We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellevue Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite, 26, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We choose this hotel because it had huge balconies and was very reasonably priced for the time of year we travelled. We were not disappointed. It was amazing, sitting on the balcony deck chairs, reading out books. The staff were welcoming and assisted us with our enquries. The owner even offered to do our laundry for a small fee. We had a lot of washing and he only charged 20 euros. Extremely worth the money, because this allowed us to spend our days relaxing and enjoying the good food and wine.

The hotel does request that you not eat food in the rooms, but with so many great restaurants in town, why would you. We ate at the one they recommended, and it was one of the best restaurants we tried in Italy. We did buy a bottle of lovely local wine from the hotel bar (reasonably priced at 10 euros, we paid more for wine in resturants) and we enjoyed this in our room. There is a small fridge in the room, where you can leave your white wine (in case you don't drink it all in one night!). They also make a beautiful Limoncello, which you can sip while enjoying the view from your balcony.

There is a 10-15 minute walk into town, which is mostly along a footpath, but there are a few spots where you walk along the roadside. The walk is all downhill on the walk into town. The hotel offers a shuttle into town, for a small fee. You can also drive into town, but it may be difficult to find a carpark, as there did not seem to be that many carparks. (We did not try. We left our car at the hotel. Parking is included at this hotel. This was another reason for choosing this hotel, because not every hotel includes parking. It is usually extra.)

They can provide access to a lovely private beach for a fee. This gives you a deck chair and umbrella on a beach which is in an alcove. This beach is beautiful and we would choose this beach over the other beaches in town. In town, there is a free beach and others were you pay. It seems that if you pay, you get the deck chair and umbrella.

Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes good clean accommodation but does not want to blow their whole trip budget just staying in Amalfi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    90
    54
    21
    48
See reviews for
55
176
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel was in a great location with a lovely view. The 2 rooms our group were spacious, clean and comfortable. The service was very polite and accomodating except for the hotel manager who was focused more on his rules and doing everything his way rather than on his hotel guest's needs. The rules of the hotel are strictly defined when you check in, then posted in the room at the entry as well as in the hotel book on the desk. We felt more like we were children at camp rather than adults paying for a nice hotel. Absolutely no food or drinks in the rooms or if they find evidence of such contraband in your room, you will be charged extra! At breakfast, when seating groups at the almost empty room, even when guests had already sat down at a table that had four place settings instead of the two required, would make the couple move to a correct table. There were more incidents of rude, controling behavior by this gentleman and I think he should retire and let his son run the place. The rest of the staff was kind, helpful and gracious. The air conditioners worked well and there are nice, new flat screen TV's however the manager could only get two channels and explained if we hadn't pushed the wrong buttons on the romote, we would have gotten at least 50.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I arrived at the hotel after an awful experience with one nearby hotel that was discusting in all areas. I walked in the door, desperate for a place to stay, and was welcomed with open arms. This place really grew on me. It is run by three really nice men, who are very helpful and accomodating. The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are large, clean and modern. The breakfast is not spectacular but more than sufficient. Drinks at the bar are very well priced. I had a week of soft drinks and coffee and it only cost 19 Euro. It is located about 1.5 km from the centre of Amalfi, with a bus stop right out front. The longer I stayed, the longer I wanted to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Beware of staying at this hotel. Earlier reviews concerning the owner are all too true. He is a total control freak and rude to boot. Printed rules are everywhere - the elevator, the rooms, bathrooms, etc. Some of our favorites -- don't put your feet on the furniture as you may have stepped in dog excrement; don't use more towels than is absolutely necessary. And if reading the rules isn't enough, the proprietor is happy to remind you of them. Our stay at Bellevue Suites got off to a rocky start as we walked into the lobby and our "welcome" consisted of being yelled at because we were carrying a bag with wine, cheese and crackers. Apparently, food/beverages purchased outside this establishment are strictly forbidden for the stated reason that bugs will be brought in with it. However, it is ok to purchase food and wine from Bellevue to eat in the rooms. Hmmm. We were never quite sure how the bugs knew not to nibble on Bellevue's food. Perhaps they were afraid of the owner too?? Clearly, the no-outside- food/wine-policy is so that guests will spend their Euros on Bellevue's menu of items, but instead of being honest about it, the owner comes up with a pretty lame excuse and delivers it in the unfriendliest way possible. We were also told if we didn't like that policy, we were more than welcome to leave the premises and get a room elsewhere. And no, our pre-payment would not be returned. Finally, the owner shared a story (warning?) with us about four English guests who were drinking on their terrace, having a good time (heaven forbid!), and were promptly thrown out with the help of the Amalfi police. Warm and fuzzy this guy is not.

Yes, this hotel is clean, inexpensive considering its location, directly across the street from the water, etc. but we would not stay there again. Ever. It is not worth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here in 2 rooms July 2010 (4 adults). The hotel is in a fairly good location, just a five minute downhill walk to amalfi. The staff appeared friendly an inviting on entrance..but that all changed. We all felt one of the managers was a bit too forward, and he kept banging on about no food in the rooms, and all drinks etc must be purchased from his bar. Also that everything had just been redecorated and we had to keep the walls clean..i mean come on, we're adults in amalfi.not on a club 18-30 holiday! Then he tried to sell us an upgrade to a double suite..he really was a bit pushy and when we said no he got in a bit of a huff and didnt show us our room..just passed us the key and walked off. His attitude generally stunk as after we declined the suite he ignored us when we asked about breakfast and just said we'd have to find out in the morning.. The AC wasn't working in the other bedroom and again we had to speak to the manager to get him to sort it out...which to his credit he did.
The biggest problem came at night when we found several insects and a lizard under a pillow when we were turning the bed down. It wasn't a big lizard, but it did give us a fright. We called the night manager to have a look, but he came with a long pole like he was gonna catch a snake or something. He gave up after a couple of minutes and walked off..and we were left to turn the room upside down looking for it. It wasn't a good night.

We showed the caught lizard to the manager the next morning..he just ignored it and said it was expected..I understand its hot and there are going to be insects etc...but under your pillow!..(not even in a 3star is that acceptable).
Breakfast was ok.

The hotel is ok and a decent location..the only feel you get is that everything is on a real budget and they are strict with using anything which may consume any electricity, or may mean they have to do some work afterwards. I wouldnt stay there if i returned..mainly because of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Lovely, complimentary breakfast (cheese,meat,croissants,yoghurt,cafe o'lait). Nice, clean rooms. Beds are pretty hard, but typical for all hotels I stayed at in Italy. Friendly, helpful staff. We were allowed to use the internet behind the front desk for free. The hotel is across the street from another hotel's elevator access to a nice but rocky beach. There's a couple of nice little beach bar/restaurants down there (say hi to Andre the tourist). I think it cost about 10euro for the day and a beach chair. Totally worth it! It takes 15-20 mins to walk down into Amalfi, but the hotel has a free shuttle that will take you into town. To get back, it's a steep, but doable walk, or you can take a taxi for about $10-15 or a cheap bus ride. I recommend to walk to work off all the Italian calories you're taking in via gelato and pasta!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our family stayed for 5 days for a wedding and if I could have I would have moved everyone out and into another hotel in Amalfia. If it had not been for the desk, business manager I would have left. The older man "manager" thinks he is a NAZI, very impolite, intrusive and crude. The hotel owner, by the way, lives in Miami, FL, needs to rehire for management. The air conditioners would not work, management would turn off the air at 7pm to save electricity, check to see who was running water in the individual rooms. ask you to leave at breakfast if you were late etc. I could go on and on.
Do yourself and your trip a favor. DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Suites

Address: Via Mauro Comite, 26, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellevue Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.