We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite, 26, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amalfi wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was not sure what to expect as the reviews were so mixed. The week did not start off well as the balcony view room we had booked was not available for the first night but there were lots of apologies and the room transfer the next day was smooth so it was just a bit of an inconvenience for the one night. The balcony rooms are stunning as the view across the bay is something special. The breakfast was perfectly adequate, plenty of meats and preserves with fresh fruit available so whilst it was the same every day there was nothing too much to complain about there. The hotel is linked to a restaurant and swimming pool facility further up the mountain. There is a 10 euro charge but that includes car transfers and towels. It was heaven! Fantastic pool and great poolside food - with the ever present view across the coast. Don't miss that.
The reviews mentioning the staff seem so mixed but all I can say is that they were very welcoming and friendly. It is a walk and back into town but you soon get used to it but one day as we looked a bit ragged, one of the staff got his car out and gave us a lift down the hill into town - how many hotels would take that kindness? I thought they were all terrific and even when we came back late from the wedding there was a smile to welcome us, despite the inconvenient hour.
Would I go back and would I recommend the hotel - yes!

Room Tip: Balcony room sea view well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    62
    31
    57
See reviews for
64
213
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean and well equipped. It is worth it to pay the extra for the sea view. The balcony looking out to the sea was spectacular. Every morning and evening we were drawn outside to see the beautiful views in every direction. The owner was very helpful and an interesting character. The downside is the book of rules which made you feel like a bad teenager being watched and would be punished if you didn't follow the rules. No food or drink in the rooms. What the heck, we couldn't even enjoy a glass of wine on our balcony. Also the desk clerk had the personality of a door knob. Helpful, but only if you asked questions and seemed distant (I don't think he smiled once). The best employee was the Indian man, who seemed to be there 24 hours a day. He took care of our luggage, drinks, helped park or pull out. He was always there with a smile and our keys upon returning from our days adventures. One word of warning... The hotel is about a mile from the town. Parking is a premium in town, so bring your walking shoes. It is down hill into town and up hill back. The steps were rough the first few times, but we loved the walk doing it 2 or 3 times a day.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Antonio was very kind and gave us a wonderful experience in his hotel. The location is perfect...A 10 minute walk to the old town. There is also free parking included for every room. The rooms were immaculately clean and there was just a beautiful fragrance as you entered the hotel. Antonio was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit. Staying in this hotel with my boyfriend, neat friend and mother was the perfect start to an unforgettable 30th birthday. Thank you Antonio and staff for the hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights in June 2014 and had to cancel my whole trip due to illness. I gave them 29 days notice of cancellation and despite my emails (that were all ignored) and a phone call from Booking.com, they still charged me Euro 170 cancellation!!! Every other Hotel and company on my planned trip gave me free cancellation and good wishes.......... Be VERY careful ...... money grabbers!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

It's no often I will criticise a business in this forum as I believe feedback should be helpful and develop a business. However on this occasion I can't hold back. The Bellevue is situated in a great location just out the centre a fair walk up a hill, but great for the calves. Facilities are fair if not dated. The biggest issue I have with this place is the service. Everything is an inconvenience, you are not made to feel welcome, you are treated like you are in a hostel. No food and drink in the room allowed, unless it's the hotels. They say they are cheaper, they are not. 3 coffees 15 euros!! Give breakfast a miss it's stale and inedible. The staff have no service skills, we were told its a three star hotel and what did we expect, well to be honest a lot more than we got. We were late arriving back one evening and as you are not allowed to take keys with you you have to ring the bell, well the reception we received was awful we had been at a wedding. I could write so much more but in truth I will not. Stay here if you just want a place to put your head and have very low expectations of service. Otherwise avoid. For such a great location they could do so much more. I believe given the level of reviews on this site that are poor the hotel should really start taking note and learning from them, because at the moment they are not. The hotel was 1/3 full at best... I wonder why.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

You can read my review below if you wish, but to sum up my experience here in just a few sentences....... The hospitality of the owners is extremely poor!! All they care about the moment you walk through the door is how much money can they get out of you before you leave. Their attitude is disgusting towards their guests. I would not recommend staying at this hotel at all!!!

Upon arrival after a 2 hour bus journey from Naples we was greeted by the owners of this hotel. There was a large group of us as we was attending our friends wedding on the Amalfi Coast. I total there was 10 of us in the hotel. There was meant to be more but they changed hotels due to it's poor reviews. We had all booked as a group booking through booking.com and the first thing we was told was that the price of the rooms had changed since we booked? We produced documents showing the price from booking.com and we was told that they can change the price to what they want? Fab greeting!! We was then asked if we would like to upgrade to a sea view for an additional €40. I said ok. But what I got was a shared terrace? The people I shared the terrace with were also charged for the sea view? So it was not private at all. We was told that we was not allowed to bring any food or drinks from the town back to our rooms and we had to buy everything from the hotel? He insisted we are the cheapest. I found this rule a bit funny and so did the other guests. I'll tell you now he is not the cheapest at all!! The breakfast is pretty poor by anyone's standards, your better off exploring Amalfi as you will find much better places. There is a man that works in the hotel who is just so rude.... He will not ask you how your day was, if it's late and the door is locked, he acts like it's a hassle for him to get up from the sofa and let you in. There are no tea or coffee facilities in your room and you are not allowed to order a coffee and take it to your room? You have to go to reception and drink it there. A coffee is €5.
To really end this review as I could keep going on and on..... The bride come to the hotel to see us all, she was the one that booked the hotel after all as it was 3 minutes walk from her hotel. When she walked in she was given the third degree by the manager and was told she was not allowed to be in the hotel as she was not a guest there?? ..... She said I'm getting married and some of my guests are staying here. She was told to be quick as she could not be there?? Nice....
The owners are miserable, like I said no people skills at all, all they see is a euros!! That's all they are just interested in your money. I would not stay here at all ever again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

It's a family run hotel which is situated in a scenic location with spectacular views of the sea. Antonio is a very gracious and helpful host. Since we were on our honeymoon , Antonio upgraded us to a room with a better view. Good food and they look after you as if you are home.
We were arriving from Rome with no money (all our money got stolen in the subway in Rome) . Antonio really went out of the way to help us by arranging paperwork , seeking police assistance and of course recommending good quality restaurants.

I felt like I am in Asia for a second with the quality of service which we got.

Thanks,
Rohan
............................................................

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#17 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#14 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#29 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#18 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Suites

Address: Via Mauro Comite, 26, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellevue Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.