We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took forever to get the bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Marinaio

Locanda del Marinaio
Via Lorenzo d'Amalfi 20, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
39 089871175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $27 - $88
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At 7 in the evening on 07/07/07 the doors to the Locanda del Marinaio were opened for the first time, the start of a new adventure and a dream come true.A project planned by a family from Amalfi with broad experience in the catering business. The idea of three brothers whose goal was to create a modern and original restaurant, completely different to those already in Amalfi.La Locanda is the ideal place to spend time with your friends, for a business meeting or a romantic dinner. You will be welcomed with the warmth traditional to Amalfi and with the attentive service of our staff who aim to create a pleasant atmosphere.Come and experience tradition with a modern taste.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Took forever to get the bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I know Italians are known for relaxing after the meal and not rushing out, but we had to ask for our bill three times. We went for a late dinner while in Amalfi and at the end of the night, it was us and one other table. The staff were cleaning up the tables, re-setting everything, bringing tables in from outside, so you'd think they'd give us the bill so we could let them go. That being said, the dinner was pretty good. The pizza and bruschetta appetizer was awesome, definitely recommend it. I got carbonara pasta, required an extra 20 minutes to make, which wasn't a big deal because we ordered an app.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    186
    72
    32
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Stale food, rude staff - Z Grade restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We selected this restaurant based on tripadvisor comments and could not have been more disappointed with both the quality of meals and the service (or lack thereof)
From the outset the staff were rude and we should have taken note before we ordered meals as the table beside us had half their meals miso redrew and/or undelivered
The male staff members were totally disrespectful and essentially throw meals onto the table and walk away
Additionally Do NOT order Chicken Caesar Salad in this restaurant as it is only old lettuce, a smattering of chicken pieces and some grated old cheese.
This is the worst meal that we have ever had in Italy. How these people make money is a mystery as it is not the quality of the food or the service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely restaurant, food is amazing and even if you are full you must have the lemon tiramisu as it is to die for! Excellent service by friendly staff. Cannot recommend this restaurant enough and would loce to return one day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate there on July 10 th. service was very good. Food was fresh, simple and delicious.
Seafood salad as an appetizer , enough to share between two.
I had the grilled sea bass with lemon, my husband had the local fish with cherry tomatoes.
Tiramisu with lemon cream was excellent.
Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb! Primo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived in Amalfi, checked into our hotel, and decided to stroll through the main pedestrian way of Amalfi to investigate restaurants. The Locanda del Marinaio had a decor, ambience and menu that appeared to be far superior than most of what we observed walking through town. We made a reservation in the inside dining room with the wine racks on the wall. It has an elegant, yet casual feel. You can also choose to sit in the other interior dining room which has warm wood on the walls, or outside. From the moment we arrived, everything was superb. The staff were professional, yet relaxed and very helpful. Our meals were excellent, and our waiter did not hesitate to tell us what was fresh and in season to help with our selection. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda del Marinaio also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to Locanda del Marinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Marinaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.