We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid yet unimaginative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Azzurro

Lido Azzurro
Lungomare dei Cavalieri 5, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 (0)89 871384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid yet unimaginative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Lido is located on the shore which provides for a great backdrop. It's claim is local cuisine done in a traditional way. While this may be true we found the meal decent but unimaginative. The price point is moderate. While overall a good experience we found it irritating that the restaurant included a 5 euro cover charge per person which was unfounded. We usually leave good tips for good service (and the service was good) but the cover charge was annoying. Setting that aside it was a decent experience. We both had catch of the day which was a large portion of very fresh fish. The first plate was a nice risotto. A solid meal 4 ou of 5.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    65
    27
    13
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfection by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great position. Great views. Excellent service. But by far the best part was the food. Perfect on all levels. Fish and shellfish fresh from the sea. Risotto with just the right bite bathed in more lemon than should be allowed. Tart and absolutely delicious. Creative desert of lemon tiramisu. Divine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
239 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Comfortable, very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We came to Lido Azzurro for lunch, as it was located next to our La Bussola hotel. The restaurant boasts a very nice terrace over the sea. We liked the view, the atmosphere, and the service. The food was fine, but priced as at a Michelin-starred restaurant. Total bill was very steep for a family lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us by a local. We enjoyed delicious fish and seafood, good wine, excellent service and the most wonderful location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel on our last evening so we were looking forward to it. Unfortunatly, every other meal in Amalfi has been superb but this. The spaghetti and seafood was lacking fish & had very undercooked pasta. The grilled Seabass bass was no more than two mouthfuls of fish & after feeling slightly ripped off, as the food was rather pricey, they then added €14 to the bill and when I questioned this the waiter said its cover 'for sitting' and then walked off. Service was very impersonal. Anywhere else we are had been superb. If you want value for money and personal service wi a bit of atmosphere then I'd suggest avoiding this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Azzurro also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Lido Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.