We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Che bello!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuoppo d'Amalfi

Cuoppo d'Amalfi
Supportico Ferrari 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 334 626 1440
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $8 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Deep fried fresh fish and chips take away
Dallas-Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Che bello!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was my favorite place to eat in Amalfi. It is more fast food than a proper restaurant, but the fish and chips are as fresh as one would find in a much more expensive restaurant and smartly presented in little paper cones. The fried anchovies are delicious!! The staff is great as well, even allowing me to sample the fior di zucca and wine. Un ringraziamento in particolare a Paola da Mary.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    138
    92
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Would deffinately recommend a visit here - we were on a day visit here, only had a short amount of time so wanted something quick and easy. Wow! I had cod balls (the nicest cod I have eaten) and my partner had small fishes which were equally great. Proberbly the best chips I've eaten... Hence why we walked back 10 minutes after to get some more and test out the calamari.

I'd also like to point out I am not a fish lover, whatsoever. In the UK I don't eat it ... Don't come to Amalfi without trying!

The portions are small, but if rather quality than quantity.

Fantastic - months watering as I write this. Gratzia!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poorly done fish and chips, but cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Chips were lifeless, servings were small, service was lacklustre, no frills and it was just 'meh' all round. Only redeeming feature was that it was cheap.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best snack food in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Come on, who doesn't like deep fried seafood?
Enjoyed the assorted shrimp,squid and fish cone and also the deep fried cod (twice) The hostess was super nice and the food came out fast and hot!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

There are very few cheap lunches in Amalfi, but Cuoppo d'Amalfi certainly fits the bill. There’s not much to say about the menu. There are cups of various delicious fried things. Try the deep fried vegetables. Also, plan on eating on the go or taking for a picnic. There is only one small (tiny) table with a few chairs outside the kitchen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuoppo d'Amalfi also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Cuoppo d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuoppo d'Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.