We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo della Carta

Museo della Carta
Via delle Cartiere 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
39 089 83 04 561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are in Amalfi don't miss it - it's a short and interesting tour which sheds light on the paper industry in general and also a little bit about the history of Amalfi. Interesting both for kids and adults.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    78
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amalfi paper mill/museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great visit to the paper museum just above the shopping area in the town of Amalfi. It's a little bit of a walk up the hill but well worth it. You get to see the old paper machines actually operate and you can even make paper using the old process from cloth. The staff was very friendly and they offer tours in both Italian and English.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Now I know better about paper!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the museum. Lino, our guide, was informative and very funny. Half hour of interesting info and few laughs!

I found fascinating the way they use to make paper. No waste and little money!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paper Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a fun stop while walking through Amalfi. It was interesting to see the old paper maker and we even had a chance to "make our own paper" dipping the screen into the cotton water. Not a full day or even a half a day activity but defiantly a fun stop while it lasted.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We dropped in and I was surprised when my 9 year old son just loved it, he got to make some paper and was so interested in the history and way the watermarks were made that he then bought a quill set to practice writing (yet normally prefers minecraft) - so they manage to quickly let you understand how it all worked and why it was important

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo della Carta also viewed

 

Been to Museo della Carta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo della Carta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.