We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout Restaurant in Touristy Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Largo S. Maria Maggiore, 1-3 | We Are Only a Few Steps Away From the Piazza Duomo, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 873 6385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Only a few steps away from the cathedral, hidden in the alleyways of Amalfi in one of the most ancient and peaceful squares of the town, is the Taverna Buonvicino. In the authentic tradition of the Amalfi Coast, our guests will enjoy an a la carte menu and a food and wine tasting menu, strictly serving only products in season, to give them a taste of the places and culture of our territory. For those who want to discover the Hidden Amalfi we suggest a journey that starts at the table and leads towards the colours and tastes of our territory where you can discover new places of belonging. Finally, a hidden corner to propose to those guests of ours who love small surprises. We look forward to seeing you here in this hidden corner because 'The true taste of Amalfi is hidden in the alleyways'
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Standout Restaurant in Touristy Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Up the main piazza in Amalfi is every collection of souvenir shops, pizza fast food places and gelato. Fun but not the real Italy and certainly not representative of the food quality Italy is capable of. Taverna Buonvicino is tucked away in a small courtyard up some steps and can not be found without asking directions...but is well worth the effort. The setting is from a movie...small tables, subtle lighting and stars twinkling above.
The food is excellent. We had an eggplant caponata and an escarole/polenta cake with white anchovies for appetizers and a seafood skewer plate and ravioli for main courses. Tasty, well presented and as good as you can get in Amalfi. Topped off with a bottle of local wine and it was a great meal.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and this night was easily our best in Amalfi. Ask your hotel for directions, it is an experience not to be missed. Sitting in the courtyard is a must in good weather, reservations should be made or come early - they are real busy after 8pm, open at 7pm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We checked this restaurant out earlier in the day and had hoped to sit outside as it had a nice feel to it but we arrived late (after 9.00pm) and all the courtyard tables were taken. We sat indoors, which by contrast was nearly empty and a bit lacking in atmosphere. We had three different mains between the four of us: two going for fish options whilst my wife and I chose the buffalo out of curiosity. We weren't asked how we would like it cooked, and it arrived quite rare: not a problem for us as it was very tender and tasty, but if you like your meat well done, you'll need to specify it! Service was not brilliant: one dish arrived, followed by two tuna steaks, neither of which had been ordered. This meant that one of our party ate alone whilst the rest of us had to wait whilst they prepared the right dishes. Also worth bearing in mind was that the buffalo arrived on a bed of lettuce: no other accompaniment, so be sure to order a side or two! All in all, a bit underwhelming, and a bit over-priced for so-so food and lacklustre service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilGJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited this reastaurant on a Saturday evening and due to not making a reservation we had a table inside. The service was so-so, but the food itself made up for it. The buffalo was great, along with the vegatables on the side. the stuffed pork was tasty, but if I went again I would certainly order buffalo still!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beccakins587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem away from the madding crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this little haven of calm in amongst the madness of touristy Amalfi. Up some gloomy and narrow lane ways we turned a corner and there was this restaurant in a tiny quiet square. We sat outside in the shade and the food was wonderful. It was quite modern styled food with delicious flavours and presentation. The service was fine and the bill was about 60 euro for 3 starters, a salad and 4 glasses of prosecco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUCK!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

By far the worst place I ate while in Italy. The restaurant itself isn't bad, but the food is awful. First off, there is only one meat dish there so if you're expecting more selection, beware! I happen to love seafood, so the no meat doesn't bother me at all. It was just fishy-smelling and good/decent seafood generally doesn't have a smell to it. I will admit, their portions is pretty decent. My husband and I ordered seafood everything, but it just wasn't to par to what we had been eating.

The waiter was ok, not the most tentative. His bus-girl was very good though. While sitting there for dinner, we must have seen 3-4 couples sit and leave. I'm not sure what that's about, but the place was not busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing