug spray!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Personal service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times. At dinner we enjoyed it very much, especially the personal service and family ownership. The food was very good but not exceptional. My eggplant parmigiana seemed a little over cooked to me. At lunch time, we ate indoors, had pizza which was good, but not exceptional. There was a problem with flies outdoors that day-- that's why we chose indoors where we did not have a problem. There was an air conditioner, but open window. It was quite warm.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Few steps away from the main street on a nice courtyard, but what a cusine. We were 4 people trying diferent dishes and everything was just superb, melting in the mouth. Lasagna is rare on Amalfi coast, here it was excelent. Waiters are very quick and friendly and attentive, 5 star service. Leave place for tiramisu. Highly recomended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food..Great Atmosphere.Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently returned from a 16 day trip through Amalfi and Tuscany.This was my first trip to Italy and I must say it will not be my last.
L' ABSIDE restaurant is located within the main plaza in the town of Amalfi. As I did my initial walk about of the town..I stumbled upon this family run gem. I took a quick look at both the food on the plates as I walked p[ast and the smiles on the patrons faces. I quickly returned to see if we could get a table....
The staff at L'ABSIDE went out of their way to get us seated and made the evening a true pleasure.
The Food...thee were 4 in our party so this allowed us to sample the menu...I am not sure if a run down of the meals is necessary...(we actually ate here on our 3rd night as well)...on the promise that Moma's lasagna was the best in Italy....it was outstanding.
Giovanna....the daughter of the family went out of her way to suggest great food combinations and suggested wines from the region which were simply outstanding.
YES.....I will return to Amalfi....YES...I will return to L'ABSIDE to dine again....in the meantime I have wonderful memories of both the food and the warm welcome .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Abside also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to L'Abside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.