We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here 3 nts. of 7 (forcibly pre booked) in Oct 2014 > April 2015. Previous review seems to have been removed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Sole to your Saves list
Residenza Sole
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Piazza Municipio Salita Sopramuro 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Amalfi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed here 3 nts. of 7 (forcibly pre booked) in Oct 2014 > April 2015. Previous review seems to have been removed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do look elsewhere.. pay a fraction more..We stayed 3 of (7 pre paid 'in eror) and left early with NO refund forthcoming..as "it had been reserved 6 months prior on a prepaid basis " no concession to good will .
It was a click error on screen /pointed out to booking.com 14 days later 0ctober 2013 ..No help was avail to cancel : 1 single - 1 twin.. 14 days later the credit card statement had been 'charged in full' with added exchange rate.
I phoned B&B ( this is not a hotel) from UK ..5 months before we locked in to booking :asked for refund in part (along with) booking.com BB offered (only) exchange of dates.. Asked why it was £ taken so early PRE paid £415 ..pre charged. Stonewalled.. I begged via booking.com and on the phone to receptionist (part timer) for a shorter stay and "small refund as 'error' ." but NO refurnd payment was allowed €£ ~ So, we finally turned up 5 months later ..just before easter 2015...up from Salerno.. A Single room is a monastic (cell) no kidding! ..The Twin a dark dble /twin room (is 4' opp reception.) it is very 'dated and has no View at all - just a step to walled terrace.
You will never meet the owner; just a woman who is busy and polite who comes in / does breakfast and reception if you telephone her. NB ( to northern Europeans!) there will be a ...lot of cake.. ask for bread rolls!
When we decided to leave early and aevised her ..as the building was depressing..told "no chance of any refund.." pointless to try!! She had to call the owner AND bookig.com again! Still the owner will not speak to guests.. very poor! After we got an authority to leave "without refund" booking.com called us there (to check all was well) I said not really' ~ but nothing could be done..to compensate us. The concept of Goodwill is lost on this BB.
As for the double room opposite reception was in April 2015 very-mediocre. Its true' sorry! eg. dated style 1970s furniture and fabric and draped over the door/window like an afterthought..a single dining chair..fell apart in my hand ;( .. joints long broken' need glue; there is No English tv channel and too many German channels. We took a £200 loss' ..and travelld to Sorrento By bus.. A sad end to a lifetime dream.. 'to stay in Amalfi. ps ..yes, it rains hard in spring ! FYO..

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Comfy stay ..the location is amazing, 2 mins to the beach , 2 mins to the center through a tight tunnel under the big church :)
we stayed in the room near the reception and which oppens to the terrace but that didnt bother us .. I think it depends on how noisy are your neighbours, and how early do you wake .. since we were raising at 8 anyway so it was ok.
The lady that works there is very nice and friendly .. she was very helpful as well, the breakfast is good as well.
Everything was just comfy ..
I think its a very good value if you compare it to the expensive amalfi

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Quite reasonable for the price €90 for one night. The reception girl stayed up for us and we arrived really late, about 1am, felt quite sorry for her, as she was really helpful when we finally arrived. When we awoke the next morning, the same girl looking fully refreshed, politely showed us the breakfast area. She probably had 6 hours sleep but still had a smile for us next morning. We checked out with our bikes and went on our way. Just what we needed and more. Thank you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Residenza Sole was a cozy little B & B in Amalfi. When we finally found it, we had to call for the receptionist to let us in. She does not stay at the B & B. Once situated, I had to move our car and park in the underground (more like under-mountain) parking garage, which was really cool. The tunnel walkway from the garage ends right into the square of the B&B. So, it was convenient. As we were looking for places to eat, we heard all this commotion and realized there was a festival going on. After walking through tunnels and walkways, we ended up in the central piazza of Amalfi where choirs were singing and bands were playing while everyone was dancing to the beat. It was fantastic. All this was just a few steps from the delightful B&B. The rooms was spacious and comfortable. Free WiFi. You have to fill out a breakfast form to let them know what you want for breakfast and what time. In the morning, the same receptionist brings your food to your room at the specified time. Our room opened out to the breakfast patio. Since it was 60 F, we opened our doors and ate on the patio basking in the sunlight. We will definitely stay here again. Nothing fancy, but clean and convenient.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens out to the patio that overlooks the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Great service, great breakfast, rooms were comfortable. We booked taxis and yours through the hotel which met our every need. Staff were fabulous and very attentive. Great place to stay close yo everything!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

When we arrived we were given a room outside reception which looked onto the internal courtyard. It was a fairly dark room. Bathroom window didn't close. Got quite a lot of bites (ten) during the night. If you had the curtains open you had no privacy (rooms opposite and courtyard look straight in to the bedroom). We moved to a much better room on the second night (though window still didn't close there either).

An American couple checked in just after us and were complaining their room was filled with an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke.

On the plus side it is well located. Fairly quiet at night. But if you're in a room near reception (about half the rooms) you might find it too noisy in the morning if you want to sleep past 8am.

Overall the whole area is pretty expensive for hotels. In hindsight I wish I had just stayed in Sorrento and done day trips into Ravello, Amalfi etc. as the standard of accommodation seems to be pretty poor. If you're able to go for one of the hotels overlooking Amalfi town harbour maybe that would be ok as an alternative.

If we hadn't moved to a better room on the second night I would have given this place just one mark.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the noisy, dark, depressing bedroom opposite the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The B&B is a bit hidden behind the street and if you use Google street-view it was quite easy to find. Stairway up to the B&B quite steep. Location right on the east, noth-east of the big church. Big room, high sealing, and spaceous. Good bed, clean and ok.
Just aa few stairs and corridors and then you are out in the main street. Good place to take hiking from, and not far from the beach, touristboates, bus station, and the beautiful city of Amalfi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#25 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#18 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#28 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Sole

Address: Piazza Municipio Salita Sopramuro 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B “Residenza Sole" is situated in the very central Piazza del Municipio (Town Hall Square), close to the magnificent cathedral, only a few meters from the sea and the main street.It’s very good located and allows our guests to get by foot around Amalfi and to reach the main square (Piazza Duomo) through the evocative alliways. It’s closed to the beach, but far from the city noises, for a relaxing and charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.